1993 Chrysler Town and Country Reviews

1993 Chrysler Town and Country 33 V6 from Sweden

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 33 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired258400 kilometres
Most recent distance259800 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz Vito

Summary:

Friends already

Faults:

Nothing so far, I have owned it for three days. It needs new tyres and a service.

General Comments:

Fantastic. Old, cheap and ugly, but what a bargain and what a comfortable car. I have two problems with this car, one is the lack of a clock. I have owned and driven over 20 different models and makes and never come across one without a clock. Also, the lack of support for my head. I have the same problem in my 1990 Cherokee.

I love this car, we are great friends already.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2007

21st Mar 2007, 20:37

If you have the factory installed Radio, it has a clock. Read your owners manual to understand how to work it. It is very easy.

21st Mar 2007, 20:39

The factory radios either say "Chrysler" or have a chrysler logo on them, if this one doesn't, its not the radio that came with it originally, which would explain it not having a clock.

26th Mar 2007, 07:18

Yes, I have worked out that it is in the radio, but frankly, I do not want a 15 year old radio, I need Mp3s for a start. Also, all my previous cars have had a radio and a clock, not combined in one. Still, I love the car.

1993 Chrysler Town and Country 3.4 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

It is a great buy if it has low mileage

Faults:

I changed the belt tensioner at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought this van with only 63,000 miles so I have had very little problems wit it.

I love the leather seats, it looks like a Suburban interior. It is very comfortable and I get great gas mileage, about 19 MPG. It has a very cool looking dash board. The dash is digital and is very functional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2005

1993 Chrysler Town and Country from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Cargo Van

Summary:

Very comfortable and drivable, but too many problems

Faults:

When I got it: Infrequently, the transmission stuttered on highway in overdrive. (Didn't fail until 50,000 miles later.)

Engine computer at 90,000 miles. Then again at 98,000 miles. No computer problems since.

Heard soft steady "clicking" when ABS (anti-lock braking system) engaged. It turned out to be a missing tooth in a gear of the right front wheel's ABS. Two of three mechanics could not find problem, so it seemed to be a rare issue. $450.

Air conditioning is dead. But I don't tend to need it in Chicago.

Alternator died at 105,000 miles. Died again about 15,000 later.

Had a flat tire. Lug nuts seized; I broke the lug wrench trying to remove tire. Heavy duty wrench did not work. Mechanic broke nuts removing them, and said nuts were "too tight" but I had the same problem a year later. Now I rotate tires every 6 months, WD-40 the bolts, and HAND tighten nuts back on.

Water pump failed and replaced sometime after alternator.

ABS failed around 130,000 miles. $600 to fix.

Transmission burnt out at 135,000 miles.

I have replaced four joints in front steering since I owned it. $150 to $200 a pop.

CD player started having problems about 3 years ago. Now its dead.

Windshields wiper linkage at 145,000 miles for $150.

Infrequently, the trans is now slipping, but only for the first 30 seconds after I start the car. Also noticing some stutter in transmission during city driving.

Latest problem is the ABS light going on when I press brakes firmly. Mechanic says it is in ABS electrical system, and not a mechanical problem.

I'm selling this and getting a sedan.

General Comments:

Purchased from my father, who drove easy, and performed regular maintenance.

Interior is plush. I have leather captain chairs.

Mileage is OK with 20mpg highway and 17mpg city.

Good acceleration in city and highway, but slower when loaded. Handles very well for a van.

Has class 1 trailer hitch. Handles well with 1500 lbs tow.

VERY comfortable for 4 people, and can haul up to 7. Can also remove back seats and haul a lot of stuff. Even 4x8 plywood (with back hatch open.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

18th Mar 2005, 17:47

I had the same problem with my '93 with the lug nuts. I have steel wheels with the decorative caps on them and it cost me $30 to get a new set.. The stupid mechanic puts them on with an impact wrench and over torques them despite telling him not to. I went to a different shop. I do them all by hand now and haven't had a problem.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 3 reviews