1991 Daihatsu Charade Reviews

1991 Daihatsu Charade SE 1.0 CB 90 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 CB 90 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Summary:

The best car money can buy

Faults:

This car has been wrecked, and the alternator is going bad. Other than that, it is a champ!

General Comments:

I would recommend this car to anyone, as it has been the most reliable car I have ever owned.

Only one major breakdown, due to the ORIGINAL clutch finally giving out, and it is a racer at heart.

This car has an official top speed of 110 MPH, but I have been clocked at 125.5 MPH, and have the ticket to prove it, LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2008

1991 Daihatsu Charade 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance126300 miles

Summary:

A inexpensive fuel efficient car

Faults:

The seats in the car have started to wear down very quickly.

The engine burns a little oil.

The paint has chipped off the hood and on the roof.

Back hatch has leaked in the past, but is now holding well.

General Comments:

This car is incredibly easy to shift.

The clutch has been in for well over 20,000 miles and is still going good.

The gas effiecency is awesome for this car, I am getting 35 miles to the gallon.

It has a bunch of extra room even though it is such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

1991 Daihatsu Charade SG Small from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Small Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres

Summary:

Not as reliable as you think. Not safe

Faults:

Daihatsu's are meant to be reliable yet this one required a major engine rebuild before 100K (crankshaft).

Broke down in the middle of the road on more than a few occasions.

General Comments:

Positives?

1. Very economical (runs on the smell of an oil rag)

2. Surprisingly roomy for little car

3. Service costs reasonable (until something goes wrong)

4. Cheap to buy (new and used)

5. Easy to drive - good first car? See Negative 3 below.)

6. Cheap to insure.

Negatives?

1. Not so reliable as many people think (unless perhaps a little (very) old lady drives it and it is properly serviced)

2. Come to think about it, dealer probably didn't service it properly even though hard earned cash forked over.

3. Hate to think what it would be like in accident.

4. Does not live up to Japanese quality reputation. Interior and exterior very flimsy. Paint faded very quickly.

5. Very spartan appointments.

6. Struggles on hills. Don't try to overtake anything.

7. Easy to steal.

8. Even for those on a budget there must be better cars. Or spend a little bit more on a Toyota or Mazda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

20th Apr 2009, 20:18

I am very surprised at these comments. My Sg was used as driving school car from new, club level motor sport, towing, interstate work etc etc. Even approaching 400,000k's it would still pull 130kph in 3rd gear.

I got 203,000ks out of the first clutch, and was impressed with fit and finish of the car. Gave many members of the Porsche club a run for their money in motorkhanas.

In short, a brilliant car and am looking for another one.

1991 Daihatsu Charade Mizuno sport 1.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired138789 kilometres
Most recent distance161567 kilometres

Summary:

I'd own another like it any day

Faults:

Needed to replace right hand side CV joint when I purchased the car... radiator replaced at about 140,000...head gasket currently on it's way out.

General Comments:

It's a very reliable car and goes extremely well for a 3 cylinder. Very cheap to run and I guess just a handy little car with hardly no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

1991 Daihatsu Charade G100 CS 1.0 3 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

Value for money, proven reliability

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car in the 7 years that I have owned it.

Only maintenance items, e. g battery, brake pads etc.

General Comments:

These little cars are truly amazing.

(My brother has a 95 model G200 with 265000 kilometres on the original 3cyl engine and it doesn't use oil or blow smoke).

The car drives as well as the day I bought it and is virtually 'bulletproof'

I don't won't to get rid of it, and if I do I will definitely go for another Diahatsu - probably a Sirion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

1991 Daihatsu Charade SG 1.3 16v from Indonesia

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 kilometres
Most recent distance160121 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

A very economic car

Faults:

Over 100.000 km, the air conditioner must be repaired. It not cool like usually. The problem is the fan for condenser is not running well. The contact point is no longer working. So you had to change with the electric ignition.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable after changing the electric ignition. I use it go from Bandung to Jakarta every week and I have no serious problems.

And the consumption of gas is still good, for out of town can be 15 km per 1 liter with the 88 octane.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

27th Jul 2008, 10:16

Hey

I'm having trouble moving from points to electronic ignition. How do I do that? I'm still looking for parts to buy.

rickdier@caramail.com

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews