1999 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1999 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres

Summary:

Head Gasket-Not a good buy!

Faults:

Heater has a dusty dirty smell when it is turned on. Brakes went at 80,000 km. Head gasket cracked at 95000 km.

General Comments:

Generally the caravan is a nice family van. However, having a major malfunction like the head gasket blowing is very discouraging. I will never purchase another dodge again. The customer service @ Daimler-Chrysler was orchestrated/Scripted and provided no feelings of reassurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

17th Nov 2005, 09:44

Brakes went at 80K? How long do you expect them to last?

17th Nov 2005, 09:49

Brakes went at 80K? BOO HOO! How long do you expect them to last?

6th Jan 2006, 22:22

The head gasket blew and other than the heater smell, you think it's a bad van? Put some miles on it, and then post back.

12th Aug 2009, 00:48

Although some manufactures are notorious with head gasket problems... Remember ANY head gasket on most any car can blow if a good cooling system maintennance is not observed.

12th Aug 2009, 00:50

Although some manufacturers are notorious with head gasket problems... Remember ANY head gasket on most any car can blow if cooling system maintenance is not kept up.

1999 Dodge Caravan 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MPV

Summary:

Not the worst, but check every option

Faults:

As soon as we brought the vehical home we noticed an oil leak. Since we have taken the vehical in to be checked out our one problem has turned into way more.

Air conditioning compressor is going.

Head gasket.

Back hatch lock sticks.

General Comments:

Roomy in front seating area, but very tight spacing in back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2004

1999 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 - 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 - 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4400 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Very good value for the money. Fun to drive

Faults:

Believe it or not, nothing major has gone wrong with this van. I have replaced the brakes (possibly twice) and one rotor, have replaced all the tires and one alloy wheel due to a road hazard. My 1996 Caravan has had a few sizable repairs (yes, including the clock spring), but I find these to be acceptable due to the considerable non-highway mileage we put on our cars and the reasonable cost to purchase.

General Comments:

I bought this particular Year-2000 3.3L SE van as a dealer demo in late-2000. My previous experience with Chrysler vans and mini-vans has been quite good. In fact, I still have my 1996 2.4L 4-cylinder van with 120,000 miles on it and just bought an (obviously-babied) 1996 Caravan 3.3L LE with 114,000 miles on it. I find the ride and handling to be excellent, and (if such a thing could be said about a mini van) I even find these vans fun to drive; very stable and controllable on the highway and in local traffic. The 2.4L is underpowered when loaded; still not bad as long as you don't expect much power. I find the 3.3L to be plenty powerful enough. I'm not a speed demon. The surprising thing is how nice I find the extra features in the LE model that I just acquired. I try and avoid dealer-service as much as possible (it usually costs too much).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

1999 Dodge Caravan 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Worst vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

Oil Leak at 50,000 miles, ended up being a head gasket.

Brakes replaced at 42,000.

General Comments:

Will never own another Dodge, especially a Caravan. Wish I would have did more research prior to buying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

11th Aug 2007, 15:39

What's the problem? Brakes at 42,000 is not uncommon at all.

1st Aug 2009, 14:57

From the way I see many people treat their brakes, 42,000 is excellent... almost astounding!

1999 Dodge Caravan Standard 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

No Bargain - Junk

Faults:

Brake Rotors @ 25K miles

Timing Chain

Heat Core Leak

Compressor

Head Gasket

Broken Lock on Rear door.

General Comments:

I would think twice regarding purchasing this vehicle. I'm not the only one with these type of issues. My brother has the same model with a 6 cly - has 45k miles and has 5 major repairs as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2002

1999 Dodge Caravan Grand SE 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance59989 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

This van is worth the Money!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

My Grand Caravan has been running great for the past 3 years I've owned it we have not had any problems with it. If you get a caravan the 3.3 or 3.8 Is well worth the money! We drive this car every day very hard it does fine with our rough use. Its great with the kids they love it because of the large back seats.

If you are looking for a great Van that you and your family will feel and be safe in the Caravan Is the car for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

29th Sep 2003, 19:07

My 2000 dodge caravan I love it the only problem is we just had the ignithon switch replaced the key wood not turn. It cost us 200.00 for the new cylinder + install. Replaced the brakes at 86000

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews