1987 Citroen BX Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Citroen BX 14E Leader 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno Turbo

Summary:

A cheap and nasty run about

Faults:

Intermittent fault that no one could diagnose.

Engine mounts.

Lots of electrical faults.

General Comments:

Handled way better than it looked. It's a shame that it was so short on power. The GTI version might be interesting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

1987 Citroen BX 19 GTi 16v 1.9 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance84750 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Super ar performance for under 500 UKP!

Faults:

New spheres all round (£80 for 4).

2 new hydraulic pipe (£30).

Anti roll drop-bars (£50 each).

Front discs + pads (£50).

2 heater blowers (£20 second hand).

Exhaust down pipe (£90).

Leaky sunroof.

General Comments:

What a car! 0-60 in 7.0 secs, and off the clock (140mph) on the autobahn! This thing corners on rails! I put a leather interior in it for £60 and lowered it 40mm; now it's better than any Merc, BMW etc that I know. A Ferrari in Citroen's clothing.

Repairs, although difficult, are fairly cheap now, and for a 13 year old car, it still runs very well!

I joined a club for these cars, and things got even better!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2000

1987 Citroen BX RE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Unreliable and quirky French cruiser

Faults:

Suspension pipes corroded. Clutch arm snapped off.

Boot lock failed. Head gasket blew. Suspension belt snapped.

General Comments:

I should have known from the high milage and Citroen reputation for complexity that the BX would be a mistake. However, I was lured in by the superb ride, comfortable interior and distinctive looks.

Over time the car became too much of a liability and soon went to drive on the great motorway in the sky. Since then I have stuck to cars with ordinary suspension and it would take a big lump of cash to change my mind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

1st Aug 2006, 10:40

Should have kept it, no need to scrap a good car. Yeah the different suspension is better.

3rd Feb 2009, 09:54

OR reviewer here again (a bit late but...) :

Trust me, it wasn't worth keeping it going. The interior had developed mould due to the car being left standing whilst I figured out how to fix the clutch release arm and the engine dieseled badly when switched off. The doors were getting very rusty too. I never could get the fiddly integrated washer/wiper jets to spray properly either.

Given the condition of the car it just wasn't worth spending money on a reconditoned engine etc. It would have just been throwing good money after bad.

Had it been something worth saving like a BX GTi or something, then who knows?

1987 Citroen BX 16 RS 1.6 90hp from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 90hp Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres

Summary:

A solid car you shouldn't be afraid to buy!

Faults:

Front spoiler (fixed), brakes, exhaust, the fan, electric problems.

General Comments:

A good standard car but our car has been driven 250 kilometers every day in a year with no service! And purchased for about 500 pounds so it's good quality! Outperforms new cars in both comfort and driving ability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2000

1987 Citroen BX 16RE 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Over 139,000 miles, suspension accumulator, suspension cylinder, suspension bearings, brake caliper, windscreen washer, fog light switch.

General Comments:

One of the most comfortable cars I've been in. Engine sounds rough, but goes well and is very economical. Main dealers overpriced, but loads of specialists who do the job better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 1999

1987 Citroen BX 19 TRS Athena 1.9 petrol from Spain

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

The problems with the suspension system. At best it is bad... Many problems of little things.

General Comments:

In general well to 200.000 kms. But after that.... regular..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 1999

1987 Citroen BX RE 1.4 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Rust in hydraulic pipes, front suspension renovated, ignition lock.

General Comments:

Superb riding comfort, for a reasonable cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 1999

1987 Citroen BX 14 RE 1.4 carburettor from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.4 carburettor
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Rusty hydraulic pipes.

Rear brake discs rusted.

Front hydraulic struts.

Handbrake wires.

General Comments:

A very nice car with outstanding comfort at a very nice price level. It runs cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

1987 Citroen BX 16RS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Died on motorway; corroded connectors on ignition.

Starter motor.

General Comments:

After 12 years, engine still below 200ppm on MOT HC test. Manual choke fitted - starts hot or cold now. 27-30mpg.

Interior looks its age, engine has always been noisy but accelerates well in fifth. Most servicing easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

1987 Citroen BX GTi 1.9 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.9 8v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Clutch at 65k, brake pads and discs at 69k.

Suspension pump makes loud clicking sounds fairly regularly (new pump reqd). Suspension spheres became too firm at 60k. Various suspension pipes have blown off, easily traceable.

Intermittant elec. problem to fuel pump, car stalls. Front seats have sagged (replaced easily). When I bought the car (£750 4 years ago) there was a rust hole in the subframe, got it fixed for about £20 and it gave no further trouble.

General Comments:

This was my third BX. I know the marque fairly well and still quite like them. Good engines and transmissions, perform well and are smooth and robust. Bodywork is generally good, but can get a bit rough at the edges. Better constructed and stronger than some people think. Powerful engine, but handling is not tops. Nice styling. They are decent cars and people should not be put off by the hydraulic set up. I recently traded up to an R21 estate as I needed more space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

1987 Citroen BX 19TRS 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

190,000 from new, regularly serviced.

Very little: 2 Clutches, 1 radiator, 1 set new sphere's, 1 pressure regulator, 1 accumulator.

General Comments:

This has been an outstanding car, very reliable that just seems to keep on going. The engine feels as though its just run in. Very responsive, massive amounts of torque, and can be pushed to 125mph (autobahns).

The gear box is quick & smooth with no sloppiness. The ride quality is excellent. The bodywork and interior are showing its age with rattles and creaks but no rust. Overall this car has been excellent with many European journey¹s completed and never breaking down.

Best Tip: Keep Servicing and Synthetic Engine Oil.

At a non Citroen Garage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 1998

1987 Citroen BX 17RD 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

The gearbox gave up at 25,000 miles, and Citroen (after a struggle) agreed to pay half. I told them I had had a Ford Granada and done 96,000 miles in it before the gearbox went. I was not pleased.

There have also been various fluid leeaks from the hydraulic suspension which have proved costly.

The interior headlining very quickly developed a spotty appearence (mold?). I bought the car new and it has currently done approx 150,000 miles.

General Comments:

I would not buy another Citroen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 1997

17th May 2006, 10:48

I totally disagree. I would have hundreds more Citroen's especially the BX.

18th May 2006, 13:25

Hi mate I would agree with you m I would have more bx's.

18th May 2006, 13:30

I agree with the guy who wrote the other comment hundreds more I would buy.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews