1998 Chrysler Cirrus Reviews

1998 Chrysler Cirrus LXI 2.5 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Faults:

7 months after I purchased this car, it would only start when it wanted to. I fixed this by changing the whole distributor. Right after that my oil light kept coming on when I'm in idle, at the same time my door ajar light stays on, and the doors keep locking and unlocking while I'm driving.

Now the car starts up fine and won't go over 20 miles per hour. And the transmission is leaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2010

26th Aug 2010, 21:40

The oil light coming on at idle is a sign of worn crankshaft bearings.

1998 Chrysler Cirrus LXi from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

It is a lemon

Faults:

Sudden Stop Syndrome.

My car just cuts off without making a sound. The check engine light comes on for a second, and then the car stops.

I had the catalytic converter changed.

My head gasket changed.

All spark plugs changed twice within a few years.

My gas meter doesn't work.

The car idles up and down like a race car.

Too many to write LOL.

General Comments:

This was a good car 11 years ago, when it was purchased.

I have fixed so many things on it, I could have bought a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2010

1998 Chrysler Cirrus LXI 2.5 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance14330 miles
Previous carAudi 5000

Summary:

This is a great car

Faults:

I had to replace the battery one time about 8 years ago. Otherwise, very little maintenance expense except for tires and brakes, which generally last 40,000 plus miles.

General Comments:

This has been a great car. I bought it new over 12 years ago and it is still fun to drive with very little maintenance. There is some rust, but otherwise the car still looks pretty good.

Performance is not as good as some more expensive cars I've owned, but maintenance is much less expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2010

1998 Chrysler Cirrus LXI 2.5 multi port injection from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 multi port injection Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

I will never buy another one

Faults:

OK, so I bought this car about 2 months ago. This car ran perfect, but had a little sputter. The day I was going to change the fuel filter, (thinking that was the sputter problem), it died on take off from a stop light. Afterwards, the car would not start.

I diagnosed it with a "no cam signal", which is built into the distributor, and also replaced the crank position sensor. That fixed my problem, but only for a little while. I re-diagnosed it and got a "throttle/pedal position sensor" code on an OBD2 code reader. I replaced that, put a fuel filter and a fuel pump on it, and the car will still not start. It had fire, until tonight. We rescanned it and it shows both crank and cam signal.

What the hell can be wrong with this car? It seems like there are too many doing the same things. Can we do anything about this, does anyone have any kind of suggestion or answer. This is bulls**t, and makes no sense whatsoever. I took it to the dealership, and the only thing they can tell me, is that they're damn stupid and have no clue. Wanna charge me 100.00 just to scan it, when I have already told them what it's doing.

PLEASE HELP, I NEED TO SAVE THIS CAR.

General Comments:

Pretty comfortable, but very confusing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2009

15th Jan 2010, 12:43

I had all the same problems as everyone is having. It's the distributor! I went through a couple years of mechanics not knowing what was going on, and a couple thousand dollars. They tried the distributor cap and rotor, and finally the distributor; I've never had a problem again.

1998 Chrysler Cirrus LX from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Do not buy

Faults:

I purchased a used 1998 Chrysler Cirrus LX with 97,000 miles.

The first week after purchase, I experienced stalling and stopping at stop signs and while driving. I was told it was old gas in the car, it was emptied, stopped while driving on the highway, towed and they replaced the fuel pump for 326.00. Ran 1 day, now it will not turn over at all with a new fuel filter, fuel pump and new gas.

I now know that this is a known and common problem. Two other mechanics have checked it and cannot detect what the problem is. Nothing shows up on the computer. I wish I had known this before hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2009

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 23 reviews