1991 Citroen XM Si 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Executive comfort relaxed drive economical


Drive Shaft N/S (this was bent when I aquired the car)

Exhaust replaced at 67,000 miles.

New clutch fitted at 70,000 miles started to slip I think due to the previous owner towing a caravan.

Slight niggle electrical faults developed, all traced too bad earths. Replaced all earth spade connectors with crimped and soldered ring terminals bolted to body.

General Comments:

Very Economical over the 47,000 miles I have done in this car it has returned an average of 30.66 M.P.G.

Very comfortable both in the seats and ride even on a 500 mile round trip.

Very quick if you want to push it.

Holds the road well, with sports suspension activated it corners as if it's on rails, but you can frighten yourself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

1991 Citroen XM SD 2.1 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Top performance workhorse


Glow plugs needed replacing after 8 months.

Disc's and pads on front after 12K.

Leak on fuel filter hosing causing poor starting V, cheap to replace.

General Comments:

Very reliable with brilliant handling + comfort.

Cheap to run and maintain.

Very poor headlamp design for night driving v, poor brightness.

Nice shape and good design aesthetics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

1991 Citroen XM Ambiance 2.0i from Iceland


Slow, but very comfortable


Ball joint (annual test failure).

Window winder.

Valve stem seals resulting in high oil consumption.

Heater matrix was leaking when bought.

ABS sensor intermittently inoperative when bought.

Ignition module gave up at around 160K.

General Comments:

The cars handling is very good.

Underpowered, but OK on the motorway (16V Turbo should be just fine).

Spacious and elegant design.

Very bad illumination from the head-lamps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2001

1991 Citroen XM 2.1 D-12 from Netherlands


If your not in a hurry, a good XM


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This non-turbo 2.1 diesel has not enough power for this type of car.

It is fuel efficient.

Comfort with a big C (of Citroen).

So slow even a Lada is faster at the traffic lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

29th May 2001, 08:04


I also have a 1991 model D12 XM. It is absolutely true that one shouldn't be in too much of a hurry. The non-turbo diesel XM is like a sofa on wheels and quite gutless on hills. It can sometimes be positively dangerous to overtake on normal roads at intermediate speeds.

This being said, it has a fair turn of speed on the motorway and its roadholding allows fast curves to be taken even faster than average.

For: Comfort, roadholding, style (class), a lot of car for the money. The power problem aside, it's a great tow car.

Against: Lack of power, engine noise at certain speeds, poor rear visibility. The permanently lit dash seems a waste of time and bulbs, half of which now need changing.

As for reliability: Since new it has had all the spheres renewed once, the electro-magnetic fuel cut-off failed once and it has just broken down with a seized fuel pump (6 000 Francs to repair).

Would I buy another one? Yes, but with a turbo. On the other hand, my wife doesn't like it!


Denis Malloch Lawson

Lyon - France.

15th Dec 2003, 11:58

I find myself agreeing with both the above.

I have a 1991 "chaise lounge" on wheels... overtaking on country roads is not advisable!!!... even around tractors and mopeds!!!

It is beautiful to look at and drives like a dream.

Best value for money car ever!!!

Only 36 minor problems so far... in about 36 months of driving!!!... I can live with that.

Good strong car... In a head on collision with Mercedes van 2 years ago I walked away without as much as a headache... the repairs have brought back a smile to the face of my friend!!!

When the C6 comes out... I'll get myself the petrol engine version... and with a little luck I will put the tractor where he belongs... In my rear view mirror.

Thanks for the chuckle.

1991 Citroen XM 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Great car for the brave individualist


A/C not working when bought - leaking hose.

Front suspension strut mounts worn.

Various annoying minor electrical faults (blown interior bulbs, wrong warning messages) - nothing serious.

General Comments:

Vastly underappreciated car which is very comfortable and capable. Body, interior and engine appear bullet-proof and should last a long time. Requires steady and knowledgable maintenance to remain trouble free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2000