Chrysler Shadow Reviews

1991 Chrysler Shadow from Mexico

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Nice car to long trips

Faults:

The reverse light don't lit.

The car spends too much gasoline.

General Comments:

It is very stable in highways.

It is very comfortable in the front and in the rear seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2004

1989 Chrysler Shadow 2.5 Carb from Mexico

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Carb Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance217000 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, I Love It

Faults:

Transmission died at 180,000 Km

Steering Pump died at 215,000 Kms

The trunk does not stay open since 130,000 Km

Fuel Pump died at 100,000 Km.

General Comments:

This car is simply great, here in Mexico, street and highway conditions are extremely stressing for the cars it has never got a major failure, it even resist a hard impact and I only should replace some suspension parts.

I changed the entire engine.

When new it was the "Fastest car in Mexico"

I really love this car I like the line and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

1991 Chrysler Shadow americana 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Faults:

.

General Comments:

I have a question regarding a 91 dodge shadow. The car keeps overheating. I believe that the fan is not turning on when it should. I checked it and it works, but the sensor I think is not making it turn on. And I don't have a maintenance book. Can someone tell me there the sensor is and how I can test it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

29th Mar 2006, 12:16

Hi, it's the fan relay that's not working. They only cost around 5-10$ and are usually mounted on the right or left side under the hood against the body, usually screwed to the body. I would just replace it.

14th Aug 2009, 22:36

It's bad judgment to replace car parts without testing them first. You should read up on this and test it with a "multi-meter".

1993 Chrysler Shadow 2.5 ( 4 cylinders) from Mexico

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 ( 4 cylinders) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carFord Contour

Faults:

Hello:

I write these message, because my Shadow presents the following fault.

I like too much this car, I take a lot of care of it, but the last week it began to "jump" themselves and to extinguish themselves. The cables of sparks plugs, sparks plugs, distributor, pump of gasoline, gasoline filter, were already reviewed. Right now we are with the electric system, and we did not find anything. If someone knows that it can be, I request to him that write me: p_mach1@yahoo.com. thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2002

3rd Mar 2006, 13:20

I have a 1994 Shadow 2.5 with a problem of the heat gauge showing hot all the time when running. The heater does not give very much heat in the cold weather. I have replaced the head gasket, which showed cooler engine temperature for a while. The temperature is back up to hot again. The head has been re-torqued, coolant checked etc. I live in an area where I need a heater that is better with winter temperatures around the -20 degree mark for six months of the year.

My return address is hassell@mackbc.com

3rd Mar 2006, 16:36

To the guy with the "hot" Shadow, my first couple of guesses would be a bad thermostat, or more likely a clogged heater core. If the coolant has never been changed, you probably have a lot of scale and rust clogging the radiator passages, and clogging up the heater core. So, you don't get circulation through the engine and the coolant trapped in the block just gets hotter and hotter, even though no heat comes out of the heater. I hate to change my own coolant anymore because of the environmental concerns, or I would run a couple bottles of Prestone Superflush through it. However, if it's clogged it may be too far gone for that. You may have to take it to a garage, and have them do a pressure flush to blow some of that scale, rust, and gunk out. Once it's flushed out, and refilled with 50/50 anti-freeze and water, things should be going a lot better.

1990 Chrysler Shadow from Mexico

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres

Summary:

If it would let me, I would marry this car.

Faults:

Basically nothing has gone wrong with the car that has been due to an imperfection in manufacturing, except for the engine, which in time lowered itself causing the speedometer to stop working and damaging as well the transmission, with no great affections due to this except for the oil leakage.

Of course, this is still reasonable for it didn't happen until the car was 11 years old.

Also, the dashboard and seats got sun burned pretty fast, around the 8th year, but it didn't look so bad. This was also true for the paint of the car exterior as well as the defenses, which got many marks very fast; however, they never lost their durability and resistance.

General Comments:

Its horsepower is very small (don't know the figure) but it really takes a long while to get to 100 kmhr under regular conditions.

It's structure is incredibly solid and durable.

Of course it doesn't have ABS, and that makes emergency braking a real emergency!

Not a very cheap running cost, but luckily it hardly gets a malfunction under regular circumstance.

Incredibly enough, a far better car than more recent others.

Quite roomy and comfortable.

It's design is so great, and looks so contemporary even though it's a 1990 model. Seriously ahead of it's pack.

Good performance and stability according to its year. Also, great visibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2002

1989 Chrysler Shadow Base 2.5 L.iter SOHC from Mexico

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 L.iter SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

A very fun car to drive with very good performance on curves

Faults:

The engine head blew due to a broken valve.

The shifter got stock in "Parking" and now I have to leave it in "Neutral" and with the hand-brake.

The speedometer does not work anymore.

The front suspension broke, and the car "shook" at 60 KMH due to bad driving.

Since new the rear right door did not work properly, and now it is blocked.

General Comments:

This was my mother's car, and now I use it every day.

This is a great car, I even like it more than my Mustang.

This is a car you can enjoy driving, because it is very friendly.

The only thing I miss is a 4th gear, because the engine really needs it at high speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews