1996 Chrysler Concorde Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1996 Chrysler Concorde LX 3.3 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Great car for the buck

Faults:

I had to have a stabilizer bar replaced on the driver side.

The interior lights would stay on until I removed the door pin on the driver side.

General Comments:

I really can't think of anything bad to say about this big beast.

This car is a very roomy car and great for a family of 4 people.

My wife loves the trunk space and I love the comfort and luxury after a hard days work.

The 3.3 engine is very quick on acceleration...I can even make it burn a Little tire starting off.

The main thing I love about this car is its reliability and handling for a big car... I named it Cruzer.

It handles like a small car and has great turning ratio for parking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2007

1996 Chrysler Concorde LX 3.5 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

I love this car, it was my father's and when I got my license it became mine and it is quite amazing

Faults:

The only problem I have had with this car is there is a small tear in the driver's seat leather.

General Comments:

For a luxury sedan this is a quick car.

Handles amazingly even at 8 years old.

Sound system is stock, but sounds great especially the back speakers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2004

15th Jun 2007, 17:18

I agree that it is a great car. I have a 1996 Dodge Intrepid, but with the base 3.3L V6, and it is very fast. I also got it from my father when I turned 16. He got it new in 1996, and I have loved it since I first saw it. Especially its candy apple red paint.

You have yourself a great car that will go very far. If you ever need any help installing anything or changing anything, let me know. I installed an overhead console and an automatic dimming mirror myself.

My cell # is 443-398-7903. I love these cars and working on them. Feel free to call me.

William.

1996 Chrysler Concorde LXi 3.5L DOHC 24 Valve from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L DOHC 24 Valve Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Hey, I only paid 2000 for it, it does the job

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle.

But as of now, it is in need of brakes.

The air bag light has been on since I bought the car, but I hate air bags anyways and could care less if they worked or not.

The moon roof does not seal properly, you have to stop it when it seals or else it will leave a gap between the roof and the seal.

It didn't have a belt on the air conditioning system when I bought the vehicle, so I am wondering if that will need servicing also, summer is coming soon...

General Comments:

As not being a big fan of stock audio systems, I have since changed the stock stereo with a Pioneer. I replaced the 6x9's with Fosgates. The front speakers sound decent so I decided to leave then for now.

My car maintains approx 30 miles per gallon @ 55.

Has some rust on the hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2004

22nd Apr 2006, 21:10

The not sealing part with the sunroof would tell me your car has been in an accident, the AC belt being off means you might need to recharge the AC also might mean the people who owned the car before liked to race.

1996 Chrysler Concorde LX 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

A very nice looking,roomy car that is always in need of some repair

Faults:

The body computer went bad at 117530 miles. The cost for a used computer was $75.00.

The Starter stopped working at 117900 miles. The cost was $50 from a salvage yard.

The ignition switch has a faulty internal contact that supplies the instrument cluster and the transmission control computer that is known to go bad. This went bad at 118300 miles at a cost of $67.

The inner tie rod end bushings rotted away causing extreme sloppiness in the steering. The cost for the inner tie rod ends are $38 each.

The steering rack mounting bushings also rotted away. This causes the rack to slide back and forth on the shelf it is mounted on. On the 1996 and newer LH body styles the rack must be changed. You cannot buy just the bushings to solve this problem. This is the only repair I did not do myself and the cost was $817.

The voltage regulator went bad causing spikes in voltage to reach 16.2 volts. This is located inside the powertrain control module. (main computer) This is not repairable and the computer must be changed. The cost for this repair was $147.

The climate control unit shorted out as a result of the voltage regulator. The cost for this was $50.

General Comments:

This car is a really nice car that runs great and rides beautiful when it is not in need of some repair.

I have only driven this car for 4000 miles in the last year because it seems like it is always broken down in need of something.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

17th Mar 2005, 18:28

Not true about the rack bushings. My 96 LXI had the bushings go at about 220k. went to an alignment shop and they replaced just the bushings. I bought the bushings from the chrysler dealer and alignmetn guy installed them. about

200$ for parts and labor.

1996 Chrysler Concorde 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

Best USA made car for the buck

Faults:

Just recently the fuel rail is producing a leak. (I had an Eagle Vision that had this problem (it was a manufacturer's recall). I will call Chrysler to see if they can replace it free this week.

General Comments:

The car has been trouble free, replaced brakes recently. Gas mileage is very good with this larger car, approximately around 22 mpg combined.

Seats are comfortable on long trips with plenty of leg room in the front and back! I will need to replace the tires this winter, but that is a usual maintenance item. I think this car has the biggest bang for the buck for comfort, performance, ride, mileage and room. I bought it for $2250 last year (only 6 years old). The trunk is extremely roomy for big packages and bags. Generally a good family car with good performance and gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews