1999 Chrysler Town and Country LX 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Not worth the price

Faults:

Brake problems started at 12,000 miles

Have spent thousands on brake repairs and they won't last more than 2-3 months.

Transmission replaced at 35,000.

AC compressor replaced at 37,000.

Rear wheel hubs replaced at 39,000 and at 52,000.

ABS Brake master system replaced at 77,000 and spent over $3500.

Too many electrical problems to describe!

All kinds of suspension and brake noises have worsened at 79,000.

General Comments:

Would not buy again because of serious brake problems.

Very comfortable, but extremely unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2005

31st Dec 2005, 20:30

Sorry that you have had such bad luck with your Town and Country. I have owned mine for 7 years and 145,000 miles with nothing needing repair. I have only done routine maintenance and of course replaced the brakes once, battery once, on my 3rd set of tires and that is about all. I drive 35 miles a day round trip through all kinds of weather and wouldn't trade it for anything.

27th Mar 2006, 09:25

Have a 1999 Chrysler Town & Country Limited. At 152,000 miles, have replaced the tires once. Have replaced the brakes twice. The idler pulley froze at 38,000 miles, destroying the serpentine belt. Other than that, nothing to report for 152,000 miles. Have changed the oil and filter promptly every 3,000 miles; transmission fluid and filter every 40,000 miles. Have used it for a series of cross-country trips, and 80 mile/day commutes back and forth to work. Would rate this vehicle as excellent...haven't spent more than $500 in maintenance on it. Still gets 22 - 23 mpg, and rides and drives like it's on a pad of butter. Would say most owner problems are a direct function of attention to basic maintenance.

12th Nov 2011, 13:44

Ever think your shop is not honest?

Just a thought.

1999 Chrysler Town and Country Limited 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Best vehicle for the money!!

Faults:

Sensor which tells transmission to change gears at about 165,000 miles.

Headlamps and fog lights are covered with a plastic material (opposed to glass covers) that over time have become milky and reduce lamp effectiveness.

Spoiler on front bumper is low and drags over curbing at pull-in parking spaces.

General Comments:

This vehicle is everything a "mini-van" should be!!

For the price, the features that are standard on the Town & Country Limited often exceed those of much pricier vehicles which make it a real bargain!

It rides, drives and handles like a dream even with 196,000) +) miles.

The gas mileage is reasonable considering vehicle weight.

Cruise and radio controls on steering wheel are not only simple to use, but also an added safety feature.

If you like great sound, the Infinity 8 stereo system is super!!

Quad / reclining seating (power front seats) allows each passenger to have their own space within their own personal level of comfort.

Love those heated seats in the winter!!

Seats on rollers are easy to reconfigure or remove.

It's like having a car, a van and a luxury truck all in one!!

Leather seats shows little or no wear.

Yes!! I will purchase another Chrysler Town & Country Limited...maybe at 250,000 miles I will start looking!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

1999 Chrysler Town and Country Limited 3.8 gas from North America

Summary:

Great cruiser, quiet and luxury but with high depreciation.

Faults:

Tie rod end replaced.

Dash speaker "clips" with high bass levels.

Depreciation. Seriously, in 1999 this van retailed for almost $38,000. Bought it in 2003 with just under 50,000 miles on it for $12,500. Over $25,000 in four years is too much, just glad I didn't have to suck it up.

Brake pedal is very firm compared to other vehicles I have driven. I know soft brakes are not good, but this feels almost too firm.

General Comments:

This van is quiet. Traveling at highway speeds, the third row seat passengers can converse with the driver in a normal tone and volume.

Comfortable. The Limited is equipped with all the nice little touches and the seating is comfortable all the way around, right on down to the third row bench.

Cruiser. Get this on the highway, set the cruise, and go. Great driving position, seats, low ambient noise, nice Infiniti sound system, rear heat/ac.

Easy pull seats, rear bench is on wheels and can be "rolled" from rear position to second row if you pull out second row captain's chairs.

Not bad acceleration and handling considering the weight of the vehicle and the tuning of the suspension.

Van came equipped with towing package, which of all things, added a full service spare. Great to have for those trips where a loaded vehicle on a high mileage trip can't afford to run on a temp-a-spare doughnut.

Great suspension. Load it up and vehicle handles almost as well as when empty and the headlights don't point to the sky.

Styling. Chrysler hit a nice styling cue with this van. Not so sure if improvement was made in newer, squared off and lined designs.

Limited comes standard with the 3.8 V6, which should be the minimum for a vehicle of this size.

Homelink built in garage door openers and on-board computer showing direction, temperature, and mileage information is a nice touch.

Steering wheel has both cruise and audio controls.

Just replaced the OEM Michelins. They had over 71,000 miles on them and there was still adequate tread for daily driving, although wet/snow traction was beginning to suffer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

1999 Chrysler Town and Country LXI 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Great minivan

Faults:

This is a wonderful car!!! We bought it new and now have over 120,000 miles on it with no major repairs. We have taken it on many x-country trips and driven it from Alaska. The all wheel drive works great this is the only car I've never gotten stuck. We love it so much we bought another.

General Comments:

Roomy, comfortable, dependable. Tracks great on slick roads. We love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2002

15th Feb 2004, 06:57

My experience is very different. I have a '99 with only 35,000 miles. Transmission is leaking, car rattles, wheels are corroded, interior is deteriorating. Poor value. There are better choices.

2nd Nov 2004, 13:03

My 1999 Chrysler T&C LXI is the most comfortable and elegant vehicle I have ever owned (which includes Lincolns, Cads and Benzes). With 53k miles, it still is as quiet as when new, gets decent mileage and has suffered not a single manufacturing defect. With leather seating, it is virtually maintenance free except for occasional wash. Wonderful car, great value when purchased 2-5 years old as the original owner takes the huge depreciation hit that all Chrysler buyers must endure.

1999 Chrysler Town and Country Limited 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

A luxurious, comfortable van

Faults:

Resonant noise from the exhaust at 1600 RPM.

Clicking noise from the steering wheel.

General Comments:

Braking is poor. The car needs larger rotors and replacement of the drum brakes in the rear with disc brakes.

The 3.8 liter engine is fine around town, but on the highway and especially long inclines there is a lack of power.

Highway gas mileage is around 22 miles per gallon

I like the comfort and luxury in the Limited edition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001