1983 Chrysler LeBaron T&C Convertible 2.6 Liter 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Fun, but hard to get someone to work on

Faults:

The carburetor is the worst thing to have fixed. No one wants to touch the thing.

General Comments:

This car is a ton of fun, when it runs.

The fake wood trim is a great recall to the T&Cs of the 40s-50s.

The leather seats are comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2004

1983 Chrysler LeBaron Mark Cross 2.6 Mitsubishi from North America

Summary:

Avoid the 2.6

Faults:

Water pump seized the first day I had it.

A/C compressor locked up and blew the clutch.

Carburetor never worked right, even after two rebuilds.

Rusty floors.

Trip computer never worked.

General Comments:

I liked the car itself, very comfortable, and lots of trunk space for a convertible. But the 2.6 Mitsubishi engine is garbage. It's the only engine I ever saw mechanics refuse to touch! I'd recommend looking for one with the Chrysler four (2.2 or 2.5)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

9th Sep 2006, 11:57

I have a 1983 Woody Lebaron with 180000 mile never had to fix anything yet. But wear items, tires, oil changes, ect. What a good car this has been> K cars were some of the better ever built. 28 MPG.

21st Jan 2008, 05:45

Own a 1983 2.6. (woody convertable). Car had sit some ten years. Had trans rebuilt by trans shop, Chrysler dealer installed new shocks and struts for me no problem and windshield wiper links. Car is GREAT, Drive it every day, What you taking about? One bad car does not them all bad. Try another mechanic. Love mine, its fun to drive and gets 28/29 mpg.

23rd Apr 2008, 13:14

I have a 1982 Dodge 400 Conv with the Mitsubishi engine. Starts right up and gets 28 MPG, runs great. Won't win any drag races but with gas at $4 a gallon who cares? Great car and for 26 years old still looks beautiful. Looks like a 70's Dodge Magnum they shrunk down, love the car!

25th Jan 2009, 22:28

I'm a happy owner. My LeBaron give me a lot fun.

I used every day, and have not had a mechanical problem.

It's not a muscle car; my friend called it a "topper ware car" but I don't care. I love it. 28 MPG.

10th Sep 2010, 04:06

Sorry, but I sold these cars new, and no 2.6 Chrysler pulled 28 miles per gallon. Seems like the same poster making all of these claims.

28th Jan 2011, 17:34

I have a Chrysler LeBaron, I don't know if it gets 28 mpg, but I am very sure it gives me more than 24 mpg.

It's very economic, and I love it a lot.

I agree with the other posts; this car needs no mechanic at all. It's very dependable.

All the time I find buddies looking my car and ask me a lot of questions.

It's not a muscle car or super fast, but in my personal opinion, it's a good car.

Raul.

29th Jan 2011, 16:43

Maybe you've got the Jon Voight car that George drove on Seinfeld. Its engine caught on fire.

1st May 2011, 00:07

I am not surprised!

10th Mar 2013, 11:00

I agree - from what I remember, I averaged 19-20 MPG with a 2.6 LeBaron.