1994 Chrysler Intrepid Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1994 Chrysler Intrepid 3.3 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 kilometres
Most recent distance189000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

A great car, built well, and maintenance and repairs are rarely needed. I'd buy another one

Faults:

Hood was stuck, but only cost $10.00 to fix; cord was stretched, small maintenance.

General Comments:

The best car ever made, I love this car. I got it second hand, and it barely needed repairs.

Love these cars, I would definitely buy another one.

Good comfortable ride and roomy. Handled wonderfully and built tough.

Cheap and easily repaired, not too much goes wrong on these cars. I can honestly say they are definitely a good make of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2008

1994 Chrysler Intrepid 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance337000 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

I have owned this car for 3 years and just now is starting to cost me. 1 month ago AC Idler pulley changed and AC recharged 233.00. Crank Position Sensor Let go. Catalytic converter plugged up, changed, needs O2 sensors and sway bar links changed yet. Every time I turn the heat on I smell coolant, been like this since I bought it. I never figured out where the coolant is coming from. I just bought a complete car from my insurance company for parts cost me a 100 bucks will keep mine on the road as a taxi for a few more years yet.

General Comments:

Very good car until recently, Love its roominess and Sports Car feel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2007

1994 Chrysler Intrepid 3.3 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 kilometres
Most recent distance380000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

Best ever made

Faults:

Overall, this car, has not cost me much in terms of repairs over the years, has only needed minor repairs, such as brakes, tires, oil changes etc..

Only regular maintance!

General Comments:

I have owned this car for 7 years, now, purchased it when it was 5 years old, with 215000 km, it now has 380000 km, I still drive it daily, with no problems, no oil burning, etc... motor still runs great, it is the best used car I have ever purchased, I highly recommend!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

13th Apr 2006, 14:06

I agree I have a 1996 dodge intrepid 3.3l and it has been the best car I have ever had. I would also give it ten points for everything. it also has 207k miles and is still on its first engine and transmission!!and no they have never been rebuilt. th I got it brand new in 96 and it still has awesome performance!!it is very fast.

6th Jul 2006, 12:05

I own a 2004 Chrysler Interpid SE

The car is a excellent family vehicle, but I find the 3.5L engine to be too small for this model.

A upgraded 5.0L engine would have been better suited for this model.

1994 Chrysler Intrepid ES 3.5 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired252000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carFord Cougar

Summary:

I like it a lot

Faults:

A slip in the transmission after long range driving.

General Comments:

I've owned many vehicles from a 1966 Oldsmobile Toronado to a 1976 Cobra II to a 2003 Chevy Express Van and I have to say this is a great car.

I haven't owned it long enough to have any horror stories, but I can say I recently drove approx 6000 km in a week and paid $260 dollars for my cross canada trip. I averaged 5 liters per 100 km.

The engine has 260,000 km on it and purrs like a kitten. I was able to go from 120 kph to 155 kph in about 3 seconds on the highway and had it up to 195 kph and could still go a bit more.

It came with everything available and was a special order maybe this has something to do with the overall quality. Everything is perfect with the car except the torque converter which I will be changing soon.

This car is in the top 3 of everything I've owned and would like to say we all by a lemon from time to time, but if everyone took care of their car it would take care of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2005

12th Oct 2011, 06:54

I would like to say that I bought a 1994 Chrysler Intrepid as my first car 5 years ago. And it was by far the best vehicle I've ever owned. I had it for just over 4 years, and if it weren't for the punks that trashed it, I'd still be driving it today. A very reliable vehicle.

Buying a lemon, or dealing with people that will take your $ and not fix the problem, does not have anything to do with the quality of the car. In the 4 years that I owned it, I only had to do very little maintenance. I've spent more fixing these newer vehicles I've owned since. I bought it for $1000, and never had any big issues with it. I expected that I might, because the mileage on it was very high. But even with all of the travelling me and my 3 children have done in it; it still was the most reliable vehicle I've owned so far.

12th Oct 2011, 12:15

I have to agree. I've had 3 of them. All 94's and loaded. I found them to be very reliable as well.

To comment on the post on the quality. I found that "2 Reg's" from Canada to be of better quality. Of the 3 I've owned, 2 were "2 Reg's" and 1 was a "1 Reg". The "1 Reg" had to be repaired more than the other 2 "Reg's" put together. That's the truth, I love them and I have a "massaged" computer from Jet Performance out of California, and it makes the first generation 3.5 L just that much more entertaining. KBV.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews