1987 Dodge Aries Reviews

1987 Dodge Aries LE Wagon 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87546 miles
Most recent distance210145 miles
Previous carDodge Aspen

Summary:

These cars are misunderstood. They are great cars!

Faults:

Head gasket, valve cover and valve seals replaced around 120,000 miles

Timing belt broke at 140,000 miles

Power steering went out at 200,000 miles.

General Comments:

These cars are misunderstood. My Aries now has 210,000 miles on it, and she still runs strong! I bought this car for 50 bucks, and it's the best investment I've ever made! The wagon is very versatile and roomy. The interior is very comfortable. The car is average in looks, although mine does have the woodgrain trim (which I love). The engine is a workhorse. It just keeps going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

14th Jan 2005, 14:47

Yes, that woodgrain siding is a timeless beauty!!!

14th Jan 2005, 19:31

Yes, the family truckster lives!!!

9th Feb 2005, 23:20

I think the typical Aries driver is changing for the better. Booya.

1987 Dodge Aries SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

The best Dodge ever made, it's a TANK!

Faults:

This car is a TANK! The only things that has gone wrong was the head gasket at 90,000 miles. Easy to fix. Then the clutch plate at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I got this car from relative, who babied it. I acquired it with only 65,000 miles. It currently has 102,000 miles. The car is more reliable than any other car on the planet. As long as you keep up with regular maintenance, and replace the head gasket, this car will last a lifetime. I was lucky to get a 5-speed sedan, with the 2.2 Liter elecctronic fuel injection engine. It gives enough power to get you around and the regular burnout every now and then. The original paint still shines like new. I upgraded all the brakes, seeing how the car was still on the original ones. Now it can stop on a dime. The engine is super reliable, NEVER let me down. The only thing I have done to it was a head gasket change, which wasn't too hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

1987 Dodge Aries K 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carDodge Mercury Topaz

Summary:

A very reliable car.

Faults:

Lost power when wheel was turned very sharply, causing it to stall when idling.

Thermostat died around 93000 miles. A simple swap of parts and it was back up and running.

Minor tranmission and oil leaks, needing a quart of oil about every 2-3 months and one of tranmission fluid every 6 months.

General Comments:

This is one rock-solid car. Built like a tank and takes the hits like one. Drove it over a 4" curb and the only damage was a slightly dented rim and a dead battery.

The rear doors were a little small, and the front bench seat is not my preference.

Drove me from NYC to IL in 22 hours without any problems.

Finally had to retire the car after the rear end was wrecked in an accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1987 Dodge Aries LE 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Excellent $200. deal

Faults:

The front driver side breakline broke from dry rotting. The car sat idle for several years before I bought it. Linkage snapped from old age, but was easily welded back together. Some body rot, but hey what do you expect it was purchased for $200.

General Comments:

1.The most reliable thing I've seen next to a Timex.

2.peppy lil'2.5L motor that could smoke most Toyotas, and non v-tech Hondas.

3.great gas mileage and it will never leave you stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

1987 Dodge Aries LE 2.5 electronic fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 electronic fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carMercury Lynx

Summary:

A High-Performance Love Machine

Faults:

The master cylinder has failed twice.

General Comments:

Greatest car ever created.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2002

1987 Dodge Aries K 2.5 liter FI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter FI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Granny's tank

Faults:

Timing belt and water pump.

One front caliper locked onto the rotor and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Good power in the 2.5. I can hang with the acceleration of newer cars!

Poor handling, sloppy steering. Lots of slack. Braking locks when pressed hard, and the vehicle slides...

Very reliable! This car will get you to work in a snow storm. I tried to get it stuck one day while it was snowing and I couldn't. I was amazed! So, I slammed it into a snow bank (snow wall) on purpose, and finally it was stuck. Gave her a push and it was out and running again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

24th Aug 2002, 20:15

All brakes lock when pushed to hard except when fitted with ABS.

27th Feb 2009, 11:50

I have one, needs a paint job. But I have to say it is 22 years old and still runs like a champ. Gets over 30 miles to the gallon in the city. I was thinking about get a newer car. I have just decided to do some work on its looks and keep it. It is paid for and one of the best cars I have ever had. That includes all the cars I have bought new.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews