1993 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1993 Dodge Caravan 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A money pit!

Faults:

On the third day of ownership, the motor began to tick.

It began to stall when I tried to slow down or stop.

Sometimes when I try to start it, there is no power or anything.

The timing went out.

The reverse / low band in the transmission went out.

It blows blue and gray smoke at all times.

The exhaust gas recirculation valve (EGR valve) went out.

The oxygen sensor went out.

It needs new tie rods, ball joints, shocks and struts.

The rear wiper motor went out.

The air intake plenum cracked.

The seatbelts were recalled.

The rear door lifters were recalled.

The rear door latch was recalled.

Something in the steering column was recalled.

The motor needs to be re-built.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been in the shop dozens of times.

I wish I would have never purchased it.

The manufacturer should recall the whole thing, and purchase each one back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

26th Jun 2005, 20:37

Your van may be blowing out smoke due too bad valve seals - a problem that is common among the 3 liter Mitsubishi V6 engine in your van.

1993 Dodge Caravan 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

It's good when it's running

Faults:

Six safety recalls.

Transmission slipping.

Engine locked up at 108,000 miles.

Air conditioner leaking freon.

Replaced CV joint boots three times.

General Comments:

Car worked well in snow, but costly repairs have me looking for something more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

1993 Dodge Caravan 3.0 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Fox

Summary:

Abstract artist that works in oil

Faults:

Constantly going through brakes.

Tires need to be replaced often due to a strange wear pattern. Seems every time it needs new brakes, the tires need to be replaced as well.

Air conditioner replaced twice.

Of course the infamous transmission problem. Ours is slippage when ever you try to go. Forward or back.

Always out of alignment. Which really helps with the tire problem.

Our favorite and our mechanics; the mystery leak. Our Caravan has been leaking oil from a mystery location for 3 years. No one can figure out where it is coming from, but 3 different mechanics have all thought they fixed it just to have it come back. This includes the dealer. One mechanic actually had the engine steam cleaned and kept it for a week to try and find the source to no avail.

This one is just annoying, the rear wiper motor went hay-wire and now it just points up and makes a weird noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

11th Jun 2001, 19:31

We had a 1993 Dodge Caravan for about 4 years, that's about all we could take.

I can totally relate to the problems you describe, it is frustrating. I do remember the last straw with ours, the engine would die whenever it wanted to.

High speed, low speed etc., no warning at all. So when Dodge said they couldn't find the problem or fix it, that's when we knew it was time to dump this thing.

In brief, under 40k, transmission, fuel tank, ball joints, bearings, ignition etc.

Everything that you would expect on a 200k automobile, too sad.

12th Jul 2004, 11:13

To the above note: The oxygen sensors go out on these vans frequently, and the symptoms are stalling when driving or idling at a stop light etc. Should be an easy fix and not too expensive.

18th Jul 2005, 22:53

I have to agree my gas gauge quit working it burns and leaks oil and the engine also makes a strange clicking sound off and on, but it is like a utility van when I take the seats out il drive it until it dies.

1993 Dodge Caravan 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A mechanic's bread and butter

Faults:

Engine went at 107,000.

A/C went at 115,000.

Transmission went at 127,000.

Suspension was shot by 120,000.

Paint blew off before I got it.

Stereo went before I got it.

General Comments:

Fortunately, working on cars is a hobby of mine. The 3.0 engine uses a timing belt instead of a chain. If this isn't replaced as scheduled... well, that's what happened. Engine replaced at 107k.

In fact, everything was pretty much shot by 120k. I've got over $4k into it now in repairs, but I think it's running out of excuses why it can't run. New paint, carpet, stereo, tires, brakes, suspension (shocks, struts, ball joints, tie rods), engine, transmission, a/c, windshield. But I still have the original key. Dodge makes a good key.

It runs like new now. I'm still trying to figure out how to re-seal and re-attach the trim and moulding. After 180k on my Corolla (and still going strong), it's nice to have something to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

27th Nov 2003, 11:07

Hey, my key broke after opening the door for 120,000 miles... Can relate to all of the repairs. One transmissions that I paid for and two more on warranties when they died within a year of installations. Still driving (nursing) it along as it's my work car. When it dies, it will not be fixed again.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 27 reviews