2000 Dodge Avenger Reviews

2000 Dodge Avenger Sport 2.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52007 miles
Most recent distance62354 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great commuter or weekend rocket

Faults:

The brakes work, but they squeal bad. I switched from the Metallic pads to the Organic pads and they seem to squeal more.

General Comments:

I love my Avenger Sport.

The seats and interior fit like a glove.

The 2.5L V6 & 4 Speed Auto are a quick combination.

6 Speaker Stereo is great and thumps for factory speakers.

20mpg City and 25mpg Highway isn't great, but for a car that goes 0-60 in 7.5 seconds it ain't bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2005

2000 Dodge Avenger Sport 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The BEST car out there of the price!!

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with my car. the brakes squeak really bad sometimes, but that's about it. And I was a little disappointed when I was on a wet road a realized that I had no ABS. I have 4wheel disk brakes, but no ABS.

General Comments:

I love it, its the best car I have ever owned. Its not a race car, but it can keep up with about anything that's not a muscle car. it glues to the road when going around curves. And it gives you a GREAT ride even on rock roads. Girls love the look! it is great on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2004

16th Oct 2006, 22:59

All the way bro! The Dodge Avenger is a VERY rare car and a real eye catcher man! SO many girls check out my Avenger when I drive by! REMEMBER EVERYONE: There are 2 types of Avenger people.

1: The one's that know what it is and wonder where they can get one.

2: Those who wonder what it is and want to get one, but realize later that they can't find one cause they're rare.

2000 Dodge Avenger Sport 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

The car is very sharp and I have out run most sport cars in its class and more. example MR2

Faults:

I have had no faults with my car yet.

General Comments:

The Dodge family of cars is very sporty and the car I own is on the higher end of that scale. My girlfriend loves the car and really likes how it handles.

If given the chance I would own another Dodge Avenger.

I am most heart broken to know that 2000 was the last year that the Avengers where made. But I am also happy to know that I have a car that is so limited in number.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

2000 Dodge Avenger ES 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1300 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Very practical, very sporty

Faults:

Not one thing has gone wrong with my Avenger thus far. Actually let me correct myself, there was a recall on the front control arm joints, which was in-fact recalled and fixed before I knew what hit me. Other than that, nothing.

General Comments:

The Avenger is a beautiful car and the performance is impressive for such a heavy car. If you're not racing anyone, you won't even notice it's not a race car.

The comfort is decent, I personally think the leather seats could be more comfortable. The ride and drive quality are hard to match.

The handling is probably the best part of the drive. I have taken it around some trying corners and the car asked for more and for faster. The car's weight however is a drawback on sharp turns, but I am working on losing some excess weight.

Another drawback is it's quite difficult to find aftermarket parts, such as performance modifications and other parts that you could find anywhere for a Honda Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2001

22nd Aug 2002, 20:34

I agree with the commits about the car. My 99 avenger is fast off the line & pulls hard all the way to the limit. Fuel mileage is great for a v6, 29mph. The car handles great, you rarely find a curve it can't handle at higher speeds. The faster you run the harder it sticks & better it handles. I like the ride, the car has a real performance feel. I only have to complaints against the avenger. 1 being after markets parts hard to find & this car should have been a V8 rear wheel drive. The avenger would have stomped the mustangs & camaros in the dirt with good old mopar power & rear wheel drive. I've enjoyed my avenger since day 1 & plan on keeping it as long as I can.

8th Feb 2003, 00:51

1999 Dodge Avenger Es 2.5 Liter V6

It has been a great car since I have owned it. I have had no problems, and the Infinity Sound is exceptionally good. This car is very fast off the line and very quick at high speeds. Trust me everybody sees this car and thinks it cost way more than I payed (I am 17) the car is equipped with leather interior, Electric seats, moon-roof, Cd and Cassette. I give this car 5 stars.

17th Mar 2004, 12:25

I have a 1998 Dodge Avenger ES with the 2.5 V6. I payed $4700.00 and I must say it is well worth the money. It is very sporty and very fast for such a small V6. This car sticks to the road like glue and begs to be driven hard. All my friends think the car cost much more than it really did because it looks and sounds so good.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews