2003 Citroen C2 Reviews

2003 Citroen C2 VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Buy one. Well worth it. Pocket rocket A++++++++++

Faults:

Alarm activates for no reason.

Brakes squeak in reverse.

Passenger door locks for no reason (can't escape)

Paint peeling on side skirt.

Gear not ready at junctions or roundabout.

General Comments:

Brakes just needed cleaned.

Not happened lately.

Repainted under warranty.

Reprogrammed under warranty.

What a great car!

Points sound bad, but don't let that fool you. They are just niggles.

I have the sunshine yellow. Turns heads.

Very fast.

Great fun in paddle shift.

The brakes are seriously sharp (be careful)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

21st Mar 2008, 15:08

Shame They Stopped doing the Yellow on the VTR models.

2003 Citroen C2 VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

I purchased this car 2 weeks ago and it is the best car I have ever owned. Its comfort is really great, it handles excellently, and is very fast.

I just love the Sensodrive, it's like owning three cars in one with the different driving positions. Can never get bord with it.

The cabin is really funky and it does turn heads. I can even get my weekly shop all in the boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th September, 2005

2003 Citroen C2 VTR 16 sensodrive from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 16 sensodrive Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5200 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Needs lots of refining

Faults:

Collected the car from the dealer on a Friday in October 2003, brakes were howling as I drove out of the garage, returned the car the next day to report the fault, I was told that the hand brake required adjusting. This they carried out, however the howling noise was still apparent. The following day the car failed to start and the gearbox was making lots of clicking and whirring noises, then a fault indicator appeared on the dash. The recovery man disconnected/reconnected the battery to reset the computer, and then it started OK. Next day the dealer could not find a fault, however they changed a solenoid anyway.

Over the next few months the car was in and out of the garage many times to get the brakes sorted, eventually a component was replaced in April 2004, which seems to have cured the problem.

Powered steering failed once, however it sorted itself after restarting the car. No problem since.

Battery went flat after only 4 days standing, the dealer replaced this, as it was only 14 months old.

Alarm sometimes sounds after doors are locked, dealer cannot explain why.

General Comments:

A nice looking car.

You have to anticipate what the sensotronic gearbox is going to do when slowing down at junctions, otherwise a quick get away is impossible.

Glad to get rid of the car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

10th Oct 2006, 16:17

I bought a 2006 Citroen in Guatemala City four months ago. This is the C2 VTR and it's been in the car dealer twice already, for the same reason: there is something wrong with the gear box.

It's been three weeks since the last time I brought it to the car dealer, and they had to wait to receive the spare parts from Europe. I hope I receive it back soon.

Well, it's a nice looking car, I love it's performance, but, I wish I could get rid of it now.

5th Apr 2008, 10:48

My friend owes a c2 vts and the gearbox has gone again having he had already replaced it only 2 years before? Is this a manufacturing fault in this car?

2003 Citroen C2 furio 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Very very disappointed

Faults:

The car locks me inside. this fault has been reoccurring since new.

All the doors deadlock the passengers inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

17th Jun 2006, 20:19

Hi, just wanted to say the car is supposed to lock you inside, it is a safety feature, unless of course it locks you in permanently, then it's more of a jail, LOL.

I'm getting my C2 in a week, have read lots of negative press about it, but still can't wait.

2003 Citroen C2 GT 1.6 Injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2450 miles
Previous carNissan 100NX

Summary:

Holds to the road like glue

Faults:

Since I purchased the car the rear brakes have insisted on being as noisy as possible. Took it back to the dealer for a cure to the noise and was fobbed off with a "Brake dust" excuse.

Doors, if closed too harshly sound as if they might fall off. But are solid if treated with care.

Cabin can become warm quite quickly once the car has been started which is probably due to engine being so close.

Air circulation can be noisy above 2 but only irritating when on 4.

General Comments:

All the bad things said about the C2 above are easily made up for by its looks alone. Interior and exterior have both been styled brilliantly, making it both acceptable and unusual.

Holds road very neatly, and cornering is also a strong point. The stiffened suspension makes this possible without too much of a bumpy ride when you're taking it easy. But this also makes it slightly skittish on crap lumpy roads when at speed. With a manual gearbox added to the formula the driving is totally down to you, which I love.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

25th Aug 2004, 05:24

Regarding your rear brakes, Citroen has issued a refresh on the rear brakes in other words a recall! If you take it to any official Citroen deal it should still be covered under warranty and repaired for free! It is a problem with the hand brake release on the rear calipers. I had the same problem, but it has been sorted! ever since no noise!

Regards.

Matt.

Black C2 GT Owner.

11th Jan 2005, 13:14

Could somebody let me know what they think of the GT compared to the VTS if you have tried both. With regards to performance. I test drove them both and I actually felt as if the GT was quicker???

30th Jun 2005, 04:23

I have also driven both cars and I felt the gt felt quicker, the vts has more bhp, VTS 125 GT 110, but the Gt is much lighter and has more torque VTS 105 to the GT 108 so with these 2 car it's more or less down to the driver.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews