1994 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.6 from North America


A comfortable way to travel


We've had some very weird things go wrong.

A squirrel climbed under the hood and ate the wire harness -- about $800 to fix.

A short caused a fire in the door panel -- about 500 to fix.

The single sliding door gets stuck.

General Comments:

All that aside, we've doubled the miles on it and it still rides great. We've used it to haul our little camper from Minnesota to Pennsylvania and back. We've taken many trips to Chi-town and Missouri in it. The kids love the comfort and so do the adults and dogs. We'd had a Plymouth Grand Voyager before we got this one that needed a new tranny. But this one (touch wood) hasn't needed one yet. We've enjoyed this one so much that we've just replaced it with a Chrysler T & C. We'll see if it has weird electrical problems too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

1994 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.3 from North America


Big Chrysler Reject... they should be ashamed


Tires at 26,000.

Front brakes every 21,000!!

Tie rod and battery at 34,000.

Starter at 49,000.

Right front wheel bearing at 51,000.

Fuel pump for $450 at 53,000.

Right and left lower ball joints at 55,000.

All tires and tie rod at 65,000.

Rear electric window vents don't work.

Stereo cassette. broke at 66,000.

Rear electric door lock broke.

Air conditioner broke at 70,000.

Transmission is starting to clunk now... it won't be long for that.

Water pump is leaking at 74,000.

Power steering pump is starting to growl.

General Comments:

Worst vehicle to maintain that I have ever had.

Interior is comfortable and ride is smooth.

Engine runs well (when it's not broke).

Love the removable seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

1994 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.0 V6 from North America


Great Family Van


Typical things, like the brakes.

Had to replaced O2 Sensor, but only cost maybe $28.

Very noisy when driving on the highway, takes a little getting used. Like the rattling and wind noises.

General Comments:

Runs very well and for its size still gives us about 22.5 mpg.

Built in child car seats - love them.

A lot of trunk room.

Very comfortable in any area of the van front or back.

Would buy it again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

11th Oct 2005, 22:07

Dodge should have toyota build their automatic transmissions,. if they were to do this it would be the best car on the road, dodge makes great cars and engines, but they have not mastered building a dependable automatic transmission that will last, Ted in GA.

1994 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.8 from North America


My first and last Dodge


The Chrysler Dealer had to replace my transmission at 48,000, 53,000, and at 64,000 miles. That's three times!

My paint is flaking off the hood and roof.

My Anti-Lock Brakes warning light is on and dealer can't figure it out.

My brakes are soft and dealer replaced everything including the computer.

The belt tensioner unit had been replaced by the dealer 3 times because they fell off the engine. The Technicians failed to use Loc-tite on the nut that holds the unit onto the engine. I did the fourth unit myself and it hasn't been a problem since.

General Comments:

This 3.8 liter engine has been very reliable and strong. It does not leak oil and starts up every time like new.

The interior is very spacious and comfortable.

Great gas mileage! 18 city/ 21-24 highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2002

23rd Mar 2005, 21:50

First off, I don't really have any complaints right now, basiclly just a few questions. I have a 94 Dodge Grand Caravan SE and I just got it from a dealer yesterday with a full tank, well, I drove maybe 45 to 50 miles today and it ran out of gas. I filled it up, (only took $7.00) so my question is, do they have small gas tanks or did I just buy a lemon? Also, my back wiper isn't working if anyone could help me out I'd appreciate it greatly, Thank You.


25th Mar 2005, 20:44

Just a quick note to Yolanda.

The tanks on these vans are around 20 US Gallons.

You should be getting at least 350Miles/tank.

There was no mention as to why you thought that you were out of fuel. However, one would assume that it was because the fuel gauge indicated so. If this is the case, then you should have the sending unit checked. This is a device that indicates to the fuel gauge on your dashboard how much fuel there is in your tank. If it is not working properly, then the fuel gauge on your dash will read incorrectly.

Good Luck!


27th Mar 2005, 21:25

Brian, I want to thank you for answering my question. I am having it put in the shop on Tuesday and I will ask them to check the sending unit, Thanks again, Yolanda.

1994 Dodge Grand Caravan ES 3.8L V6 from North America


The 1994 Caravan ES was a real pleasure to own and drive


Loved this ES even though the transmission was replaced no questions asked at 30,000, when I reported that it sounded like a mumumumumum sound.

Rear window wiper died at 100,000.

No other problems encountered for the part of the life of the car while I had the pleasure of owning it.

General Comments:

It was hard to give up the vehicle to my son, because I was so attached to it. My wife insisted that we needed a new car. We naturally stayed with Dodge Caravan ending up with a 2001 ES. My son now has two of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2001

26th Oct 2002, 22:33

I have owned a 1994 Dodge Grand Caravan ES for 2 1/2 years and I have put three transmissions in it already. This van has been a gas drinking nightmare.

1st Oct 2004, 04:47

Mine was fine, 30 MPG Canadian Consistantly, Drive it a tad below 110 KM per hour and see what happens.

Mine was a AWD ES, owned it from 1999 to 2004 or 135K to 195K KM Total cost of all parts ZIP, The only car I have ever owned where nothing absolutely nothing broke.

1994 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3L from North America


There are constant drive train problems with this van - the transmission enters into the permanent low-gear state while the transmission is cold it also can take it 5-6 min to go into gear after the gear shift has been placed into reverse or drive.

The ABS has also failed (I prefer it that way).

General Comments:

From the moment that I owned this van till present, I have had nothing but problems with this van and have spent an average of nearly $200/mo. in repair costs.

Now I'm told I need to think about replacing the transmission !!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 1999