1993 Chrysler Concorde Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1993 Chrysler Concorde from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired61956 miles
Most recent distance97709 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Over all it is a good car

Faults:

The water pump went two month after I bought it causing it to jump timing and bend the valves.

Catalytic converter was replaced twice.

A/C pump howls.

Leaks antifreeze.

General Comments:

Handling of the car is great.

Rides nice, roomy.

The car also has good pick up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

1993 Chrysler Concorde 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance126789 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Great looks and amenities; terrible craftsmanship!

Faults:

Infinity radio started smoking and stopped working at 40,000. replaced with after-market $300. Chrysler wanted $800 for replacement.

Keyless entry and trunk remote stopped working at 50,000 miles.

Engine caught fire at 56,000 miles. Fuel railing sprayed gas on hot engine. $5600.

Paint began to oxidize around 1997. Repainted. $2000.

Headlight lenses cloudy at around 60,000 miles.

Catalytic converter went out at 65,000 miles. $340.

Transmission went out at 70,000 miles. $1300.

Engine blew at 85,000 miles. $3000.

A/C went out out thrice. 65,000, 80,000 and 120,000. $800.

Driver seat back support went out at 100,000 miles. New (used) seat $100.

Fuel gauge now inaccurate 100,000 miles.

Trip computer went out 105,00 miles.

General Comments:

When its not in the shop and something is not breaking - This car handles very well. Excellent for road trips. Roomy, Agile and Fuel efficient.

However, its repair costs and frequency are a unusually high and very costly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2002

22nd Jul 2007, 20:32

If the car started some problems search and ask if not wort to keep just sale and buy another one.

1993 Chrysler Concorde 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

The big three will never bring build quality up to Japanese standards

Faults:

This car needed a new thermostat a month after I got it (covered by the dealer).

The cats and some emissions stuff went out at 80000 miles. The cats are three chambered and pricey.

I had to buy it a new transmission at 90000 miles which is big money for me.

This week the power steering mounting bracket cracked.

The trunk popped at random until I disconnected it.

The power door locks are possessed by the devil.

Its starting to rust everywhere at once.

I know I'm forgetting something.

General Comments:

It goes, stops, and handles like stink for a big sedan. People are astonished when I drag race and defeat them. Cruises comfortably all the way up to 125 MPH speed limiter.

I wish I had only had it in the first 40000 miles of its life. I think it was designed for everything to break before 100K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

1993 Chrysler Concorde 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000 LE

Summary:

One that is best avoided

Faults:

Just about everything except for the brakes:

- Water pump.

- Catalytic converter.

- Remote keyless entry (the car would open the trunk and unlock the doors by itself!)

- Front wheel bearings.

- Horn (would blare constantly!)

- Automatic climate control.

- Tape deck.

- Sway bar links.

- Leaking rear strut.

- Transmission started to shift harshly.

- Struts that hold the hood up.

General Comments:

The reliability of this car was a joke! I previously had a 1987 Pontiac 6000 with over 200,000 miles that didn't have half the problems this car did.

On a positive note, my former Concorde looked great and handled beautifully for such a large car.

I loved all the gadgets and accessories (when they worked).

Braking with the standard ABS was also excellent.

Dual airbags were a definite safety advantage.

I got rid of mine when the transmission started to act up, after only a year of owning it.

Good riddance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

1993 Chrysler Concorde LX 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Over-powerful front wheel drive

Faults:

Air conditioning sucks butt. Every time we go on vacation it goes up.

General Comments:

Overall it is a pretty good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

13th Mar 2009, 22:57

I bought my 1993 Concorde LX used in 2003. It had 174,000km on it. I bought from the original seniors that had bought at the dealership in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. I drove it until it had over 210,000km. I only went to the dealership for my servicing needs.

I replaced lots of parts like new tires, the catalytic converter had to be replaced, shocks, struts, brakes, the front rotors as well. I replaced all of the fluids in the car when it hit 200,000km. It took me to Calgary, Alberta with icy roads when it was minus 35 in the dead of winter with no problems. It was simply the best trouble free car that I have ever had the pleasure of owning.

The insurance was cheap for the vehicle.

Afterwards I went back to the Chrysler dealership to purchase a 2004 Concorde LXI with 50,000km on it. I am still driving it six years later, and it's so great on gas, a real pleasure to drive on the highway, especially when there are five people in the vehicle. It's a great value for the money!

1993 Chrysler Concorde V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot wrecker

Faults:

Engine (fiberglass timing belt pulley shattered), transmission (valve housing failed). Followed by the repeated failure of the fuel rail. All items have since been changed.

General Comments:

Might be an OK car, but never buy a first year model. No support from the manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

29th Jan 2001, 14:11

On mine I had to replace a water pump, at the same time I had to have a valve job done, and on top of that I found out the mileage was turned back.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews