1996 Chrysler LHS Reviews

1996 Chrysler LHS 3.5 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

I like my LHS

Faults:

Replaced air conditioning pump

Get dust inside the trunk. We live off a gravel road.

Where are the oxygen sensors, other than the two on the exhaust manifold? Which sensor is the No. 1 and which is the No. 2; upstream or downstream, or front or rear? Engine light is on.

General Comments:

Runs great and trouble free after 270,000 km.

Comfortable ride

Heats great

Like the traction control

Handles great on gravel roads

I like that the spare tire is a full size, not a doughnut.

It's a good, solid car.

Plenty of room for passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2005

1996 Chrysler LHS FWD 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission FWD 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carAcura 1.7 EL

Summary:

Great car, major problems

Faults:

AC never did work properly. Dealer tried to fix, but did not work properly.

Front Alignment fixed at 140k followed by suspension problems.

Leather seats seem to have worn out. Small tears and have started to turn greenish.

General Comments:

This car was very smooth and reliable for about a year. After some small problems with the engine the car has just never driven properly again.

It has good speed and was smooth until problems with the suspension and alignment. Gas consumtion is fair for a V6, but I would not drive it long distances as I fear of a breakdown.

Overall the car looks like an old man car, but since I'm an old man it suits me. Not a very great looking car, but for its price you can't find much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2004

1996 Chrysler LHS from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

A car that is in excellent condition with the original salesman saying

Faults:

The radio/stereo went out.

The windshield right wiper blade was resting below the windshield.

6 months later, the rear struts were laying on the axel.

8 months later the front struts were not working.

General Comments:

All problems, as noted, were corrected when returned to the dealer. All systems, "OK" today in July 2004. I get 27/28 mpg on the highway with 5 passengers and a packed trunk at 75/80 mph. 22mpg locally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

1996 Chrysler LHS from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carChrysler LHS

Summary:

Enjoy it for 60,000 miles, then sell it

Faults:

Water pump at 63K, 3 out of 4 struts failed at 62K, Both inner tie rods failed at 63K.

If possible, sell your LHS BEFORE it reaches 60K miles. It appears Chrysler is making throw away cars.

Having the tie rods and water pump fail - when they did (mileage) - really killed my desire to buy another Chrysler product.

General Comments:

This site was helpful to me, so I thought I'd pass this along to my fellow LHS owners:

I had a miss/hesititation while accelerating and during a long stop. After one week of this symptom, the CHECK ENGINE light came on. Was it one of the four oxygen sensors? - no. Was it the fuel pump? - no. Was it the Camshaft positioning sensor? - no. Was it the Mass Air Flow sensor? - no.

Here's what I did to fix the problem:

I changed all the spark plugs with BOSCH Platinums, then disconnected, then re-connected the negative side of the battery after 20 minutes - "resets" the CHECK ENGINE light. Problem solved!

The whole "fix" cost me $12 bucks.

If you have any sort of engine miss similar to this - give this a try first - before taking your LHS in for service $$$$$$$$$$$.

Regards,

Pete

San Jose, CA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

10th Jul 2005, 18:23

Try changing your fuel filter and spark plug wires, use mopar parts. Good luck.

14th Dec 2005, 19:06

Check your radiator to see if it's full of bugs and dirt. Clean your radiator between the air conditioning condensor and the radiator - could be lots of stuff between there. Worked for me.

14th Aug 2006, 13:44

Hesitation/miss/rough idle is usually caused by a vacuum leak near the #5 cylinder. Usually develops around 60k miles on the LHS. This problem drove me nuts. If the leak is small, the engine will run rough for about a week or so before the check engine light comes on.

To fix it: drain the radiator, remove the intake plenum, remove intake manifold, look at gaskets and you will see a chunk missing near this cylinder. Replace with good after-market gaskets and problem will go away.

1996 Chrysler LHS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance83500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Calais

Summary:

Cushy car with lots of problems

Faults:

Water pump had to be replaced.

Climate control unit had to be replaced.

Cruise control works only intermittently.

Hitches or (shudders) intermittently at 45 miles per hour and up to 55 miles per hour.

Air conditioner stopped working.

General Comments:

This is a great looking car with lots of room and a very comfortable ride.

However, its reliability is seriously in question, and I don't believe I would purchase another vehicle from this manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

1996 Chrysler LHS 3.5L 24 valve V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5L 24 valve V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9600 miles
Most recent distance75400 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This is a great car with a terribly unreliable climate control system

Faults:

The air-conditioner system has had four major failures.

The water pump has needed replacement.

The "low washer fluid" light stays on all the time, in spite of a full tank.

The suspension tie rod ends have needed replacement twice.

General Comments:

The car has great styling.

The car handles and rides very well.

The stereo system and other interior appointments are very good.

The fuel mileage is quite respectable for a car of this size and weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

1996 Chrysler LHS 24 Val. V-7 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 24 Val. V-7
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

49,000 miles, transmission needed rebuilt.

50,100 miles, had to drop transmission again to repair torque conv.

Deck lid seems to have a weak point just above lock. Creats dent. Fixed once, reoccured.

General Comments:

Very unhappy with Chrysler service dealership in handling repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2000

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews