1993 Daihatsu Charade LX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland


Awful car


Driver's side seatbelt fell off multiple times.

Rear left brake drum failure.

Loss of 3rd gear.

General Comments:

Dull to look at. Dull to sit in. Not very comfortable. This car isn't good at many things, it's terrible in fact. But it's good on fuel so it has that going for it. The reason it's so good on fuel is because it accelerates slower than anything on earth. When going past 60mph, the car would shake violently and make a loud rattling sound. The steering was very inaccurate and suffered from heavy understeer. Wouldn't recommend you buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2015

5th Feb 2015, 23:25

The Charade is an excellent Japanese car. Yours has been abused and not looked after properly, and at 22 years old has had enough, so it is not really fair to slate it.

1993 Daihatsu Charade GXI 1.3 from UK and Ireland


Superb performance, looks good...


Not much at all (which is why we still have it), just wear and tear...

General Comments:

This car is the most reliable car we have ever had, starts every time, goes like fury, but we drive it at 65mph usually. Handles well on the road, and very good for a town car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th March, 2013

1993 Daihatsu Charade 1.3 from Egypt


Pocket rocket city car

General Comments:

I came here before I bought this car, and I am generally satisfied about the performance I got from it.

The acceleration of this car is great; it can accumulate speed very quickly.

Very stable on the road.

Generous add ons in the car.

Back seats can open to extend the car trunk.

Gear box and transmission is smooth.

Near to earth, this may seem uncomfortable if the road is bumpy.

Loud sounds come from the engine at high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2009

1993 Daihatsu Charade CX 1.3L from Australia and New Zealand


Problem after problem


Problems Repaired:

Radiator required flushing at 99,000km, again at 102,000km.

Thermostat jammed at 104,000km, required replacement.

Radiator required replacement at 104,000km.

New brake pads front and back at 106,000km, brake drums machined.


Problems that require repair:

Clutch requires replacement in less than a months time (107,000km)

EFI requires repair, idling roughly (107,000km)

Transmission requires repair as gears are not shifting properly (107,000km)


It's also blowing a fair bit of smoke out the back on days where the temperature is 20 degrees celsius or under.

General Comments:

I have never seen a car requiring this much in repairs after travelling only 9,000km over a two year time frame.

The car had previously been in a front end accident (dealer never mentioned this at time of sale, found out from mechanic) and it subsequently has a replacement starter engine (KM unknown) from a wrecker.

The car appeared perfect on the exterior, yet is a ticking time bomb mechanically. I will never be buying another car without a mechanics inspection again.

The only positive points I can think of is that the air conditioning is great on hot summer days, and the suspension is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2006

16th Dec 2008, 15:14

Sorry you bought a pup, but these Charades are tough little beasts, requiring mostly just routine maintenance, and producing big smiles as it blasts along.

Not really a Charade review, more a "cut n shut" review, and most of those are a bit crap.

22nd Jan 2009, 07:24

I have had a Charade, and had quite a few problems since I cooked it, but as a general rule, unless it was really flogged, they go for ages, especially the transmission and clutch.

Seems you have bought a real dud.

1993 Daihatsu Charade SG 1.3 16v from Hungary


A speedy, economical commuter-car, that you can love! :)


The steering squeaks somewhere, when it's below 0 Celsius.

Somehow rainwater gets in to the doorstep. Not sure how yet. I'm about to drill a hole in it, to prevent corrosion.

Needs the required attention, that's mentioned in the manual. (For example the gap of the valves needs to be set periodicaly. Otherwise it makes that that diesel sound for the couple of minutes after start.)

The exhaust pipe in the back has corroded. Exchange is needed. But I'll wait for the spring with it. A race muffler would sound great! ;D.

General Comments:

Generally a well built car!

Speedy engine, great fuel consumption (8L/100km strictly in the traffic jam).

Lots of electric gadgets like electric mirrors, windows, central locks, etc..

Lots of space in the trunk (since it's a sedan).

The spare parts are expensive, like every Japanese car parts in Hungary, but you don't need them too much. ;)

The transmission is good, very precise.

The seats are bit wider, than I'd prefer, but it's OK.

The look of the car is very Police-friendly! They just let you get away with things (like speeding), when you sit in a car like this.

Unfortunately my car doesn't have a power steering. I regret that very much, when I try to park in the jammed streets of Budapest.

There's one more thing: it's very hard to find a mechanic who knows this car in Hungary. It's better if you buy a book, and do it yourself! :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2003