1992 Dodge Caravan Reviews

1992 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 SIX CYLINDER from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 SIX CYLINDER Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance232000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

First off, the paint is chipping, falling off, and fading only on the hood and roof.

I have had to replace the sensor module at 224,000 miles.

Also, I have had to do all the normal replacements, such as: brakes, tires, plugs, wires, etc.

General Comments:

Believe it or not, for a minivan with this many miles on the original engine and transmission, it does have plenty of power.

The interior is very comfortable and roomy.

Aside from the paint issues, I cannot complain at all about this van. I have gotten more than my moneys worth out of it.

If you want a van that drives just like a car, is gentle on the pockets, and reliable, this is it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2004

17th Jan 2011, 21:32

I think it is amazing how well the Caravan runs for me after all these years. I have absolutely no plans to ever get rid of it!

1992 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Very good vehicle, decent gas mileage for van of it's time

Faults:

Had a complete breakdown of the brake system at 115000 miles. ABS Module and Accumulator Bladder failed at the same time, thus resulting in catastrophic failure. Similar replacement part is $1200 with labor. Other than brake failure, no other major repairs were needed in the 12 years my family owned the vehicle.

General Comments:

This van served my father very well for 10 years, and gave me a good 2 years of reliable service once I earned my driver's license. Had one minor incident with a Mexican and a tow truck resulting in a 3 foot scratch in the left rear of the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2004

1992 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

Fun, but not too reliable

Faults:

I had to put a 2 water pumps in it, The first one was at 130k. The second was damaged when the pulley hit a rock in the road, breaking the pulley in 1/2 and cracking the pump reservoir.

I also needed two belt tensioners and and several serpentine belts.

I had to put in 2 fuel pumps (one around 115k and one around 170k).

General Comments:

It had very good handling, a lot of power, and more than enough room for everyone and everything I ever had to haul in it.

The sliding door was junk.

The one thing I feel people may need warned about is the unusually low profile. This Caravan trademark allows for the smooth handling, but it also allows any little bump in the road to cause you to bottom out.

Ex: I totaled my Caravan 2 weeks ago going over a set of railroad tracks at about 20mph. The mechanic who told me that my sub-frame was bent also told me that he saw a girl with a brand new Caravan at the gas station that morning who had done the same thing on the same tracks. I hope she got the gap insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

1992 Dodge Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

It has lasted me almost 150,000 miles, and I;m sure it has many more to go.

Faults:

The paint is peeling off the hood and other areas of the car.

The transmission broke once.

Neither the heating or the air conditioning work very well.

The radio/tape player that came with the car broke once, and then an identical replacement broke a year later.

The gas tank meter is broken so that it does not go below 1/8 full, so it is difficult to tell just how little gas you have left.

General Comments:

Overall, it performs pretty well in that it has a fairly powerful engine and can accelerate surprisingly rapidly for a minivan.

Unfortunately, it begins to burn oil after 75,000 miles.

There is an annoying 'Maintenance Required' light that pops up after 50,000 miles, but serves no purpose other than to convince the driver to take it to the dealer to have them pretend to fix it, when all they really do is turn the light off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2003

1992 Dodge Caravan ES 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

This van was purchased from the dealership as a used unit having been driven by a dealer rep since new. The van was the Grande Caravan ES with the Ground FX package painted in white. The interior was grey and had the Captains seats in the second row. The exterior paint was okay however some rust 'bleeding' was starting to show. The interior was near perfect.

Within one year of purchase things started to go very wrong with the van.

The drivers side window regulator unit consumed itself, the drivers side power window/mirror switch died, the stereo became very quiet, the drivers electric seat forward/back motor became very loud, air conditioner motor became red hot and almost set the engine on fire, a strange buzzing sound happened every time you pressed the brake pedal down, 'O' ring on exhaust disintegrated, 3 new engine mounts, belt tensioner seized, remote gas filler door seldom worked, rear window water squirter hose keep falling off and squirted other cars windows, upper control arm, two ball joints and the transmission (when cold) would not engage in either forward or reverse. The interior plastic trim made so much noise when you drove the van it almost drove you crazy.

General Comments:

The van was a head turner as it had nice lines to it, but mechanically it was a lemon and I should have avoided it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2002

1st Jul 2004, 22:44

I totally agree with you, about the 1992 caravan. My van also turned out to be a lemon.

24th Dec 2004, 10:08

I have a 1992 dodge caravan which now has over 230,000 miles on it. I absolutely love it, and will not own any other van. everything on my van is original, besides brakes, tires, plugs, etc.Although, i will admit that my paint is rough. The van is gold with a black pin stripe, with tan interior. The paint on the hood and roof is chipping away and faded. It is getting some surface rust around the tire wells.

31st Jul 2010, 00:50

My family bought our '92 new. We just recently got rid of it. It had 170,000 miles on it when it finally stopped driving properly (needed a new tranny) and could have been fixed, but we decided to stop putting money into it. It was extremely reliable up until about a year ago, when the radiator overheated due to a crack in the tank... very safe and sturdy van otherwise.

We did have some problems with the radio and speedometer and fuel gauge not working properly, but it sorted itself out. I would definitely buy another one simply because they drive well (despite the horrible turning radius) and are dependable.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews