1992 Dodge Daytona Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Dodge Daytona IROC 2.5L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Low price, high performance

Faults:

The alternator belt chirps a bit due to a worn bracket mount.

This car has had no major failures and has never left me stranded.

General Comments:

This is a truly great car. Even at this mileage, it runs like champ. It never misses a beat and still keeps up with the new sports cars out there.

Seats are comfortable.

Handling is is predictable and like its on rails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

1992 Dodge Daytona ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

I still like it

Faults:

Transmission failed after 55,000 miles.

CPU chip failed with in warranty.

Left blinker stop working.

Park, Rev, lights stop working.

Leaking very little oil.

Poor Paint done by Dodge on Drivers Door and a little down the side.

General Comments:

I brought this because it looked great and it still does, very quick when I want it to be. Takes the road courses well. I really do like it still.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

1992 Dodge Daytona ES 3.0V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Fun, fast, but not quite reliable

Faults:

Needed a new transmission at 84000 miles.

The computer went bad at 91000.

The motor mount went bad at 92000.

The new junkyard trans is starting to only shift when it wants to.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive and quick although the handling is less than great. I had a lot of fun with this car, but I'm sick of repairs so its got to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

1992 Dodge Daytona 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

What it saves you in gas it takes back in repairs

Faults:

There was a fuel line leak which was not expensive to fix, but very dangerous.

The radiator was leaking and completely blew at 164900.

The bushings in the door had to be replaced because it made the door chime continuously and the power locks keep locking while driving.

The front brake pads wore out. Luckily I replaced them before I destroyed the rotors.

The exhaust had a hole since about 170000 km and was recently replaced.

Now the water pump is leaking and will have to be replaced soon.

General Comments:

As you can see I have had many problems considering I have had the car only 20000 km. I do not drive the car hard, but perhaps the last owner did.

The car is easy on gas and looks a lot nicer than my old Delta 88 which was wrecked in an accident. I only wish it would stop breaking down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

19th Dec 2005, 13:30

You made 6 points about your Daytona that I wanted to comment on... I'm on my 4th Daytona, a '92 IROC, and I will drive them until I can't find them any more! Your car isn't doing too badly, considering the mileage, and I can't speak for your repair abilities (not that mine are great...), but here we go:

1) The fuel line leak: you're right, it's dangerous, but usually gives you advance warning by smell. I fixed one leak near the fuel rail with JB Weld and have had no problems in over a year (good stuff!), although that might be inappropriate.

2) Radiator leak/blowout: If you live near a junkyard, go get one out of a wrecked Chrysler. They're easy to remove. Buy new hoses and clamps, and change your fluid.

3) Door bushings: $5.00 for new pins and bushings, plus a friend to help balance the door. Get a sharp pry bar or chisel to bang out the old bushings. Do BOTH doors at the same time, and re-grease them every couple months. You won't have any more problems.

4) Brake pads: A consumable. They wear out on new cars too, so I don't count that.

5) Exhaust hole: Also a consumable, but take advantage and upgrade to a higher performance muffler.

6) Water pump: A new one is $35 from Autozone, along with a tube of RTV gasket sealer. Unbolt the air conditioner compressor, disconnect and remove the alternator, and you have a straight shot at the water pump. This is a good time to replace the power steering/alternator/air conditioning belts, as you have everything torn apart already.

One important component to owning a Daytona: get a Haynes Manual! The $10-14.00 you spend will save you thousands in labor charges!

Also, check out www.allpar.com AND the links!

I recently found that a part called a 'shutter wheel' was subject to disintegration (after aging), in the distributor. It explained why my girlfriend's '86 Dodge Aries wouldn't start. I checked the distributor, and sure enough the cheap plastic piece was broken. I'm going to pick one up from the bone yard. When I bring parts like this to the counter to ask what I owe, they usually say, "Have a nice day." Try to get that from a dealership. They'll sock you $200.00 just to plug in their diagnostic equipment, and then sell you a complete distributor, plus more labor.

I've also fixed my power windows for less than $3.00 a side when the plastic tracks broke! That involved the manual, the bone yard, and 3-5 hours of my time (the first one was a bear...). Try to convince Mother Mopar to fix it for that! You have a nice car, so go surf, and have fun!

10th Jan 2008, 14:42

Given the age of the car, I'd say it's doing pretty well. You cannot expect a ten year old car to provide the reliability of a new one.

20th Apr 2008, 15:36

There was a fuel line leak which was not expensive to fix, but very dangerous.

*** A lot of old cars need new fuel lines, they usually rust out from being under a car so low to the ground.

And the power locks keep locking while driving.

**SAFTEY FEATURE!

The front brake pads wore out. Luckily I replaced them before I destroyed the rotors.

**Normal repair on a car.

The exhaust had a hole since about 170000 km and was recently replaced.

**Any car over 12 years old may need new exhaust.

Now the water pump is leaking and will have to be replaced soon.

**Radiator stop leak. $6 WalMart. Yeh, it's not gonna fix the real problem, but it works for 6000 miles.

1992 Dodge Daytona IROC 2.5L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Faults:

When I had the timing belt replaced at 80,000, the dealer installed it incorrectly and as a result, the new timing belt shredded off.

Valve cover leaks repeatedly.

General Comments:

This car has been great! With a turbo upgrade and intercooler upgrade, this car is seriously fast.

The handling is not bad, however due to the car's size, it handles a bit sluggishly. This was easily fixed with upgraded springs.

Fuel economy is great, especially considering the power of this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2001

1992 Dodge Daytona 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51 miles
Most recent distance151700 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Not a high performance car, but fun and cheap to own

Faults:

Three exhaust systems (at 62k, 104k, 134k).

Alternator.

A/C condenser.

Radio intermittent.

Peeling paint (aqua pearl).

General Comments:

Absolutely reliable and still fun to drive; my best car yet. Plan to keep another 100k miles. Gets 35 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews