1995 Daewoo Racer Reviews

1995 Daewoo Racer GSi 1.5L 8v from Malta

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5L 8v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres

Faults:

Fuel pump, water pump, distributor, alternator.

General Comments:

Good car. I like it. Anyway, it's a GM motor so it's truly a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2009

27th Jul 2009, 13:33

I have a problem... engine just stops when the shift is engaged on the 5th speed, as you apply the clutch and release it quickly to stop or change gear, it has the tendency for the engine to stop, why? Anyone can help me please? TY.

29th Jul 2009, 14:33

Get your transmission checked specially on 5 gear, may be you need to get it repaired, or the cables aren't getting the engine to run properly. When was the last time you changed your transmission oil?

1995 Daewoo Racer STi 1.5 from Panama

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 kilometres
Most recent distance212000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It was a gift... I would have paid!!! IT'S GREAT!

Faults:

My aunt gave it to me for my graduation in 2006. She owned it from the beginning. She only poured gas on it, and changed oil once a year.

My car is the best of the best...

I have crashed it 11 times and is still runnin'

I broke the brakes once going downhill for an hour. I replaced the rubbers that keep brake liquid pressure. I kept runnin'.

The seats have worn out, and the metal rails are a bit rusty, but work just fine.

I have changed oil every 3 or 4 months and the car is working properly since.

I have changed brakes, power switch, mmmm that's it!

General Comments:

It has the best metal... hard enough to protect me from taking a punch while crashing, and malleable enough to be corrected easily.

I got it with the original paint and audio system... I changed the radio because I wanted mp3, but it worked just fine. In fact, I got the original speakers.

Yes, the air conditioner doesn't work, and it's expensive to repair it because the evaporator is inaccessible to the mechanic... but I'm on to it... I LOVE MY CAR!

The machine is intact, works beautifully, mostly in highways... great speed, low cost!

Stability, reliability...

The disadvantage is that you need an experienced mechanic on this car because it's not your regular Toyota... but I got lucky... I found the mechanic that worked with Daewoos when they had customer service agencies here in panama.

Bottom line...

NOT SELLIN'!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2008

1995 Daewoo Racer 1.5i from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.5i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Faults:

The 1.5i has a few minor problem like the alternator, timing belt, radiator and sometimes the injectors go as well. The parts a hard to get a hold onto.

And very rarely the head gasket blows.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, handles the roads real good, lots of space for a stereo in the boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

1995 Daewoo Racer STi 1.500 CC from Colombia

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.500 CC Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 11

Summary:

A high performance bargain. If you have one, don't sell it, is a Jewel

Faults:

The fan belt has broken at 40.000 kilometers, and I got to call up manufacturer service in the highway. The other things that has gone wrong with the car were: Injectors had to be replaced each 20.000 kilometers, but the problem improved when I began to fill up the car with premium gasoline. Conditioned air doesn't function well, for hot climate is a great disadvantage.

General Comments:

In spite of the problems it's a cheap, comfortable, and a very fast car. Has a very good performance in highways, is very "big" for driving in a City and in towns you'll experience troubles parking the car, because is very long. Is economical and has a good acceleration performance: 100km/h in 6 seconds. Is the best TAXI-car in COLOMBIANS Cities. It bears use and overuse, you can find cars with 600.000 kilometers without problems in the engine. The other advantage is that the cost of car parts is more favorable than other Asiatic cars as: HYUNDAI, MAZDA, NISSAN, TOYOTA, KIA AND HONDA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2002

14th Jul 2006, 20:08

100 kmh in only 6 seconds? I do not believe that. It is a 1,5 litres TBI with only 70 hp!

1995 Daewoo Racer 1.5i petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5i petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda 120LS

Summary:

A reliable no-nonsense car. Start and go... every time for 5 years!

Faults:

Regulator and horn malfunctioned in the first year.

Ball joints replaced after 3 years, although this is understandable as our main roads are more like off-road dirt tracks!

General Comments:

This car is a good work-horse all rounder.

Dash rattles a bit, but the price is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

17th Oct 2001, 05:03

1. Yeah! The dash rattles a bit.

2. Unavailable car accessories.

3. Unavailable car parts.

4. Lack of speed.

5. They made a good job of the Daewoo Espero, good engine, a 16 valve.

6. What happened to the Daewoo Racer.. the Daewoo Racer will be good as the Daewoo Espero if they have the same engine.

7. But it is still a good car for me, that's all...

8. Peace!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews