2007 Citroen C4 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2007 Citroen C4 Coupe VTRi 1.4 from Greece

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Baleno

Summary:

Not good value for money

Faults:

My rear shock absorbers have been replaced at 5000 km, due to poor performance.

Factory Mp3 player replaced at 7000km (3 months)

On board display screen doesn't display all digits.

Rear boot plastic have been replaced because of faulty fitting causing them to braek.

General Comments:

The car handles good.

Very good sound proof, comfortable driving.

Very poor engine performance.

Nice styling.

Driver seat loses height setting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2008

2007 Citroen C4 SX 1.6 petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carVauxhall Meriva

Summary:

My next car would NEVER be a Citroen!

Faults:

1st week of ownership, exhaust fumes alert came out.

Second week, the suspension starts to squeak.

Brakes getting more and more spongy, which the dealer couldn't solve.

Automatic transmission violent jerks during gear change which was claimed to be normal.

Interior creaks.

Fixed steering wheel loose.

Seats cushion became so soft after 10000km.

Door handles loose.

Undercarriage rust.

General Comments:

Very poor throttle/engine response, couldn't even overtake a van on motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2008

15th Oct 2008, 06:02

How sabastien loeb can win a world title with this car? not only once...

2007 Citroen C4 Coupe 1.6 from South Africa

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12500 kilometres
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Don't buy Citroen

Faults:

New car - Passenger seat cannot be tilted or moved back or forth, and the fabric in the driver's seat was already worn.

General Comments:

No aftersales service - not ISO compliant.

Dealer refuses to fix defects and the car is still under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2008

27th Dec 2009, 13:25

Bought a C4 HDi demo with 10 000 on the clock in 2007. Has 141 000 on the clock and no complaints. If you want one, buy secondhand, absolutely no secondhand value. No dealer wants to trade. On the plus side, no hijacker wants to steal it.

25th Jan 2010, 13:51

I bought my 2006 C4 automatique with about 34000 km on the clock. This has been my first second hand, first non-German car ever. To date I have had no problems. I love the design. It is understated, yet original and different...hope the new importer has more respect when it comes to client service. I have high hopes... Love my C4.

18th Mar 2010, 09:24

I bought my C4 coupe new in 2006, done 100 000km on the clock and wanted to have the car serviced. I looked on Citroens new website and found out that Peugeot services Citroens now. They charge R 2900 for a plugs and filter service, ridiculous. Luckily I found a Citroen mechanic who will do the service privately for me at R 780... bargain!!!

Other than the expensive services, I cannot complain about my car. Never even had a flat tyre, no problems whatsoever. I've put a new tyre on after I have done 96 000km, needless to say I bought Michelins again.

I can't decide whether I want another car, maybe I'm just itching... ;-)

1st Apr 2010, 06:06

Can you give me the name and telephone number of that mechanic?

2007 Citroen C4 VTS 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carCitroen C2

Summary:

Quiet, efficient, comfortable, yet sporty car

Faults:

Soon after I acquired the car, it randomly started whilst slowing for junctions. Quickly fixed through a software update. No further problems.

General Comments:

After my C2 VTS I wanted something that was roomier, had better mpg, lower emissions and better spec. I also wanted it to look nice, but still be fun to drive. Having looked at many other medium sized cars, my choice was between either an Astra 1.9CDTi Sports Hatch and the C4 VTS HDi. I chose the C4 as it was slightly cheaper, better equipped, as well built, but crucially for me had a smoother and quieter diesel. To be fair to the Astra though, the C4 did feel a fair bit slower.

The first 3000 miles of owning the C4 has seen an average mpg of 40 around town, and 60 mpg can be reached at 70 mph whilst in 6th gear. It's worth noting at this point that at 70 mph the C2 VTS was pulling 4000 revs whilst the C4 VTS is just under 2000 - it's much quieter!!!

The C4 is good to drive with light steering, good handling, although I have driven a petrol version and can confirm the diesel understeers a little more, presumably due to the heavier engine.

Performance is good; initial acceleration is what you'd except of a diesel, but above 30 mph the engine can stretch its legs better and shows excellent responsiveness as well as acceleration - it has LOTS of torque! I'm a bit of a petrol head, but even I had to admit the engine even sounds good when you put your foot down; very deep, and when warmed up, it's even pretty quiet at idle.

Inside the car is very comfortable with leather/alcantara seats, dual zone air con, 7 disc CD player, laminated side glass etc i.e. all the goodies. The driving position is excellent and can be altered to suite all comers. Visibility is good at the front, but the coupe shape limits rear visibility - I am glad parking sensors are fitted. Talking of visibility, the mirrors might look aesthetically pleasing, but are fitted too far back on the doors to be 100% useful.

The only extra my C4 has is the Citroen sport spoiler as fitted to all petrol VTS's - curiously the diesel does not get this, but in my opinion it makes all the difference.

To sum up, I am very happy with my C4. I'll be the first to admit that if fuel costs and emissions were not a concern, I'd go for the 180 bhp petrol engine. In the diesel's defence, it's only £500 more, has 138bhp and substantially more torque, and sounds much better than the older generation of engines fitted until recently. If the fuel economy of the petrol VTS is what my dealer tells me (about 25 mpg around town), then the diesel easily beats it whilst being only 1.5 seconds to 60 slower, and I'd bet above this it's quicker. Furthermore, the road tax is only £115 a year and the insurance 6 groups lower. Bit of a bargain eh!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2007

2nd Jan 2008, 08:18

Hi, original reviewer here. I have realised I missed describing properly the fault I initially experienced with the car.

Prior to the software update, the car cut out as I slowed for roundabouts and junctions. The alarming thing was that there was no warning prior to it happening, nor did any warning lights come on. The car always restarted immediately, but am glad the software update worked.

2007 Citroen C4 Sébastien Loeb HDi 110 1.6 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 HDi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Performance, economy and comfort in one!

Faults:

Slight rattle from the seat belt fixture on the drivers side.

Slight rattle from centre of the steering wheel.

General Comments:

Excellent engine, masses of torque available in all gears. Turbo is particularly powerful and can really throw you against your seat!

Have just completed a round trip from Midlands to Southern France / Spain in it. Comfort is not matched in any car I have ever driven. Nearest was a Jag X Type 2.2D, but was still nowhere near as comfortable. The Loeb model comes with leather and suede sports seats and interior - a pleasure to drive.

Interestingly, on the same trip we managed 970 miles from one tank of diesel (40 euro!!).

Equipment is vast as you may well imagine in a Citroen, exemplified by the fact that there are virtually no options to purchase! The handy speed limiter is excellent for those of us who happen to creep faster and faster on the motorway. I have mine set at 80mph at all times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2007

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 10 reviews