1985 Dodge Daytona Reviews

1985 Dodge Daytona Turbo Z 2.2L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

Will NEVER buy a Chrysler product again - Good looking poorly engineered junk, based on a K-car

Faults:

Automatic transmissions blew every 20 to 25 thousand miles.

Throttle position sensor went bad every 6 to 12 months.

Oxygen sensor went bad every 6 to 12 months.

Needed wheel alignments every 6 to 12 months.

Water pumps went bad every 6 to 12 months.

Radiator leaked and was replaced.

Huge fuel leak under hood.

Weld on drivers seat broke, had to replace entire seat.

Brake discs would warp.

Brake Calipers seized.

Clear coat on rims chipped off.

Plastic toothed power window track broke every other year.

Radio broke.

Sunroof leaked.

At 110K, loud bang under hood and engine died, I cut my loses and never fixed it.

General Comments:

3 speed automatic transmission made it a dog.

Tons of turbo lag.

Lots of torque steer.

Lots of under-steer.

Looked good, but was not reliable and slow.

Crsyler probably lost money on this POS, but they hit me up for deductable for each transmission, which I think was $500 each time while it was still under warranty.

My mechanic made out well after the dealer warranty ended.

Convinced me to never buy or recommend a Chrysler product for the rest of my life. I can't believe they are still in business after making junk like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

14th Mar 2008, 08:04

You mean to say that you disliked this car so much, yet you kept it 23 years?

14th Mar 2008, 15:24

Yes, it's outrageous that this 23-year-old car fell apart after being thrashed! Clearly Dodge should give you a brand new car as compensation. Oh, brother!

3rd Jul 2008, 22:05

I had an 85 turbo z, bought it in 89 with only 38,000 on it... total junk...period!

1985 Dodge Daytona Turbo Z 2.2 turbo I from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo I Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

Like nothing else

Faults:

Cracked a piston from over-speeding engine when proving how quick it really was, otherwise nothing.

General Comments:

I bought the car from a family member for $1100. It had been sitting for around ten years or so, but we put a new battery in it and it ripped to life. It was too quiet when I bought it, so as a joke we put a glass-pack on it. It had a very deep, mellow tone unlike the straight 4's you hear now. After owning it for around a year, I discovered that the boost could be turned up to hold at around 13psi, which brought the power up to around 200hp or a little more I would imagine. Way to hot of a car for a high school kid, I ended up blowing the motor after beating a new Civic, so I bought another motor and dropped it in. Never could get the demons out of the replacement motor. I should have just rebuilt the old one because it never gave any problems; always started cold or hot, pulled hard and was an all around blast. Loved the interior, felt like a real sports car with the way it was layed out. Ran fast, rode good, handled well and got 30 miles to the gallon. Loud, obnoxious, and beautiful I would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2007

29th Feb 2008, 01:55

I totally agree with you. I was fortunate enough to find one at a car lot with only like 10 cars, and it was the only car to catch my eye.

1985 Dodge Daytona Turbo Z 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Most recent distance38600 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A beautiful, rare, and fast novelty for the mechanically inclined

Faults:

Right front strut was frozen when I purchased it with 35,500 original miles.

Alternator died at 35,900 miles - on the way home from picking it up.

Faulty temp gauge (with a false high read) at 36,050 miles made me ship the car the rest of the way home.

Water line to Turbo ruptured in my driveway at 36,250.

Engine management computer stopped computing a week later.

Turbo had a bad bearing and was replaced at 36,875.

Low oil pressure was traced to a faulty oil pump -- replaced at the same time at the turbo.

Fuel Pump stopped pumping recently.

What's next?

General Comments:

Sure, the car has problems, but I love it! The person who sold it to me said it would be a "no disappointment car" because it had only 35,000 miles on it. Try telling that to my wife when the car dies in the middle of Florida!

The frozen strut (which was so obvious the seller should have fixed it), the alternator, computer, oil pump wear, turbo wear, fuel pump, and the rest of the problems were undoubtedly the result of a car sitting for 20 years -- which it did before I bought it.

Other than working out the bugs, it's a great car! My 7 month old son loves all of it's creaks and groans, the vibrations and buzzes put him to sleep!

I wanted a Turbo Z since I was 14 -- in 1983. I always thought they were beautiful, fast cars with outstanding handling. I still do. My Daytona is an amazing car when it's working properly. As a "remembrance car" and a novelty, it does its job well. As a daily driver, I would suggest something else -- or hope for a boss who is understanding when you call in to say, "the Daytona wouldn't start."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2005

1985 Dodge Daytona Turbo Z 2.2L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance120250 miles

Summary:

Great speed for a low cost

Faults:

Nothing really, except for the shifter cable to the 5th gear is worn bad or broken. I believe this is because of the previous owner abusing it.

Steering column moves without toggling it.

General Comments:

I love this car is so fast. The turbos on these cars are frickin awesome!

Needs a new paint job :/

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

4th Aug 2006, 20:52

I had a 1985 Daytona Turbo new back in 1985. It was a great car! Stopping at a red light and hearing the turbo spool down was cool. With regard to the clutch cable, I broke the cable after only 6 months.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 4 reviews