Datsun 720 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1982 Datsun 720 DIESEL diesel from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Great running truck, great gas mileage

Faults:

Replaced rear and front bumpers.

General Comments:

This truck is super reliable and gets excellent fuel economy, about 30 MPG. These Diesel motors last a long time, I've seen datsun diesel pickups with 295,000 miles without having the motor touched except for general maintenance. It is a bit low geared, and the body's rust very easily on these trucks, but all in all they were built to last. The Diesel motor has great power for a diesel, and will pull most things a full size truck will. Parts are easily obtained, even for the diesel motor. Great little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

19th Nov 2007, 08:16

I bought my 720 diesel King Cab pickup new in 1982.

BODY: Before the first year was out, the red paint began to chalk up badly. The service rep said tough! Five years later the red had achieved a coat of many colors, and the bottom of the bed began to develop rust spots. Within 10 years the rocker panels were almost shot, the hood on the right side began to shed paint from the underlying rust as did the right side of the cab top. Currently the truck has 135,000 miles and has always lived in Georgia, USA, away from grit, grime and direct sun.

ENGINE: I have replaced the starter twice and the glow plugs. The muffler went by 20,000. The propeller shaft mid-bearing has been replaced twice as have the wheel bearings. Other than that the engine runs just fine at 32 mpg and oil change every 3 grand.

Where can I find oil, fuel, and air filters? Local dealer has none and claims none are available. Also need rubber hose from air filter container to engine.

Thanks, Jim S.

7th Jan 2009, 22:24

I have an 1982 KingCab Diesel Pickup and it is the greatest truck I have ever owned. 36 mpg on the road. You have to look around for oil filters and air filters, but they can be had from parts stores and bought off the Internet.

22nd Jul 2009, 04:50

Hi, I just brought a 720 ute 81 model, it has 41 thousand original kms on it. It still smells brand new. Rick from South Australia.

23rd Jul 2009, 01:41

What I forgot to mention is that it's a diesel, with the long tray. I have replaced all the heater and radiator hoses as the original ones had deteriorated over the 28 years from sitting idle. This was a great find, get comments all the time on how new it looks and get asked if it had been restored.

Cheers, Rick from South Australia.

11th Dec 2010, 02:08

I bought an 82 720 Reg cab long box with 198000 miles and a blown transmission for $600. I stumbled on a rebuilt Z car trans, that had fallen over and cracked the bell housing. Paid $20 for it. Changed the bell housing out for the truck one. Have 255000 on it now. Great fun at 30-35 MPG!

3rd Aug 2011, 10:37

I have found some stuff at NAPA.

1972 Datsun 720 King Cab 2WD SD 22 diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1972
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission SD 22 diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Squareback

Summary:

The best truck Datsun ever made!

Faults:

Nothing that I would consider serious or unusual. A problem with the hydraulic clutch cylinder was repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

This was the best truck that I have ever owned!

I could get from LA to San Francisco on 10 gallons of #2 diesel, a 405 mile trip! Nothing I have ever owned before or since could get this kind of fuel economy.

The engine ran 150,000 miles before I had to do anything to it, then it was starting to use oil. New rings, new rod bearings (the mains were still at factory tolerance, so I left them alone) and it was as good as new.

The only downside to this truck was the noisy ride. With the heater blower running while driving at freeway speeds, the sound level measured 85db (A weighted).

At 175,000 miles, the transmission started making worn bearing noises, and the rear wheel brake cylinders were starting to leak. I would have repaired these items and kept this truck going if I did not need four wheel drive. I still sometimes wish that I had kept it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

19th Mar 2009, 11:05

Could you mean 1982 for the year? 720's and SD22 engines weren't introduced until 1980/81...unless maybe the truck you had was a 1972 620 with a diesel engine swap?

1983 Datsun 720 2.4 Z24 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Z24 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance134750 miles
Previous carNissan 720 Pickup

Summary:

A reliable, fast truck for the buck

Faults:

Replaced the clutch at 130,000 miles.

Replaced the emergency brake cable at 134,000 miles.

It has bad valve guides, so it burns a little oil when it's cold, but who cares?

I went through 2 bench seats in it.

General Comments:

It's been a great truck for me.

It thinks it's bigger than it actually is.

Hauled 2,000 pounds and towed a 5th-wheel!!!

I would definitely buy another one if I could.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 10 reviews