1997 Daewoo Racer Reviews

1997 Daewoo Racer LX limited 1.5 injector from Pakistan

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 injector Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Racer

Summary:

This car is a master piece

Faults:

Although this vehicle is excellent in running, but the major drawback is its braking system which is not much reliable than Toyota or Honda etc.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and its acceleration is cool.

Its really a racer by nature.

Its fuel consumption is excellent i.e,19 kilometer per liter with fifth gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

14th Apr 2008, 11:34

The car is good in braking if you buy only branded brake shoes & pads. It saved my life when I hit the brakes at 140km on the highway to avoid a camel hit in 1998. Great car for the value, better than a Corolla or Sunny, but has NO resale value.

4th Nov 2009, 15:45

Can anyone tell me, are the spare parts of Daewoo Racer and mechanic easily available in Karachi? Is the price of maintaining this car reasonable?

7th Feb 2010, 00:49

I have my own DAEWOO RACER GTI 1995. The interior is still good, the body paint is good, but for a minor scratch on the front and hood.

The accelerating is okay, but have a problem with idle, sometimes get abnormal and turns the engine off. Also have a problem in cooling system; the sensor reacts, but the engine is already very hot.

Where can I find a service center here in Philippines region 1?

8th Feb 2010, 21:08

OK, good to hear that your Racer is running well. You need to do these things in your Daewoo Racer to keep it running great.

Get your throttle body clean

Clean injectors

Change fuel filter

Spark plugs

Engine oil with new oil filter (15w 30) engine oil type

Air filter

Get your engine de-carbonised by using engine flush

Just follow these steps, and I'm 100% sure your car will have a new peak performance & a new feel driving it. Do reply about it.

27th Feb 2010, 06:47

Has anybody got the Daewoo Racer manual? If yes, please send me @ tsidd_chaos@yahoo.com

Thanks!

1997 Daewoo Racer GTi 1.5 TBI from Philippines

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 TBI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A collectors item! Don't sell it or you'll regret it!

Faults:

I consider this car as a maintenance free car. No parts are broken except for the normal parts that worn out of daily use like timing belts, clutch disk, brake pads, and the regular change oil. Literally, this car is a start and go!

General Comments:

This car is a great bargain! I mean why settle for expensive cars like Honda, Toyota and the likes? You can the same performance at almost half the cost. My car has power steering, power windows, power trunk release, power locks. All these for a cheap price. The car accelerates very fast. 0 to 100 km/h takes only about 5-7 seconds. It is also a very fuel friendly car. No wonder in our country, this is mainly used as taxi cabs. Engine is powerful and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

14th Jul 2006, 20:01

It is difficult for me to believe that this car takes only 7 seconds to reach 100 kmh, perhaps downhill. It has only 70 hp (with TBI), not enough to have that acceleration.

20th Aug 2006, 10:28

1990 Pontiac Le Mans made by Daewoo Motor in Korea is equal with Daewoo Racer. Very nice and useful car. Especially the blue metallic painted models.

1997 Daewoo Racer GTi 1.5 TBI from Philippines

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 TBI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The most practical car in the world!

Faults:

Most of the parts are okay during the first 3 years of operation. However when the car was left outside in the rain for quite sometime, door locks and handles were stocked and needed to be lubricated. Window mechanism on all windows were replaced. Timing belt is also replaced. The fuel pump was also replaced. When the car was accidentally left in the flood, computer box is also replaced as well as the fuel pump. Horn button is also replaced as well as the ignition key. The turn signal switch is also replaced due to accidental misused. Rust forms in the disk brake calipers so sometimes the front brake does not perform well.

General Comments:

Generally, the car is very fast and fuel efficient. Parts are cheap. Operation is quiet and smooth. Interior space is large as compared with other cars in its class (Corolla, Lancer, Honda City). The car is superb at speeds 100 kilometers and above. Brakes are also good. I highly recommend this car for practicality. It is a dependable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2002

1997 Daewoo Racer ETi 1.5 from Peru

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance26200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Very good and economical

Faults:

It has not given me any problem to date.

General Comments:

It is a very economical car. I recommend it to anyone who wants an economical used car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews