1989 Daihatsu Feroza Reviews

1989 Daihatsu Feroza from Germany

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 kilometres
Most recent distance162570 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Left 1/4 panel rusted but it was caused by the drain hole being plugged.

Generator was replaced just before I bought it.

Wheel arches have some rust inside.

Cat probably needs to be replaced to pass the next inspection in August 2009.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2008

1989 Daihatsu Feroza from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission Manual
Previous carDaihatsu N/A

Summary:

A piece of metal on a hairdryer motor!

General Comments:

I have a question, how fast can the Daihatsu feroza go in kph???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2004

18th May 2004, 03:20

Dont now how fast does it go???

20th May 2004, 23:44

My feroza can go up to a speed of a 120 km/h. haven't tried going over that.

24th May 2004, 19:26

120 is nothing. My sneaks up around the 130 to 135 mark. Wait till the new engine is fitted.

4th Jul 2004, 05:59

I've driven it at over 160, and 140 over long, long stretches. (220.000 kilometers on the clock so far..)

3rd Aug 2004, 04:58

I've had my 1997 Sportrak (a.k.a. Feroza in Iceland) firing down the motorway with a tail-wind at a noisy 85m.p.h. (136km/h)

The engine was good for more, but I didn't wish to overdo it. Great small jeep. 4L is superb in the snow, and compared to the newer Terios or Suzuki Jimny there's no comparison in terms of getting away from the lights. The Terios couldn't pull the skin of a rice pudding, and the Jimny is okay for circus midgets.

23rd Aug 2004, 20:52

I got "done" doing 129 km/h in a 110 zone, and I was holding her back, it was only on 4100 RPM. I reckon she was good for 150 km/h no worries. (Was down a hill).

3rd Oct 2005, 21:17

We have a 1989 Feroza which we love, but we keep getting a petrol smell inside the car. We had it serviced and nothing was found, has anyone esle experienced this and if so whats the cause?

10th Oct 2007, 23:25

I've had mine hookin at a crazy 170 clicks. down hill of course.

30th Sep 2012, 10:08

If you want a car for speed, buy a faster one - any 4x4 isn't fast, as it isn't their primary purpose. But it feels like they can haul a house, and mine is over 25 years old, and is truly amazing!

1989 Daihatsu Feroza EL-X 1.6 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

Economical and Fun

Faults:

Alternator replaced and reconditioned x3. Fitted new heavy duty 80amp unit.

Problem with cooling system, leaks. Repairs performed by specialist.

Bent piston rods when crank pulley slipped. Very expensive engine work required.

Clutch, brakes, gearbox, exhaust, and various other mechanical problems.

General Comments:

Despite having major mechanical problems with this vehicle in the first two years I've used better than stock standard equipment to correct the faults.

It has never let me down when out in the bush where reliability is everything.

Overall, the Vehicle is a lot of fun, and economical.

It is ideal for two people, as storage is limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

1989 Daihatsu Feroza EL-X 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired183210 kilometres
Most recent distance186524 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Sierra

Summary:

One Great Package

Faults:

EFI has problems keeping engine running when first started from cold.

General Comments:

Very reliable and capable on and off road.

Ride is a bit pitchy, but you would expect it from a SWB.

1.6 EFI, 16 Valve engine is high tech being all-aluminum and hollow crankshaft.

Performance from the engine is good, considering it's a solid built 4WD.

Body looks great, no rust found anywhere at 186,000 km.

Interior is of good standard for age and manufacturer.

Independent front suspension lacks ground clearance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2003

1989 Daihatsu Feroza DX 1.6 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Good long term performer

Faults:

Fuel pump failed.

Small split in radiator after a very, very long hot drive.

Bolt on the rear door snapped in high wind when the door was open.

Sunvisor on the passenger side cannot be adjusted so that it operates smoothly.

General Comments:

Considering its age and usage, it has retained amazing condition. Although parts seemed expensive to replace ($200 for a door bolt!), very, very little has gone wrong with this car.

It is most definitely not a luxury vehicle and is a very jiggly ride, but very reliable and overall economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews