Citroen Synergie Reviews

2000 Citroen Synergie SX 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Some niggles, but so far so good

Faults:

Drivers door electric winder mechanism had to be replaced.

Sliding door windows did not always open or locks release easy repair tightened door adjuster.

General Comments:

Family love it, sliding doors great, climate control bit fiddly in winter conditions OK when warm,35+ mpg, no cup holders in the front!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2005

1998 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Vitara

Summary:

A bit of a dog

Faults:

Central locking faulty.

Digital instrument panel works occasionally.

Seat belts not retracting correctly.

Interior light switch not working.

Retractable mirrors not working.

General Comments:

As comfortable a car as this is, I believe I could have got a lot better with the money spent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

1998 Citroen Synergie SX 2.0i petrol from Norway

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A great family car

Faults:

This car has never not started up and has always got me to my destination in comfort.

During routine maintenance I have had the following repaired:

Overhauled steering as it was making a clunking noise.

Replaced overhead console as interior lights were working intermittently.

Right front door handle was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

I set out to buy a large station wagon, and ended up buying this car because it wasn't much more expensive.

It drives like a car and is easy to park with good visibility out the back.

It has been cheap to run. The petrol consumption is acceptable - and has a good range of 800km to a tank. Tire wear has been slow.

The Citroen model is cheaper than other similar vans.

I also prefer the design because of the following:

- two sliding doors

- gear lever on dashboard liberates passage between front seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

1999 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 td from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 td Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles

Summary:

Terrific

Faults:

Diagnostic lamp kept coming on at 90000 miles - reset - all OK.

General Comments:

This car is by far the most reliable I have owned. I believe the car has now covered close to 160,000 miles without a single problem apart from where the diagnostic lamp kept illuminating.

Fantastically reliable and comfortable family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

1998 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

A good MPV when bought 2nd hand

Faults:

Remote locking failed

Faulty water temp warning light - cured when I had a tow bar fitted! Pass on the explanation of that one.

Air con digital readout fails temporarily - the jolt when reversing cures it.

Outside temperature digital readout fails - quick flick of the dial sets it going.

General Comments:

A very comfortable practical car, but not the quickest thing on wheels.

Economical especially when buying diesel in France - we have had 3 ski trips with it so far without a hitch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

1998 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A superb family holdall

Faults:

Locking on rear door stopped working - traced to a dirty contact on the door itself.

General Comments:

A superb car - comfortable, reliable - okay it drives a bit like a van - but the average driver isn't going to care about that!!

Performance is impressive for a Diesel -the new HDi is even better.

It only does 32ish to the gallon - I hate to think what the petrol version does.

Sliding rear doors are a huge benefit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

3rd Mar 2005, 06:20

The petrol version averages 30 mpg.I'm surprised your diesel only does 32 mpg!

1st Jul 2005, 05:26

My diesel consumption drops to 32mpg town driving in winter, but rises to 36 in the summer when traffic is less congested.

Driving in France I achieved 45 mpg with 5 people on board and all our holiday luggage.

My main outstanding problems is with the electronic closing of big sun roof. It needs the assistance of a strong tall man to encourage it to close properly.

24th Aug 2005, 12:11

With a sibling 806 HDI I return 39 mpg (6 l/100km) or 36 mpg on motorway, with a light foot.

23rd Sep 2005, 09:37

My 2ltr HDi averages around 40mpg bit more on a run if I stay below 75mph.Can't cure sliding door that will not unlock.

1st Oct 2007, 16:05

Regarding the sticking sliding door - I have the same problem in the winter. Turns out it is the rubber seal around the door becomes solid in the cold and sticks to the metal on the door. Solution - WD40 around the rubber seals every now and again. Works every time.

Very happy with this car - been very reliable - have the 2.0 HDi. Achieve nearly 40mpg with mixed driving (town / motorway). Love the versatility - use as car / minibus (7 seats) / van for carrying large loads. Only gripe - poor driving position. Have had to buy a BackFriend to boost me up in the seat to get the correct driving position.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews