2000 Chrysler PT Cruiser Reviews

2000 Chrysler PT Cruiser Limited 2.0L gas from Switzerland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0L gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

Greatest, most useful car we ever had

Faults:

The switch for the fog lights went bad and the lights couldn't be turned off anymore. We realized that too late and needed the TCS (Swiss AAA) because the battery was drained.

The right automatic window motor went out at about 90'000km. Same thing happened to the Neon we previously owned - Doge / Chrysler should have those looked at.

General Comments:

The only downside of this car was that it was SLOW - the 2.0l engine just wasn't enough to move its considerable weight.

Apart from that:

Extremely versatile (seat arrangement, cargo space).

Extremely comfortable seats.

Great looks.

Excellent build quality. After ten years, the interior looked like new, there was no rattling or other annoying sound.

Absolutely reliable. Except for the unfortunate fog light switch incident, we never had a single issue with it. Always started in winter and just kept going.

First car I ever felt personally attached to. I HATED to trade it in, but it was 10 years old and would have had to get the drive belt, the suspensions and the brakes done to get it through the Swiss motor vehicle control test.

Did I say that I absolutely love it? If they still made it, it'd buy another one in a second.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2010

2000 Chrysler PT Cruiser Limited Edition 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance86234 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Excellent, but thirsty and slow

Faults:

Power steering pump, track rod end, electric door mirror, various other bits.

General Comments:

I found this car to be comfy thirsty and not very powerful, but then again these are not about going fast.

The dealer were excellent in all manner of service.

Although there were a few faults at first, the car seemed to settle down to its new owners and was very enjoyable to drive.

My ever expanding family meant we had to sell and buy a Chrysler Voyager.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2007

2nd Apr 2010, 15:31

Yes, I totally agree with this comment.

Can anyone advise me which manufacturers engine & gearbox would fit with minimum installation modification, or what can I do to enhance performance & fuel economy on the original engine?

2000 Chrysler PT Cruiser Limitied from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

I don't like it

Faults:

Uses oil at the rate of 1 quart per 1000 miles and has since new.

General Comments:

My wife loves it, I hate it. Can't really explain why, I just don't like driving it in spite of a manual transmission that I like.

The interior is very flexible.

Workmanship is good.

Best gas mileage has been about 25 mpg, around town it usually gets 20-22.

Have never had a fuel injected engine that runs as bad as this one when cold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

2000 Chrysler PT Cruiser Limited 2.4 normally aspirated from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 normally aspirated Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles

Summary:

This is a well crafted, easy to drive, unique car

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

My introduction to the PT came at a local mall where one was on display/ I loved it from the first minute. I directly purchased one from our dealer here in Fremont. I purchased in April, and it was delivered in September. At that time, I could have sold it for $5,000 more than I paid for it, as the waiting list has stretched even longer, and the dealer was requiring a $4,000 additional payment if they delivered your car off the floor.

I drove this car for the first time on its delivery day. It was perfect in every way. Acceleration is not as brisk as my 1941 Chevy Coupe, but I've got a pumped 350 in that and it's where I go for speed anyway. I never expected the PT to be a hot rod.

Among the wonderful aspects of this care are its brakes, which are uncanny. It seems that the engineers have harnessed some kind of "anti-motion force and that is used when necessary. High rates of motion simply disappear when required. I swear to you, the brakes are phenomenal. I took a group of guys out to lunch right after I'd gotten this car. There were 5 of us (it will seat 5 large guys, honestly) and they gave me the usual hard time about my worthless Chrysler product. I commented on the brakes, which drew catcalls: they had to be shown. It was rainy and there was some standing water on the streets. When I knew it was safe, I smashed the brakes to the floor at 50MPH. The loudest critic left a 1/2" deep nose print on the back of my headrest. He didn't have a lot to say after that, or possibly we just couldn't understand him).

The styling is wonderful, the comforts are all there, the engine is zippy and easy to the touch, and all the controls are in the right places. The color is to be envied by any hot rodder, the wheels are cool, and the upholstery set with suede leather inserts to hold the occupant in place during spirited driving occasions.

The overall fit and finish is of the highest caliber, and I still love it the way I did on the first occasion, when I bought and paid for it without ever trying it first. Like some Shakespeare plot where the lovers commit to one another for eternity without so much as a kiss, my little PT has proved to be the truest heart of my driving love.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

2000 Chrysler PT Cruiser from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance1530 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Totally unimpressive, give me a BMW instead

Faults:

I didn't keep it long enough to find out.

General Comments:

I won the car and I hated it.

It's ugly, uncomfortable, tacky and cheap looking.

Luckily I kept my beamer, so I flogged the PT Cruiser.

Only had it for a week, couldn't stand the sight of it, it looked like we had a 1950's car parked on the drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

27th Oct 2001, 11:55

You are right, ugly, tacky and cheap looking. I hate the buggers!

16th Dec 2001, 18:39

Everybody has their own tastes. Some people love the PT cruiser and some don't. I love the PT Cruiser.

9th Jan 2002, 08:50

UPDATE!! 09/01/2002.

Just seen the car for sale at a local garage, obviously the second owner didn't like it either. I'm very surprised.

2000 Chrysler PT Cruiser Limited 2.0 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

Good looker, uninspiring driver

Faults:

I had no problems with the car.

General Comments:

The overall layout of the car is extremely well thought out and very practical.

This car gets very poor gas mileage. I got about 18 mpg when new. Mileage improved slightly over time. This car really needs a manual transmission. Unfortunately, only automatics were available during early production.

There is plenty of head room front and rear. It's very easy to get in and out of due to the high roof line. The leather seats are not very comfortable. I think the cloth seats would be better.

For a small car, it has a very wide turning radius.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews