2003 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2003 Dodge Dakota SXT 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Very good all around truck

Faults:

No issues up to this point.

One recall for faulty wire harness placement which dealer corrected.

I'm very aware of an issue with the upper ball joints on Dakotas and Durangos wearing prematurely. Although Daimler-Chrysler has yet to officially announce their stance on this, I have been having them checked with every scheduled maintenance. So far, no indication of premature wear.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with my 2003 Dakota SXT Club Cab 4X2.

Dealership was very accommodating and made for easy purchase.

The truck rides smooth and quiet. Very little noise within the cabin. Rock solid build. No squeaks or rattles.

I've been getting 20mpg which is more than sticker.

Suspension is strong and absorbs the New England roads very well.

Very little tire wear with scheduled rotation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2003

19th Dec 2003, 10:19

I am beginning to wonder if DC put a whole bunch of bad Ball joints in all their cars. I own a Jeep Liberty and recently found out that DC is recalling all of the '02s and some of the '03s because of a lower ball joint problem. Other than that, completely satisfied.

31st Dec 2003, 04:21

2003 Dodge Dakota SXT Std Cab.

1st new truck I have ever owned and love it. So much room in cab and not too high off ground for my wife to climb in. Now have 8,000 miles on it and have only taken it back to dealer for wiring harness recall (fixed on the spot). Only two down sides so far is the poor mpg and the wind noise from back window slider.

11th Feb 2004, 08:08

The 2003 Dodge Dakota SXT is an excellent truck to own. The handling is better than any of the GM or Ford pickups that I have previously owned. The truck is versatile and unique. The only draw back I have found after driving 10,000 miles is the lack of speed and torque to compete with larger, full-size trucks.

2003 Dodge Dakota SXT 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Faults:

I have had a stalling problem since the truck was new. I have had it to to dealer 6 times and they have installed a co-pilot. Then after they got it back they told me that they could not read the information because they are waiting on a software program from Chrysler. Then they tell me that they cannot figure out what is wrong.

General Comments:

The truck is very undependable. I regret that I switched from GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2003

27th Sep 2004, 22:25

I had the same trouble with my first 2003 Dakota. Numerous dealerships could not duplicate it. The truck would die in the middle of the road. The Criuse would shut off and the brakes were horrible. Donnie Parsons, Temple Texas.

11th Jun 2010, 09:04

Why live with the problems? I have a Dodge Dakota as well, and I have trouble with it frequently. I purchased a Toyota and my problems went away. 60K with 0 problems.

2003 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Surprised by the fit, finish, and overall quality

Faults:

Nothing wrong with truck at 13,000 miles plus. Have tough drive from high desert in to LA and back. Total of 82 miles, and am routinely getting 19 MPG.

General Comments:

Truck simply feels solid. Excellent rode feel for a truck, with a pretty good ride. The 4.7 engine appears to be very reliable. Interior is quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

14th Jul 2003, 22:47

I think DODGE has some serious issues to deal with, At freeway speeds you could hear airflow, i asked others SAME!.Brakes went out at 2500 miles, I asked others, SAME!.Tranny started its Clunking at 3k miles, Iasked others,SAME!!! I thought id give dodge a chance, I loved the look, now when I look at them I see a Truck made by Hyundai, Sold it asap, took the loss.I've had Nissans, Hondas, toyotas, Etc.Many with over 100K they drove better, were extremely reliable,& held their value. Dodge did a great job with their design, But that doesn't get you around. I love Quality,& as far as I'm concerned, their a lightyear away.

2003 Dodge Dakota Sport Plus Quad Cab 4x4 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance5300 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Best all-purpose vehicle

Faults:

There was a small dent above the rear window upon delivery.

Within the first week, many of the gauges including odometer, speedometer, oil light, and ABS light went haywire.

All problems were fixed by the dealer. The problem with the gauges had to do with a faulty wiring harness.

General Comments:

Plenty of room for 4 adults.

Smooth ride for a 4x4 truck.

Very solid feel with no rattles.

Gas mileage is par with the sticker (14/19).

Only fault is the lack of headrests.

V8 has ample power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

21st Jun 2004, 17:04

I am getting ready to buy this truck (2004 Quad Cab). I love the quietness of the cab. It can be compared to regular sedans. The only thing I dislike is the same as the poster - the low headrest and inability to recline the front seats all the way back. That, to me, are some obvious shortcomings, I wonder why the Dakota engineers didn't catch it.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews