1992 Chrysler New Yorker Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1992 Chrysler New Yorker Salon 3.6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

Best car in the world

Faults:

The front disk pads had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I bought my 1992 New Yorker Salon as a second car.

Now I drive it EVERYDAY.

Drives great, handles good in rain and snow.

I am now looking for one with low miles. I want to keep driving these cars until I cannot find anymore.

Gas mileage is not bad either. I get 26 on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2005

1992 Chrysler New Yorker from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Everything and anything went wrong with this car... not only did I put in a new transmission that cost a bundle, I had to replace the "motor" on the braking system. The dodge dealership never even heard of a "motor" on the braking system, I ended up putting in disk brakes. I spent more money fixing this car, then I payed for it. Run, don't walk away from this model.

General Comments:

Car is a real idiot car, tells you what is going to go wrong with it. Nice on the highway for long trips, looks good, but unless you have a lot of money fixing it, don't buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

20th Aug 2005, 01:49

This is outrageous! I have had 2 of these cars and they are awesome. The best car I have ever owned other than a Reliant K. You must have just had a bad one - look at all the great reviews!

4th Nov 2007, 08:57

I bought '92 New Yorker at an auction. No one told me about the alarm system; that was quite a challenge. After I figured out what to do, the park lights won't turn off. If anyone knows the solution, please help.

4th Nov 2007, 15:06

My 93 Grand Caravan had ABS and I would hear a motor start up when I turned the ignition on (prior to starting the engine). It sounded like a pump running under the hood and no, it was not the radiator fan.

1992 Chrysler New Yorker Fifth Avenue 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired500 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Imperial

Summary:

Exceptional Quality from a Chrysler

Faults:

I had to replace my rear air shocks.

I had to replace my starter.

I had to re-vamp my air conditioning system.

Otherwise, just general maintenance.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car! I have always liked Chryslers. I had a 1983 Chrysler Imperial before I bought this car. I bought this car right off the showroom floor, and it has been a great car ever since. Since I like to keep my cars quite a while, I generally take care of them. This Fifth Avenue has been no exception. The Clear Coat finish is still exceptionally lustrous, and looks like a brand new car. The interior also is in mint condition. The cabin is very roomy and you can't get more comfortable seats! It gets relatively good gas mileage, and is a great highway cruiser. If you're looking for a classically-styled Chrysler, this one's for you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

22nd Mar 2004, 09:38

I have recently purchased a used 1992 Chrysler New Yorker 5th Ave 3.8L V6. Overall it is an excellent car, I love it actually, but I've had to replace the radiator, light switch and relay, and now the power steering pump. All of these are expected to be replaced on a high mileage vehicle, but not within the time frame since I have had the car. I'm still wondering if I just happened to get the worst end of the deal or if the vehicle was just in dire need of maintenance.

3rd Mar 2005, 08:02

I bought a 1992 New Yorker 3 1/2 years ago. It's the best car I've ever owned. Replacing the transmission, having all new brakes and B.F. Goodrich M80s, it is still much cheaper than the Grand Cherokee or Land Rover I almost bought. Insurance is really cheap. The former owner installed a premium sound system. I almost regret arriving after a trip the car is so comfortable. Everything I need in an automobile & more. The cost of anything I put in is cheaper than a plastic new car.

9th Jun 2006, 09:17

I now own a Chrysler Imperial Brougham, and I Love it. I have had to replace nothing, and everything was in mint condition when I purchased the car. the dealer (who does service the car) said that this car looked great for it's age, and was well taken care of. The interior is beautifully Upholstered, and the car rides better than my Motorcoach or my Cadillac Deville. I would have to say that Chrysler did a wonderful job. And I agree completely with the above statement about plastic cars.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews