1995 Dodge Avenger Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1995 Dodge Avenger ES 2.5 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

I am very pleased with this car and highly recommend it to anyone not requiring a large

Faults:

I have not had a major problem with the car since I have owned it.

The On/Off switch for the cruise control is real touchy, often have to turn it to the "on" position several times before it engages.

General Comments:

Although I have not owned this car very long, I have put quite a few miles on it. I am a courier and drive it 300 miles every day, five days per week. It is very dependable. The fuel mileage is better than what I had anticipated, in town I get 24 MPG, on the highway I get 31 MPG, average 27 MPG. For the size of the car, it has a spacious interior, particularly the back seats. It handles fairly well, but the turning radius is rather poor.

It is an attractive car that rides well and has plenty of power for the typical driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

1995 Dodge Avenger 2 Door Sedan 420A 1.996 liters from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 420A 1.996 liters Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Sleek, sporty, stylish, and very economical to drive

Faults:

Front passenger tire went flat due to normal wear. Driver's side window is a little loose. Tail-light turn-signal bulb went out.

General Comments:

Once owned from new by an elderly lady, my 1995 Dodge Avenger has been great mechanically and the most dependable car I ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

1995 Dodge Avenger ES 2.5 24 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 24 valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

A great looking car with all the power you'd ever need.

Faults:

Head gasket is cracked, but does not affect the performance of the car.

O2 Sensor went out and was causing the check engine light to come on constantly.

Small spots of rust underneath the doors.

Nothing major wrong yet.

General Comments:

This car is wonderful. Any car with nearly 150,000 miles would have some problems. I haven't owned this car for long now, but I have noticed nothing wrong with it (other than the O2 sensor, $200 replacement, no biggie). It runs very smoothly with no smoking. Handles and rides very nicely, also has all the power and acceleration any normal person would need. everything electronic works, the alarm never goes off, unless triggered. Had some troubles with the door ajar sensor not working, but took it apart and cleaned it and now that works. Window on drivers side wobbles a lot, but works perfectly. Overall this car is great and I do not see why anyone in there right mind would cut down on this beautiful machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

1995 Dodge Avenger Coupe 2.0 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired78695 miles
Most recent distance97120 miles

Summary:

An affordable and reliable car

Faults:

The brakes and rotors have had to be replaced.

I had to have the 100,000 mile tune up 5,000 miles early. Which consisted of new spark plugs, new wires, new coil, new heating and cooling temperature sensor on the transmisstion, and the timing was way off.

General Comments:

The 2.0 is not very fast.

It looks a and handles very well.

The interior is not very big and the steering wheel does not go up very far.

The turning radius sucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2003

1995 Dodge Avenger ES 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

One of the best I have owned

Faults:

I have never had a problem with my 95 avenger.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned. It is quick, sporty, luxurious, and modify-able. I have even found many after market parts for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

1995 Dodge Avenger SE from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A good long term investment

Faults:

So far, the head gasket has blown. But I didn't get it replaced, so I'm filling oil every week.

General Comments:

The seats are very comforting and the inside is very roomy. I love it so far.

The looks on the outside are even better. It's a good show car to sport around my town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

1995 Dodge Avenger ES 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Fun, sporty and affordable

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with the car is that I needed to buy new windshield wiper blades. Nothing serious.

Before I bought the car, it was in the shop because the ABS (Anti-Lock Break System) light was on. It needed a part that cost about $1500. So I had totally new ABS parts when I got the car.

The seats are also not the most comfortable things in the world. My '93 Grand Am had the best seats... although it was a bad car, the seats were very comfy.

General Comments:

My car handles so well. My last car clucked and stalled every time I drove it; it felt like a tin can.

My Avenger is solid and very reliable. I have, knock on wood, had no problems with it yet.

I'm 17 now, and I plan to keep this car through college and beyond. It's a great single person car and fun to drive!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

24th Feb 2005, 10:24

Not only is it a good single person car, But it's a good family car. Lots of interior room and is still vary sporty. I have a 1996 Avenger and I love it!!

Crystal.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews