2001 Daihatsu Terios Reviews

2001 Daihatsu Terios 1.3 from Costa Rica

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

No-headaches and a practical little SUV

Faults:

The engine began to lose power at 95,000 kilometers until I figured out it needed a clean-up of its injectors. Outside from that, this has been a no-headaches car.

General Comments:

Whether you think of it as an oversized station wagon or an undersized SUV, once you've used it you cannot deny how practical this vehicle is.

Although the ride is not as comfortable as riders of larger SUVs may be used to, this light AWD car will definitely take where you command it to go with good fuel efficiency and no major concerns.

It has enough room for my small family and a full load of groceries or two couples on a beach trip with full load of coolers and bags. You probably won´t believe it, but I've even fit a small 50cc motorcycle on the back (with the back seats folded).

I've gotten more than I paid for and I consider myself a proud Terios owner...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2009

2001 Daihatsu Terios E 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22500 miles
Most recent distance25400 miles
Previous carNissan Prairie

Summary:

Best value in 4x4s in the UK

Faults:

Nothing yet.

At 24,000 service, spark plugs would not come out, car had not had a service since 6000 miles.

Another garage warmed up engine and they came out no problems. New ones have copperslip on threads so this problem should not re-occur.

It pays to have car properly serviced at regular intervals.

General Comments:

Super little 4x4.

Economic does 33mpg around town, 37 on a run at a steady 60 - 70mph.

Lovely high driving position, as good as a Range Rover!

Exceptional turning lock, can park it in any gap long enough.

Being a Toyota subsidiary, the build quality is first class.

Who needs a massive 4x4 gas guzzler!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

2001 Daihatsu Terios SX 1.3 VVT petrol from Belgium

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 VVT petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Baleno

Summary:

A nice little and inexpensive car

Faults:

Nothing yet, and I hope it to stay that way.

General Comments:

The engine is a little too small, a 1600 would be nicer (or a small diesel)

Very comfortable, although a little narrow inside

The cover of the spare wheel damages the painting

Impossible to find spark-plugs in Europe (only with the dealers)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

2001 Daihatsu Terios SX 1.3 DVVT from Greece

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 DVVT Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

A small cheap SUV

Faults:

I believe that it does not have the proper width. It is a little bit narrow.

It is sensitive to the side winds when you drive with 120 Km/h and higher.

General Comments:

It is a cheap SUV.

Until now I have tested it in the snow and in the mud and it was very good.

I will change it when my family become bigger. Until then, it is OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 06:37

I find it a pity that some parts (like the spark plugs i.e.) are only sold by the Daihatsu dealers in Europe, a D.I.Y.'er can't work much on that car!

2001 Daihatsu Terios DX 1.3 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

An inexpensive, fun car

Faults:

No problems whatsoever - a pleasure to drive both on-road and off-road.

General Comments:

A very small car inside - however it is still very comfortable even on long distance road trips. Not particularly powerful - fixed with the addition of a 2.5" exhaust all the way through. Standard stereo system very average - fixed with 6.5" Pioneer splits in the front and 6.5" horns in the rear.

Great fun on sand - being a very light automobile it can sometimes even go where the big boys can't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

2001 Daihatsu Terios SX Aero, Limited 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired55 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

The Terios Aero is the best value for money!

Faults:

To this day, I have had no problems with the Terios, although there is no chime when you leave the lights on and take the keys out of the ignition.

This has caught me out once, and I had to call the road side assistance to come out and jump start me.

General Comments:

My model is the Australian Limited Edition Aero. Still the same 1.3 engine, but added extras like: sunroof, body-kit and more.

The car to me handles quite well, and as a 4x4, it sticks to the road, gravel and other slippery spots like a dream.

Very easy to park in the city, and great to drive, smooth, and sometimes you cannot even hear the engine running, it's that quiet.

I have done mods to it, and it soon will look like the best Terios going around in Sydney Australia.

For the price, this car is a fantastic buy. I would recommend anyone to take a test drive at your local dealer today!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

2001 Daihatsu Terios from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

A surprisingly good and inexpensive all road vehicle with some off road potential

Faults:

The car ran perfectly while we had it.

General Comments:

We hired a Terios for 8 days whilst holidaying in the Kimberly region of the North West of Western Australia. In that time we travelled 940 km over various bitumen, gravel and dirt roads and sand tracks. Whilst the little car is no power house, it performed well at 110 - 120km/h on bitumen and was quite surprisingly capable off road, especially with the diferential lock engaged.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

2001 Daihatsu Terios CLX 1.3 from Germany

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance10900 kilometres

Summary:

Hard to find a better 4x4 for the money

Faults:

Up to now, nothing.

General Comments:

A nice off-roader. Considering its size, very roomy.

The stiff suspension makes for a rough ride, but once you get used to hitting your head on the roof every 100 Km's or so, you find yourself starting to like this rough riding little car a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2001

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews