2005 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 gas from North America

Summary:

Drive Dodge or eat s**t

Faults:

Rear wiper motor needed replacing. Dealer wanted over 400 to replace. I replaced it myself for the cost of the motor, which was 80 dollars plus tax.

Tailgate handle broke; it is electric not mechanical, and I have put a new modified 5 dollar switch instead of the factory 60 dollar one.

General Comments:

Car is great, I love it, and will definitely buy another one.

All the things that do go wrong with them, go on all cars, but on a Caravan it is cheap, while on my old Subaru it was a bit pricey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2010

2005 Dodge Caravan SXT 3.3 gas from North America

Summary:

Comfortable and easy to drive

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

Still have original battery, brakes. Have only changed the oil and done nothing else to the vehicle.

The seats are very comfortable. The vehicle is great on a long trip.

The 3.3 is very quiet, but not quick of the line. The vehicle is pretty quiet on the highway.

I test drove a Honda Odyssey, and the Dodge was more comfortable.

I average 27 MPG on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2009

9th May 2011, 12:53

I'm trying to buy a 2005 Caravan SXT with 88000 miles on it. Is it a good car. Never owned a Dodge before. What kind of problems do I have to look for?

Thank you.

2005 Dodge Caravan SXT 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Junk, I traded it for a Toyota

Faults:

Front drive train 35,000 miles. Dealer wanted me to pay for a rental car to do warranty work and they had the parts on hand

2 sets of disc brakes, 30,000 each max.

Power door failed.

Transmission failure 68,000 miles.

Front stabilizer bushings and tie rod ends worn out at 69,000 miles.

3+ recalls

General Comments:

Worst vehicle I have ever owned.

Chrysler customer service was rude and uncaring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2008

2005 Dodge Caravan 3.6 from North America

Summary:

Hope it is not a lemon

Faults:

Front brake pads replaced 2 times now. The front end makes a lot of creaking and popping noises, dealers claims the sway bar bushings and or struts are the cause. This started after the tires where changed at 48,000 due to road hazards like nails and screws that where only 1/2 inch long. If the bushings and struts are bad then I am afraid of what might come next, I mean, wow it still smells new inside, but now its needs new parts???outside.

The parts, well can buy them myself for around 200, the dealers want 300 just to put the bushings on. They are only 10.95 each, the struts well you know the saying there you get what you pay for.

I do think all this was a fluke surely they aren't all like this one or at least I hope we are not doing that to the consumer who needs these types of vehicles..

General Comments:

Still runs good and has held up to the kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2007

20th Dec 2007, 07:09

I went to an independent shop and had my bushings replaced for less than $150. This is a common problem so try it first before replacing any expensive parts. Don't go to a dealer for simple repairs unless you don't care about your money.

9th Jan 2010, 06:03

Jan. 9 2010.

Dodge Caravan bought new in 2005. One major repair at 91.000km. Air bag warning light came on. Sensor changed by dealer free of charge as this is a safety factor.

Only complaint is wind noise. Vehicle not soundproofed well enough.

Vehicle has 103.000 Km. & still in great shape.

Bill E.

2005 Dodge Caravan SXT 3.3L from North America

Faults:

Rear center brake light bulb blew at 20k miles. Needed front brake job at 30k miles.

General Comments:

I never had a real problem with this vehicle. It has always ran well, with very little problems. I do have it serviced as required and change oil every 3k miles. I would definitely buy another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2007

2005 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 Litre from North America

Summary:

Great minivan for the money

Faults:

There have been no faults with this car whatsoever.

General Comments:

This car is a great value. Roomy and smooth, and very reliable so far. It has enough power when I need it and it has been reasonable on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2006

2005 Dodge Caravan SE 3l from North America

Summary:

Average, just lacks simple conveniences

Faults:

Heater motor or heater gates faulty. 3 visits to diagnose.

General Comments:

Tailgate step too deep, requires bending well forward to access rear. Seats are too shall and not very comfortable. It is a very spacious van and has great carrying capacity.

Would I buy another. No.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2006

2005 Dodge Caravan SE V6 3.8 Liter from North America

Summary:

A stylish mini van that fits our family and our budget

Faults:

There is no problems with our new van, it has done great.

General Comments:

This van has done excellent on fuel, it handles well in the snow (from experience). Plenty of room for 3 children. This is definitely what our family needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2006