2002 Citroen C3 Reviews

2002 Citroen C3 SX pack 1.4i from Finland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

I'd had the car only one week when the check engine light was starting to pip. Reason was, fuel jet in one cylinder was broken, took some +200 EUR to fix it.

There was some 83500km at that time.

General Comments:

Good standard of equipment, AC, cruise control, clarion stereo with 6 - speakers, "parking mirrors", black panel, elbow rest in both front seats, etc.

Kind of nice and easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2006

26th Aug 2008, 18:36

Now I have 130 000 km with the same C3, can´t complein, car just works great.

2002 Citroen C3 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

One big disappointment!

Faults:

Speedo Jumped from MPM to MPH e.g. 30 Mph to 33 Mph.

General Comments:

For a modern engine, it was very appalling and had no power what so ever!

Seats were back breaking.

The curve in the windscreen gave me a headache.

Gear shift was hard and appalling!

Visibility was OK, but to get a good view out the windscreen without having things distort meant that I could not see the car's body, which made it harder to park and judge where objects were next to the car.

Cabin was not a nice place to be, cheap feel to everything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

1st Jun 2007, 08:42

Has the writer of this review ever test driven the car prior to buying it? Almost all the problems he/she mentioned, are clear once you've taken it for half an hour's drive.

6th Apr 2009, 14:33

It's not an expensive car even new, & I would bet the writer didn't pay too much for this car, but seems happy to complain, how much power did you expect from a 1.1?

Citroen build well engineered cars with very low emissions and economical, but the C3 is not a Rolls Royce & does not pretend to be, it is cheap transport with style.

2002 Citroen C3 SX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance16836 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

I used to love it!

Faults:

Large hole blown in engine.Block-con rod snapped. The car had only done 16702 miles. It was serviced in sept.2004 at 1400 miles.

---------------------------------------

The above happend on 18thJan2005 it took 2months for local dealership in Preston to repair it.

---------------------------------------

Windscreen wipers have all perished. Only dealership stock them, so have to pay top price £43.00.

General Comments:

I have enjoyed the car, it's nippy,handles well, sharp brakes. The only fault it's a bit sluggish when starting off between 1st and 2nd.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2005

13th Jan 2006, 03:46

Agree with most comments, item about cost of wiper blades is misleading. I have the same C3 and wiper refills are available at all my local car parts stores for about £5.

2002 Citroen C3 Exclusive 1.4 from Norway

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance8500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Funny, quickly and head-turning

Faults:

There have not been anything wrong with the car yet. I do not expect there will be any problems.

General Comments:

A very nice little car, funny to drive, but the seats are too narrow, unfortunately.

The digital tachometer gives good information, and together with the cruise control (standard on the Exclusive model) is there no problems with speeding police controls!

The interior has too much plastic, and the space for luggage will not be sufficient when more than two persons in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

21st Apr 2004, 15:08

I have had my C3 exclusive for a year, it is fun, responsive, funky and a real joy to drive. I am not a petrol head and just want a car with good performance, excellent features and one that looks different from the rest. The C3 meets the bill. It is smooth, quiet, responsive and everyone who drives with me is totally impressed with the car. Do not be fooled by the critics, the rest of the cars in the class are really very dull in comparison.

8th Apr 2005, 12:12

Having driven my c3 exclusive hdi for just over 1 year there have been no problems with my car at all. It averages over 60 miles a gallon and is very quick. The extras you get in it you would not even find in a car twice its value. It's a great little car. Well done citroen.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews