Datsun Sunny Reviews

1979 Datsun Sunny LX 1.4 from Norway

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired358000 kilometres
Most recent distance424000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Model F

Summary:

The cheapest car to run, with extreme reliability

Faults:

Changed the engine and gearbox at 388000 km due to lost compression on one cylinder. Had a spare engine, and it was changed very easily.

Ran without any problems thereafter.

General Comments:

Coupe model with a relatively quiet interior and 5-speed box. Two times it went to Sweden, and it enjoyed long trips.

Main problem was corrosion. No other major problems apart from maintenance, brakes, exhaust. Extremely sturdy car, which always starts. Charming with its rear traction, which I loved. Sold to someone who should restore it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2012

1980 Datsun Sunny B310 1596CC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1596CC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres

Summary:

Go Sunny Go!!!

Faults:

Differential problems. The car is running a 4:9 diff out of a Nissan vanette with a LSD.

General Comments:

This Sunny has been highly modified insofar as the engine has been bored and stroked to get capacity from 1400CC to nearly 1600CC.

Car runs an Escort competition rocket box which is fantastic and strong.

Diff is LSD 4:9 Vanette Diff as per note above. Sure I have had problems with the Diff, however they are very cheap to buy and replace (AUD50.00)

This car, in its present guise, is incredibly quick and very very strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

25th Dec 2005, 03:02

My Brother had one of these. It had one major flaw, it didn't actually start, otherwise it was great.

5th Aug 2006, 03:31

Having driven Datsun Sunnies for the last 20 years, and owning at present three registered cars, yes I have children, their reliability is superb. Though I am well aware of their design flaws, as I have owned over 8 in 20 years. Rust has been always a problem, especially the cross chassis rail member affecting their caster.

20th Jul 2009, 05:39

Great car. Did you have much to do to get the van diff in?

1979 Datsun Sunny 1.4 Coupe from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1979
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Coupe Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Reliable to the last

Faults:

In the 25 years I have owned the car, I have driven it almost daily with next to no problems at all.

The last couple of years it has started to rust quite badly and has been welded, but what can you expect at 25 years old?

General Comments:

In 105,000, the car has never broken down or failed to start, except once when the battery went flat. I took the battery back, and it was exchanged by my local dealer, who said it was faulty.

I gave it 8 for comfort, as the back seats are quite low, which can be awkward for tall passengers, although the seats are very soft and comfortable.

At 25 years old, starts first time, although Datsuns always did.

It uses unleaded and does around 30MPG, based on an average of 77p/litre.

According to the Datsun Owners Club, there are only about 50 of these cars left of this model, so no wonder it gets a few stares now and then!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

8th Jan 2006, 09:51

I have a 79 B310, and though it may be a jewel, it's a bit power-starved for my taste. So, I'm replacing the motor with a Dodge 318 and adding twin turbos, hopefully getting it up to, say, 1100 hp. That will be a jewel!

1982 Datsun Sunny GL 1.4 from Ghana

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Summary:

Legendary

Faults:

Just had the engine overhauled 4 years ago.

General Comments:

The engine has a very quick response, its never left me in the middle of the road, still travels smoothly and believe me it's done over 2,000,000 Kilometers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

1980 Datsun Sunny Fastback estate 1.4 A14 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 A14 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles

Summary:

Simple and reliable

Faults:

It lost a lot of water prior to crossing the Channel, but didn't realise the gasket had blown until I stopped at a garage in Austria!

Ongoing charging problem due to unreliable regulator. Adjustments don't help, but to be fair it's been like it for over 10 years now. Just need to top-up the battery regularly or recharge it.

Water pump failure.

General Comments:

Although it's showing it's age now, it has been a very reliable car. The little niggly faults can be lived with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1980 Datsun Sunny B310 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carDatsun 120Y

Summary:

Am I in the AA? - I don't think so! I drive a Datsun, not a crappy Vauxhall

Faults:

Wear and tear only.

No mechanical/electrical failures.

General Comments:

Drives very smoothly - even at 100mph

Never broken down. The Datsun Owners Club provide spares at 20% of the retail price! Couldn't fault it all.

I laugh when I'm on the motorway and zooming past at 70mph, seeing all those newer cars on the hard shoulder!

Plenty of boot space. Very easy to maintain. Loads of features for a car of its age (e.g rear ashtray etc). Heater blows out really hot air; on a cold winter morning, you're warm in seconds.

Always starts first time. Never failed to start. I can't fault it on a single thing - it's perfect. Even the garage mechanic at its MOT recommended I kept it as long as possible - he couldn't pick the slightest fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

9th Jul 2001, 23:46

I've got an '79 and it's reliability personified. Can rust after a while though.

2nd Mar 2008, 17:15

I got a '79 Sunny B310 and it's the best car I've ever driven!

1979 Datsun Sunny 140Y Coupe 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1979
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Cheap and 100 percent reliable

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Driven daily, never broken down, fantastic! Always starts first time even after 21 years. Really comfortable seats. Easy to maintain. A bit rusty but the pros well outweigh the cons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews