Daewoo Tacuma Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Daewoo Tacuma Class (=CDX) 2.0 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

General Comments:

Nice, comfortable car

Handling a 1300 kg caravan very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

2003 Daewoo Tacuma SX unleaded 16v from Singapore

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission unleaded 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Car's pedals should be bigger. Too small for people with big feet to operate. tires should be 195/60/15 instead of 185/70/14.No body-kits to upgrade to. should have option for leather seats and cruise control. More soundproof should be added to the engine and side doors, because sometimes can smell the car's carbon monoxide coming in.

General Comments:

The car pickup is great.

Lot of space in cabin.

Seats are quite comfortable.

Able to carry big and long items.

Sound-system loud and good.

Gearstick get in gear without problem.

Storage area is very well design into the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

8th Apr 2004, 10:45

Carbon monoxide is odourless.

26th May 2004, 10:33

I think he is trying to say carbon dioxide, car's fumes.

3rd Oct 2004, 12:57

Carbon dioxide is also basically odorless - it will be hydrocarbons from the fumes that smell.

2002 Daewoo Tacuma CX 1.6 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance2200 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Value for space and stability.

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the car. Fuel meter was stuck, but after 2 full tanks it functioned properly.

Original Korean tires was a bit noisy, so changed to quieter Japanese tires.

General Comments:

Great for putting the whole family (3 adults and 3 kids) on a trip to a resort with 3 mountain bikes hanging on the back.

Fuel consumption could be better though, 11litres/100km, but to be expected for a car of this weight. As stable as a 2000 Honda Accord because of its weight.

Engine a bit rough though. It probably is due to the extra push needed for the heavy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2003

2001 Daewoo Tacuma SX 1.6 from Belgium

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance32160 kilometres
Previous carFiat Croma

Summary:

Technology and quality at stone age levels

Faults:

Right from the first day on, it often went dead when the engine was hot and running at low engine speed. Like for example when waiting at traffic lights. The dealer replaced some sensors. This didn't help. Then he replaced the CPU.

At 16.000 km the left front wheel bearing started to make a noise. It was replaced under warranty.

One week later I was back at the dealership because the right front electric window lifter engine broke. Replaced under warranty.

Fuel consumption is really high. About 12.5 liters/100km. And I'm not a sporty driver. I wrote a letter to Daewoo, they came for testing my car together with my dealer and their answer was that the consumption was normal.

Now the worst part. I bought the car in July last year and now it start to rust on two different places. At the trunk opening and at the top of the door opening. My dealer however is not willing to fix it and from Daewoo I don't get an answer.

General Comments:

This is the last Daewoo I will ever buy.

And I strongly advise other people to stay away from it.

I was warned by a friend who had an Espero, but I told him that the Tacuma was a next generation Daewoo. This is NOT so. The technology and quality are still at stone age levels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2002

22nd May 2009, 16:09

The problem is the dealers not the cars. They have got stone age technology but can be picked up, used, at stone age prices, so you pays your money...

I got a three years old Tacuma with only 23k on the clock for £3500 - a bargain in anyones book. For a family car that will end up with crayon marks and fizzy pop spilt all over it anyway, it's ideal!

I'm happy to put up with a few minor faults for the money saved on a Renualt Scenic.

2001 Daewoo Tacuma CDX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance9825 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nexia

Summary:

Excellent all round vehicle, and we would buy another one

Faults:

Soon after the car was delivered, we noticed that on first use on a cold morning, the indicators would not work. If the hazard lights were operated this corrected the fault. The cause was traced to a faulty relay which was supplied with the factory fitted tow bar. Having been changed, no further problems.

At approx 6000 miles a slight steering wheel wobble on braking, appears some Tacumas suffered this problem caused by a faulty batch of brake discs. Local dealer changed the front discs and pads immediately, and we have had had no further problems.

General Comments:

By far, this is the best vehicle we have owned and ideally suited to family use. Impressed with the comfort and all round vision.

Design of storage drawers and under floor compartments is very good and makes good use of the space.

Rear electrical jack plug and additional mobile phone sockets are useful.

Being able turn the front passenger seat around and the sliding centre seat doubling as a table is a bonus.

Looking forward to a diesel version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

31st Jul 2004, 13:52

I would like to say that I have just bought a Tacuma today, and when I took it for a test drive I found it to be one of the best cars that I had ever driven. And the reason for me looking on this web sit is not only to hear other peoples views, but to find out other information.

So I would like to thank every one for their contribution and say well done to all.

2001 Daewoo Tacuma CDX 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance7850 miles
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

A well packaged family car (well done Daewoo!!)

Faults:

Dashboard has had rattle on and off for 6000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the company's best effort to date. The car is well designed, screwed together well and very reliable. The car handles very well and the 2.0 engine does a decent job of pushing it along.

The gear-change is light and easy to use, although the suspension is a little on the hard side, it helps keep any body roll in check.

The only major complaint I have is the quality of the interior plastics!!

And the problem with my dashboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

26th Apr 2004, 10:20

I am facing the same problem. My Dash board got fully damage.

21st May 2005, 17:59

I also have a rattle in Dash and it has cracked replaced once in 2003 now cracked again.

10th Feb 2007, 19:45

I have a 2001 Tacuma and I also have many cracks starting in my dash, but I was not sure where to get replacement part. After reading other comments I might not bother. A dash mat might be a cheaper option..

13th Aug 2007, 00:04

I've just bought a 2000 model Tacuma 4th hand and while it appears in really good condition I was shocked to find a big crack in the dash! By the sounds of it it's typical of the Tacuma which is almost a relief because I was starting to worry that it'd been in some kind of accident.

Thanks.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews