1991 Daihatsu Rocky Reviews

1991 Daihatsu Rocky SX HD EG 1.6 EFI 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission HD EG 1.6 EFI 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 kilometres
Most recent distance97000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Versatile, well built, reliable small SUV

Faults:

Fuel breather valve above filler cap in cabin cracked and needed gluing to stop a fuel smell in the car. Common fault on these.

Radiator top tank cracked, needed fixing.

Whistling noise in exhaust, a bit annoying, but doesn't affect reliability etc.

Otherwise, nothing.

General Comments:

Very well built, heavy construction, chassis underneath. Well made for going off road. Not the fastest thing on the open road, but is very capable off road.

High and Low ratio gearing, and the sunroof tilts or comes off, and the entire rear of the roof can be taken off. Very versatile car.

Tows well, even though it's just 1600cc.

Would love another one, but they seem to have gone up in value lately!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2010

1991 Daihatsu Rocky SX 1.6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance241000 miles
Previous carJaguar Vanden Plas

Summary:

Too reliable for United States

Faults:

Timing belt at 187k.

New clutch plate at 177k.

New brakes/shocks at 125k and 230k.

Rebuild alternator at 159k and 210k.

That is all the repairs except oil changes (I use synthetic only).

General Comments:

This is probably the best car I have ever had. I live in the mountains and people don't believe how it just climbs over things. It's true it could use more power, but I pull my 1300 lb boat, 1100 lb camper, and also a box utility trailer with it all the time through thousands of miles.

It is boxy, but I doubt seriously anything made today could replace it for reliability, toughness, and overall utility at the cost. I have a grand total of around 6500 in it over the last almost six years, including the purchase price.

I wish I could buy a new one, but you can't get new Daihatsus in the United States.

Like my 1996 Jag (before Ford bought them), you can have it when you pry out of my crying fingers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2009

1991 Daihatsu Rocky F75 2.8 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired242000 kilometres
Most recent distance262000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Leone

Summary:

You can always rely on a Rocky

Faults:

Rattly thrust bearing in the clutch. It is not a real problem, has no effect on anything. Will be there till I sell the vehicle.

Overheating - my fault, neglected the radiator, got it cleaned out, all good.

General Comments:

This is an excellent vehicle.

It has OK power with the turbo.

It is good offroad, reliable and TOUGH. As well as having good capabilities... unstoppable on sand with tyres on 12psi. I've also found it loves rocks, suppose that's why it's called a rocky.

It does have a 'bone jarring ride'. That is the 2 inch heavy duty lift I installed. They look like scania (truck) leaf springs.

Inside the cab when cruising is surprisingly quiet for what it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

17th Oct 2008, 21:20

Yer mate, I had a 84 model Rocky. Parents went traveling in it for 16 years around Oz, gave it to me, I had it 5 years, then did a valve in the motor. Picked up a 91 model turbo diesel, goes like a rocket..

A few things need doing to it, like the gearbox has had it. Can I use all the gears off the old one on this one, are they interchangeable? I have all the spare parts I'll need.

26th Apr 2012, 02:47

I liked this he is spot on with what he says, I own a rugger 2.8 turbo diesel. It goes great, rides hard, but is hard to get parts for.

Norfolk Island, South Pacific.

1991 Daihatsu Rocky 1.6 16v from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

An unheard Japanese Surprise.

Faults:

When I first got this Rocky it wasn't working I had to open the engine and see what was wrong with it. The head gasket was blown and the pistons were gone. I had to look for any used engine because a new one was impossible to find. I paid $200 dollars for this jeep and the used engine was $400. There was no service installing the used engine since me and my friend did the work ourselves. If you have a car garage get it inside because rust is a common problem. Asides that nothing serious or expensive has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This jeep is serious fun and very comfortable despite its size. The engine is a bit slow, but the thanks to its 5 speed transmission it doesn't seems that way. Considering that I only used around 600-700 dollars for it, this jeep is the best car I have ever own. Parts are quite difficult to find due to the fact that Daihatsu only sold around 18,000 back in 91' and the following year they stopped sales. I wish Daihatsu was still here in America. This jeep turns a lot of heads and it's actually a good 4x4. I have driven this jeep for around 35,000 miles on a used engine and nothing serious has gone wrong. I definitely recommend this vehicle for anyone who is a do it yourself guy/girl.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

10th Jan 2005, 20:57

First of all it is not a Jeep it is a Daihatsu, Jeep is a registered trademark of Daimler-Chrysler. Second, 18000 Daihatsu Rockies were sold in the United States ever, not just in 1991. In fact, only 295 were sold in 1991 and Daihatsu USA was forced to shut its doors.

26th Dec 2006, 18:22

Jeep is not an adjective it is a pronoun and a registered trademark of the Daimler-Chrysler company.

26th Oct 2007, 23:12

Big deal if they used the word "Jeep" to describe this car. It helped me to understand what the car is like. Haven't you ever asked for a Kleenex, or do you say "tissue" because Kleenex is a registered trademark? Gimme a break!

13th Mar 2010, 14:52

I'm Irish, and we refer to all 4x4 vehicles as Jeeps, so, whatever floats your boat I guess. Probably due to the fact that they all stem from the WW2 Willys Jeep.

20th Jan 2011, 22:16

I have owned CJs, YJs, XJs, a ZJ and a couple TJs (one of which I still have).

I just purchased a Rocky and refer to it as a "Little Jeep". Who cares that it is a trademark name?

Jeep is an easy way to describe any 4x4 that has a convertible top and short wheelbase.

1991 Daihatsu Rocky Prior 2.8 intercooled turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 intercooled turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki SJ410

Summary:

Will continue to drive this great car as long as possible, great value for money. The bomb!

Faults:

Tires exploded, worn on one side.

Interior mirror became ridiculously loose.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever owned, superb performance and economy.

Although it is not a speed machine it has mountains of torque and can outperform most faster cars on the hills.

Sometimes a bit shakey on the road, but that is what you expect for what is essentially a truck design.

Looks great and goes on and on forever off-road.

Well spec-ed, with all the goodies you'd want and enough room for 4 adults and all their gear; plus performance is not affected by loading.

Parts and accessories a little hard to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews