1982 Datsun Bluebird 2 Litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A shocking purchase

Faults:

Just about everything that could go wrong did.

The exhaust fell off, making the car sound like a tractor.

The brake system failed, throwing the brake pads onto the road.

The alternator failed.

The transmission started slipping to the point that it was doing 20kmh at full throttle.

The car was full of rust, and was only held together by massive amounts of bog.

General Comments:

I bought the car at auction for $900.00 NZ. In hind sight it was the worst purchase I could have made. It lasted for 3 months and it absolutely let me down at every opportunity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2008

26th Dec 2010, 07:56

Sorry to hear of your bad experience with the 1982 Bluebird! I bought the station wagon in 2002, and it still runs well, although rust is a big problem! I've loved my Bluebird!

1983 Datsun Bluebird GX 2 litre carburettor from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Dispite small problems, perfect all-rounder

Faults:

My car is a wagon and I have have to replace the differential 5 times since january.

I had to replace the clutch in April due to it burnt out.

I have a constant ignition problem which I still haven't been able to fix properly.

I have also had to get my alternator rebuilt to run all my driving lights and my stereo.

I have replaced to water-pump due to it was leaking extremely bad from the main bearing.

General Comments:

I had to replace the front seats because the old guy I bought the car off never adjusted them since he bought it new so I fitted Bluebird TR-X seats in it and I haven't regretted it.

The cars is seriosly quick due the the differential gears.

I have had the car at 180Km/h on the speedometer and it is 3K/h slow at 100Km/h.

I do a lot of highway driving in the car and I get between 550-700 kilometers per tank of fuel.

It corners surprisingly well for a wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2005

1983 Datsun Bluebird GX Carburettor 2.0L from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Cheap, economical reliability and comfort

Faults:

Has bad water leaks in the boot, creating a well in the spare tire gap.

Alternator died (could be due to amplifier I put in though)

Oil leaks.

Gearbox failed me on any kind of ascent in reverse, have to put reconditioned one in.

Initial electrical problems, kept blowing fuses, turned out to be near ignition.

General Comments:

It is a very reliable car that's fairly cheap to run, but don't listen to these people talking about "beasts". Once warmed up, it stops shuddering when you accelerate, and that's about it. sure its zippy, but don't expect a weapon.

It handles o.k, but high speeds create rattles and shakes. maxes out at 130kmh.

Poor uphills, but all round it's good enough. The suspension was excellent, a really smooth ride. Seats are really comfy too.

Nice and quite on the inside, even on freeway.

I put a thousand watt amp and sub in the car, and now it's a definite head turner, and aside from the alternator dying it handles it really well.

This is my first car so it had to be reliable, school every day plus being a pizza delivery boy, and it has served me well. Just make sure you warm it up, the car will thank you with better performance and longevity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

1982 Datsun Bluebird from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Reliable runabout

Faults:

Alternator, brake booster due to shifty used car salesman. Head gasket leaks due to previous owner, electrical system is full of gremlins due to back yard work, including bad job on redoing heads. Radiator and water pump replaced - age related. Serious Rust problem covered up by previous owner.

General Comments:

Most reliable and forgiving car I have ever owned.

Rear seat could have been designed better.

This car has nice lines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

1984 Datsun Bluebird GX L20B from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A cheap car with heaps of easy modifications

Faults:

I had a bit of trouble with the module (electric dizzy). Replaced the coil and module at the same time, I've had no trouble since.

At the moment I am pushing about 180hp at the road. This amount of power and a locked diff caused the left trailing arm to be torn out of the floor (too many hard launches). Nothing a bit of 6mm plating didn't fix, bolted from top to bottom.

General Comments:

In standard form the Bluebird is very comfy and good on fuel if the carby is in good condition.

It is simple to work on, parts are easy to get and Nissan still stock genuine parts.

I enjoy driving my Dato, bigger sway bars front and back and 3 inchs lowered, and it handles like a dream.

For the age of the car, the options are great, things like power windows, A/C, electric aerial and central locking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

16th May 2003, 08:10

Hey, I had a Datsun Bluebird with a CS18. It was the best car I'd ever had, but then I bought a VL Calais, and now it's the best car I have driven. I'm putting a RB25TT in; it should run 13's. Buy a VL Calais!!! Best car ever.

27th Jul 2010, 21:20

I got a Bluebird Ventera for 1000. Dropped it on its ass, and put in an rb20 and fat Garrett turbo. Runs 160kw at the back wheels. Best car to drive. Very comfortable.