1987 Citroen AX Reviews

1987 Citroen AX 10e 1.0L from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired101230 miles
Most recent distance102569 miles
Previous carford sierra gt

Summary:

Good reliable car, full of character with its age

Faults:

The ignition module burnt out weeks after I had it. The alternator is still not charging the battery despite new replacement part. The brakes refuse to work properly until you pump them a few times.

General Comments:

The car is a great starter car to young drivers. The day after I got the car I drove to Cardiff from Manchester without fail, there and back. It gives a good nippy drive until more than the driver are in.

One off put about the interior of the car is the 80's grey and red spacey look. The steering wheel looks more like a flight yoke than a wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

1987 Citroen AX RE 1.1 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres

Summary:

Some trouble, but still very reliable

Faults:

The head gasket blew last week.

Due to rust problems, the bottom of the car needed a lot of welding. There was a considerable hole in the floor behind the passenger seat.

Door lock (driver's side) is loose.

Exhaust pipe fell off the car while backing into a parking space. It sounded like a Harley Davidson (pretty funny).

There are some rumbling noises in the right front wheel socket, when taking curves at high speed. Lots of investigation and repairs by the previous owner, but no cause found yet.

General Comments:

I bought the car from a friend for only 150 Euros (100 Pounds?), so I could afford some repairs.

It's my first car and I'm totally in love with it (I've even got a new Citroen logo from a scrap heap in France to replace the original, which was stolen last year!).

The engine runs really well, no ignition problems.

Gears are working fine, no troubles expected there.

A big plus is that the AX is pretty easy to fix. Most repairs won't cost a lot of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2002

1987 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Ideal first car for a budding racer!

Faults:

Head gasket (twice!).

Heater matrix.

Fuel pump.

Needed a whole new flipping engine two months ago(92,000 miles)!

General Comments:

Have had a few problems, but what a little rocket!I've had no problems at all in the performance stakes with my little AX GT.

The petrol is cheap, the insurance is cheap, the car is easy to drive and when that twin choke cuts in: whooosh!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2001

14th Feb 2001, 14:40

My AX GT is on 103,000 and has only needed a head gasket, you must have been unlucky.

23rd Oct 2006, 13:55

Mine made 210000kms then I rebuilted the engine. but it was 210000kms always speeding :)

1987 Citroen AX TRE 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86200 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carCitroen 2CV6 Special

Summary:

Economical, reliable, cheap family hatch

Faults:

Nothing! Yes that's right, no problems, I know we all get cars, some good and some bad, but this has been nothing but a blessing.

It's a 5 door 5 speed, all for £300! It's been reliable, cheap and economical, and I can't complain at all. With good regular servicing, plenty of checks, and good winter prep. Nothing should go wrong. I love this car to bits.

General Comments:

Cheap and insurance, 45 mpg - 55 mpg. Not a rot box. Got to keep an eye on those brake discs, pads, and of course keep it serviced.

A well maintained car, should not cause any problems at all. Mine has had two owners, full service history, and yes it cost £300. Colour, is Claret (red), and it has been such a great car to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2000

1987 Citroen AX TRE 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance90500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Head gasket eater!!

Faults:

Electric windows played up.

Head gasket blew causing the head to crack and melt the cambelt cover!!!

General Comments:

I was warned about French cars being crap on the head gasket side of things, I now know why, it overheated one day, then the engine sounded like a diesel tractor, the head gasket had blown!!!

I know of other people who have bought them only to replace the head gasket soon after.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

1987 Citroen AX E 1.0 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance109000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen 2CV 6

Summary:

A cheap-to-run car with great handling

Faults:

* Ignition-computer broke down.

* A few little problems with the electric system.

General Comments:

It handles really great for such a small car, fun to drive.

Very cheap to drive: It has an average fuel consumption of 20 kilometres per litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2000

4th Jan 2001, 15:00

He is joking about the handling (I hope!), but I suppose it is better than a 2CV.

10th Apr 2001, 11:32

Well, I have to agree with this AX owner, in comparison with other small cars it corners very well.. only disadvantage is the huge overhang... Same for the good old 2CV I guess.

11th Apr 2001, 13:55

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the way this car or the 2cv handles. Why is it that Vauxhall drivers just don't understand that great handling can be combined with comfort???

19th Apr 2001, 14:36

I also have a Citroen AX 1.0 Jive, see my review '1991 - Great First Car.' I would have to also agree, the handling is very good for a small car. There seems to be great disagreement on this site. About half the reviews seem to suggest handling is bad, the other half seem to suggest it is good. My theory (being that most of the criticism of handling comes from GT owners), is that the handling is not up to boy racer standards. Now I am rough with my car, and drive it at relative speed round corners, and it always seems to be glued to he road, now in my mind that equals good handling - correct me if I'm wrong.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews