1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue Reviews

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2 liter V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.2 liter V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

One of the best used cars in Canada

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong, except the roof liner.

Have done normal preventive maintenance.

Car is prone to stalling when cold.

General Comments:

The seats are for my frame ideal.

It is relatively quick and thirsty in the city.

Brakes are very good for an American car.

The view out of the car is very good, easy to park.

Small turning circle for such a large vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2L V8 2bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2L V8 2bbl Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48500 miles
Most recent distance79500 miles
Previous carDodge Diplomat

Summary:

A nice car for a family

Faults:

Interior fabric (headliner, trim pieces, etc) are coming apart.

Valve cover gaskets leaking.

Lean Burn ignition failing.

General Comments:

This car is a good highway cruiser. The seats are comfortable, and the ride is comparable to a Lincoln or Caddy.

There is not enough guages for engine information.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2L 318 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2L 318 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35395 kilometres
Most recent distance35395 kilometres
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Good car for the price

Faults:

The Car is hard to fix. Parts are a fair price. The problems and the repairs are very hard to do.

General Comments:

It is a very good car overall. It would be a good car for some one who knows a lot about them. in the end I enjoy owning this car. I just wish the repair of the car was easier to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Powerful luxury cruiser

Faults:

Headlights started to go bad. Easily replaced.

Ceiling cloth tore at various points and had to be cut, leaving big holes.

Sunroof leaked.

Various leaks around the engine block due to worn gaskets.

Paint isn't so great anymore.

Trunk only opens with the automatic switch.

General Comments:

These problems aside, this car is a great luxury cruiser.

The leather seats are very comfortable and supportive.

The interior is very roomy comfortably sitting five people. A/C works well too.

The dashboard is great and all the controls are easily accessible. Everything is automatic

This V8 has really good power and pickup considering how heavy this car is. It features rear wheel traction which makes it fun to drive. Spinning the tires around curves is a breeze. The handling is also fun. This car can take corners very fast.

This car is very tough and at the same time luxurious; when my friends ride in the car they always have good comments and enjoy the ride.

It is very good on the highway, the smoothest car I've had the pleasure of driving. The speedometer says 85 is the max speed, but I'm sure I've taken it to 95 if not 100 mph.

Considering this car is one year younger than me, it is still driving like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

9th Nov 2004, 09:22

Take care of your car better. I have the exact car you do and it is still mint.

16th Nov 2004, 08:43

How come all of these cars have a lot of things wrong with them? I have a 87 fifth avenue that I put in shows. I love this car, and nothing has ever gone wrong with it.

Email me and i'll send you pictures of it.

arc_angel_987@yahoo.ca.

16th Nov 2004, 08:49

Take care of your car better. I have the exact car you do and it is still mint.

1st Nov 2010, 22:43

Mine is from 1985, and it performed flawlessly over the last 9 years. Naturally it needed repairs. With all its faults, compared with modern cars, this car has "Class", it stands out, it is way easier to park than any new vehicle with A pillars the size of an MD-11 landing gear. It is silent inside, fuel consumption is not too bad for what it weighs. And I do not have one speck of rust on the car, it is an original Vancouver car.

If I could buy one "new" with all its shortcomings, I would still be the first one in line.

Bastiaan Van Der Hoek, Vancouver BC.

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2L 318 V8 w/2bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 5.2L 318 V8 w/2bbl Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Summary:

Even though it's a real fixer-upper, I'd love to do the work and enjoy it

Faults:

The interior cloth on the top of the roof is missing.

The seats got wet because the back windshield was broken and it takes forever to clean.

The steering wheel moves a lot which I don't like.

There is a lot of work that needs to be done on the engine.

Sometimes, the left blinker works. Only when it wants to.

The windshield wipers don't work.

The whole radioator system needs to be replaced.

The brake sticks.

It takes a lot to turn the car in the direction you want it to go.

When driving it just down the road, there is a burning smell coming from under the hood.

General Comments:

The seats are velvour which I think is great.

It gets up to speed really fast.

It's mainly comfortable. I really like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carChevrolet s-10

Summary:

A parts car right off the line! (it sucks!)

Faults:

It stalls whenever I apply the brakes, unless I left-brake right-gas it.

Changed so many things, I couldn't list them all.

The starter recently died.

Started to leak transmission fluid, started at a drip, now seems to flow.

General Comments:

This car is garbage.

Please, do not buy this type of car. You will be sorry.

I hate this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

24th Jan 2002, 23:27

You had the car for eight years and got 260,000 miles out of it. It could not have been that bad of a car.

7th Feb 2002, 21:09

Based on what you have listed for mileage, you got a lot of miles out of this car. On that aspect, you may have gotten you money's worth. The repairs listed are typical (or less than typical) of a car with 300,000 miles on it.

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Best used car I've ever had!

Faults:

Replaced alternator.

Electronic spark control.

Tires.

Timing set.

Transmission rebuild & torque converter.

Exhaust.

General Comments:

Very reliable car, comfortable ride, easy to maintain.

Only thing that got me was the fact that the stock crank timing gear has nylon teeth on it. I replaced it with an after-market timing set, all steel, and it runs again like it did when it was new.

My father bought this car new for 24,000 CAD, and I've had it now for 9 years. It still turns heads when we have it all shined up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews