1990 Chrysler New Yorker Reviews

1990 Chrysler New Yorker Landou 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Luxury Ride

Faults:

The Main Computer had to be replace, very easy to change. Total cost about $200. I've noticed when I come to a stop the car jerks or hesitates like it wants to shut down. Also having a problem with the brakes, losing brake fluid quickly. In the process of being fixed. And just minor ware and tare.

General Comments:

This is the first Chrysler I have ever owned, I love this car and it drives great. Very comfortable and classy. Very powerful, gets up and goes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2005

11th Feb 2005, 13:39

Take special care with the transmission, which tends to be a weak point on these cars. Keep your fluids + filters changed, and install a tranny oil cooler if it doesn't already have one.

1990 Chrysler New Yorker Fifth Avenue 3.3L OHV from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L OHV Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

A great ride

Faults:

Nothing so far. It has a timing chain instead of a belt and a non-interference engine, so it's not a big deal.

General Comments:

Great car, tranny shifts funny from first to 2nd gear, but other than that it runs like a dream. Doesn't corner as well as my old integra, but it rides great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

1990 Chrysler New Yorker Salon 3.3 L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Well balanced luxury

Faults:

Needed new brake pads up front.

General Comments:

Always started when I turned the key. Has 260 HP and 310 ft-lbs of torque after spending over $500 in parts. Plenty of horsepower for a front wheel drive car. Has the luxury of small limo.

Crashed it at 70 MPH into the rear end of a raised Jeep Comanche. Collision Took out the radiator, battery, driver fender, air cleaner housing ,window, hood and the upper grille panel. This car saved my life and my passenger's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

1990 Chrysler New Yorker Landau 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance153970 miles

Summary:

A beautiful car with a comfortable ride

Faults:

When I tested the parking brake, the insulation on some wires on a board under the dash fried. This was most likely due to something the previous owner did, though.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car. As a 15 year old looking for a car, I did not expect to purchase one like this. I was looking for a Beretta, but my dad brought this home one day and said his friend was selling it. It had high miles but the price was right. I am glad I did not get an economy type car because this thing rides so nice. It does not have a lot of, for lack of a better term, balls. The interior makes up for it, though. It has some rust, but that does not matter. We took this thing on a trip that we usually use my mom's Aurora for and the ride was a lot more comfortable. I am going to drive this thing until it dies. Awesome first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

26th Aug 2001, 05:11

You mentioned that the car has no "balls". I have a New Yorker as well (an older model on top of that) and I can tell you that IT DOES. Either your car is too beat up to drive properly or you need more practice in getting a feel of it. Anyway, I am very pleased with mine and can make other drivers eat my dust anytime.

30th Nov 2001, 22:41

You mentioned that your New Yorker is older. Some of the 4 banger New Yorkers from the 80s had turbos in them. If you have a 3.3L like me and get performance from it, well my excuse is I need a tune up (which will be done very soon). I will see how it runs then. My dad just got a 91 Regal GS for $500 (183,000 miles), so I am gonna see how that drives when it is fixed up. The New Yorker will get a tune up either way, though. I will let you know the outcome.

15th Apr 2003, 09:24

I love my New Yorker. My Dad got it to replace the 93 Concord that I had. And I say nothing bad about that car because that was a sweet ride. It looked good and even with its 3.3L it was a peppy little thing. But I must say that when it comes to the ride and the luxury the New Yorker comes out way ahead.

26th Aug 2003, 09:55

I just bought a `90 New Yorker Landau, it has high miles (136000) but it was cheap and in great shape. I can't believe the comfort and room of this car, the interior is so soft... I love it. The car rides great and was well taken care of and I am happy. I like to buy a manual.. can't find one, any of you have a spare one or know a place where to get one? The E brake doesn't work.. any of you have the same problem?

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews