2000 Chrysler Grand Voyager Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2000 Chrysler Grand Voyager LX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Summary:

I like the car, but cannot go through any water on the road.

Faults:

The serpentine belt came off for the 4th time. It has a tendency to slip off after driving through puddles. Chrysler told me that there had been a design flaw in the 1995-1999 Vans, but that the 2000 had been fixed. They did not feel that they were responsible for the problem that I had with my van. The dealership is aware of the problem and has not charged me for the last two occurrences.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

17th May 2005, 14:56

I have a 1998 Grand voyager 3.3 LE which removes its own belt at the first puddle you meet with the offside front wheel at any speeds above 3 mph, not nice fitting the belt in the rain.

Also had to have a new auto gear box fitted as it lost drive in 3rd gear, switched to safe mode and stayed in 2nd, not very economical to say the least.

20th Jan 2006, 09:12

I have a 2000 Voyager and have had this belt problem since I bought it in 2001. We laugh that the van is great, just don't drive it in the rain!! The dealer tried a new "ribbed" belt, but it did not help. My husband figured out how to fix it himself, he now keeps the correct tools in the van at all times.

2000 Chrysler Grand Voyager LE 3.8 V6 from Mexico

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance52500 kilometres
Previous carChrysler 1992 Spirit R/T

Summary:

Forget it

Faults:

Average brake pad life: 5,000 km. Brakes pads disintegrated many times without warning from wear indicators or the car's warning lights.

Factory battery lasted 25 months.

Power steering failure at 7,500 km, replaced under warranty.

Undetected coolant leak, dealer said was normal.

Right rear door lock chatter, dealer said it was fixed, but did nothing.

Very expensive dealer service, some things were never done.

Michelin tires worn at 52,500 km.

General Comments:

Very good ride, very quiet even at 120 km/h.

Seats had poor lateral support.

Transmission was noisy, seemed to be working overtime.

Terrible brakes, they caught fire twice within a three day period.

Lots and lots of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

2nd Feb 2004, 06:27

These comments sound almost unbelievable. I have had a Grand Voyager CRD limited XS for almost a year and the refinement and manners of the beast are excellent. Try a British model.

24th Jan 2005, 20:51

I bought my 2000 Grand Voyager in New York State. Have had the power steering serviced under warranty 2 to 3 times. Now out of warranty I just paid $900 to replace most everything related to brakes (master cylinder, both rear cylinders - although only one of the rear needed it - and rear shoes) except the front pads previously replaced. It was not holding the brake fluid and I was told unsafe to drive. I am less than 55,000 miles so I don't think this is normal wear and tear, but this is subjective.

This narrative is very believable to me, all the same problem areas. Add that they want $1,000 to fix the sway bar end links / rack and pinion to stop the noise when I go over any bumps.

3rd Aug 2006, 10:00

My Wife has a 2000 voyager for around 3 years with 98K miles on it. We have only done maintenence and typical worn parts. It has been a very good reliable van. Our chrysler dealer has been excellent for service. Sorry about your problems.

3rd Sep 2006, 01:48

Sorry to hear about your troubles...I'm from the UK... I traded my 1998 Grand Voyager 3.3 V6 Auto... The mileage was at 171,000 MILES... The car was beautiful.. my husband only performed minor services whilst we had the car (3 years)..The only major problem we experienced was the Ignition. The "tumblers" in the ignition barrel had moved or something I had to use a hammer to tap them back in, but didn't really mind doing this once in a while... never had a problem with brakes, tires, transmission etc... had full leather seats lovely and comfy... Now we have a 2001 (new shape) grand voyager ltd model with the uprated 170BHP engine absolutly beautiful... the power is amazing... only downside is the fuel consumption... our's is at 67,000 and is still going strong... These voyager's are SOLID... I would not drive any other minivan...

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews