2006 Citroen C2 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Citroen C2 VTS from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

French and crap appear to go together well

Faults:

This car is deadset the biggest pile of crap I think I have ever had the displeasure of driving.

Problems:

Misaligned panel gaps

Lethargic power from engine (did someone say Sporty...hmmm)

Manual gearbox allows selection from 5th to reverse. That is, there is no lock out on reverse so you could accidently select reverse instead of 4th when changing down and have the gearbox come flying up through the floor.

Door trim rattles

Dash rattles

Misaligned plastic trims

Plastic under steering column loose

Rear brakes completely stuffed. Squealing and shuddering

Knocking from front left wheel over even minor bumps in the road

Air con intermittently switches itself off

Digital centre display invisible in sunlight

When I switch on lights, I get a electric buzzing sound from the stalk.

Drivers seat loose

Drivers power window stopped working

Remote central locking works when it feels like it. I now lock it with the key and check each door before walking away as I don't trust it.

Rattle from boot lid.

All in 15,000km.

Who would have thought.

I would never and I recommend no one else ever buy a French car. I gave it a go, but was let down. I am spreading the word. Back to Japanese cars forever now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2006

24th Mar 2007, 06:21

Wow..I thought I'd had problems with my VTS. Looks like I've been lucky, I've only had my inlet manifold fall off, door window seal come loose and paint peeling from the tailgate.

It has bee back to have a faulty coil changed too though.

I think with all those faults you could reject the car and get a new one, if you were in the UK.

Got to admit the build quality of mine is pretty good... so far! No squeaks or rattles, body panel put together well.

Time will tell though, the materials used don't seem the most robust!!!

Later Steve.

24th Mar 2007, 15:06

I have a Saxo VTR. hasn't gave me any problems yet. I was thinking about getting one of those C4'S. Got to admit they look pretty cool. These comments and reviews just put me off though. It will either be a C4, an Astra or an older BMW 3 series.

6th Jun 2007, 22:54

I have a 2006 VTR Sensodrive, now with 20K on the clock, from new.

Its attractive and well designed. It's fast, easy to drive, and the gearshift is very fast.

Attractive contemporary interior treatment, with supportive seats.

Very economical, great fun to drive.

I have no rattles, no mechanical problems, great customer after sales support, and interest shown by my dealer.

In my opinion it makes ALL the other hatches on the market (including the other Frenchies and especially the Japanese cars) look and feel like old fashioned, old technology, klunky 1980's plastic boxes.

I think it's a good product at a great price.

2006 Citroen C2 VTS 1.6 from Poland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance6500 kilometres
Previous carFiat Seicento

Summary:

Great value for money GTI car

Faults:

Broken: flywheel, clutch, rear braking caliper, window seals, front lamp. Car is 3 months old.

General Comments:

Great value for money.

Great car, but breaks often.

Small and cheap GTI.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2006

2006 Citroen C2 VTS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance2900 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good looking car, but could be built better

Faults:

Rattles from the lefthand side wheel arch. Took the Citroen dealer three attempts to fix it.

Drivers side window does not always close properly. The window will go up and come back down to its previous position.

Rattles from the centre consol and from the door linings.

Large panel gap on one side of the bonnet.

The air conditioning makes a very loud clunk when turned on.

General Comments:

The C2 looks good and drives well.

The ride is hard, but the car handles well.

Comfortable seats with good support.

Fuel consumption is OK when driven carefully.

The spare wheel is located under the floor of the car, and is very difficult due to its weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

2006 Citroen C2 VTS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance887 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

Only one problem to date, the boot release has stopped working which means I can't open the boot. happened 6 weeks after I got the car brand new.

General Comments:

Quick little car, was suprised by the performance.

Great fuel economy (usually 43mpg)

Smart interior trim, seats would have been better leather.

Great value for money and only group 8 insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

24th Mar 2007, 06:25

43 MPG...That's unbelievably good. If I drive like a granddad I can't get better than 36mpg. Usual is around 33-34.

Watch out for your inlet manifold though buddy, they tend to fall off after a few thousand miles. If the engines starts to whistle, watch out!!

Later Steve...

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews