2004 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2004 Dodge Dakota SXT 3.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles

Summary:

This truck is causing me severe mental stress

Faults:

At 1,000 miles my transmission started missing when shifting. I returned it to the dealer for repair they told me they could not fix it,they didn't know how. They told me that Chrysler has had this problem for over a year and they still can't repair it. They are having this problem with all their 3.7L 4x4's.

General Comments:

I suggest nobody purchase a 3.7L 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2004

26th Oct 2004, 16:54

I own a 2004 dakota 3.7 liter 4X2, and it runs great, I have not had any problems with it yet and I love it, maybe you should try to get chrysler to let you trade your 4X4 for a 4X2.

14th Nov 2004, 12:15

I have a 2004 dakota 4x4 and am noticing shifting problems.

19th Mar 2005, 19:02

I have a 2004 Dakota 3.7 4X4 with no problems and over 6000km's.

29th Feb 2008, 02:43

I own a 2004 3.7l V6 Crew Cab 4x4 Dakota. Bought it used in 2007 with 20,000 miles. To this day I have put 15,000 miles on it and I driven it hard. On pavement and off roading. Pushing the truck to run for all its got. Sorta mini racing my friends in their cars. To this day no problems. None whatsoever.

I love this truck. Plenty of room, ample amount of power, and I'm working on getting it more power.

3rd Jun 2008, 13:52

I have this truck in quad cab 4x4, and it is a headache. Shifting is getting a little hard, had to replace the water pump at 55,000 miles.

A complete brake jab at 36,000 miles, and I am very easy on brakes, and now at 58,000 miles I have to replace the universal joint in the steering.

Other than that a great looking truck.

2004 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab SLT 4.7 Liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

An Awesome Truck

Faults:

Nothing so far

Nothing will ever be wrong with it.

General Comments:

Very Quick

Average Gas Mileage got 12 during the first tank of gas now it is 15.8 mostly highway.

Comfortable

Great back seat room even for tall people

The V8 sounds awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

7th Mar 2008, 19:07

I just bought an 04 quad cab 4.7 v8 4x4. Yes, it is pretty lousy on gas, but the truck is plush, roomy and has serious power. I use it as a 'functional family vehicle', and I am very happy with my 1st non-GM vehicle. No complaints (except for gas mileage) so far.

17th Feb 2010, 22:54

I think the gas mileage is pretty good for the V8. It terrified me when gas went up to $5 a gallon 6 months after I bought it! I average 18mpg. The secret is overcoming the temptation to gun it! Yes, there is nothing sweeter than the sound of a V8, and this truck has more than enough power to hold its own in traffic.

2004 Dodge Dakota SLT Quad Cab 4 x 4 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

My second purchase of this vehicle

Faults:

Gas mileage is poor on 4x4s and the Quad Cab Dakota is no exception.

General Comments:

This is the second 4x4 Dodge Dakota I've purchased. My last one was an SLT bought in 1998. It now has 214,000 miles with no major problems.

This is a great truck only a tad smaller than the Dodge Ram series and about 5K less.

A little hard to find a Dakota 4x4 with options like limited spin rear differential (no reason to go 4x4 without one) ; and skid plate group. I had to order mine to get a 4x4 with the proper options.

Mileage after 3,000 miles (break-in is consider over at 4500) was only 16.2 mpg highway, and I'm a careful driver.

Interior on this "small" Quad Cab is downright LARGE. Even a 6'2 man can fit neatly in the back.

The new 4.7 liter engine doesn't appear to have spark plugs (I'm going to have fun figuring this out when the time comes). I saw no reason to leave the tried and true 318cu. engine. I guess emissions had something to do with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2004

2nd Aug 2007, 15:54

Yep, all of chrysler's systems are coil over plug.

2004 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7L Magnum from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140 miles
Most recent distance1362 miles
Previous carNissan Frontier

Summary:

A strong, comfortable workhorse

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this truck.

General Comments:

It is a Quad Cab 4x4. It has more room than most of its competitors, including Toyota Tacoma and Nissan Frontier. The ride is smoother compared to the Toyota and Frontier, too. The V8 engine is very powerful. However, since it is a V8, it can be thirsty at the pump. Yet, the power, responsiveness, and size more than makes up for the lower gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews