1998 Dodge Grand Caravan Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan Mitsubishi 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Mitsubishi 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles

Summary:

Might as well buy a tow truck..

Faults:

The engine leaks and consumes oil. I have had the valve cover gasket replaced twice, and next is the head gasket. I add a quart of oil every 1,000 miles.

The valve train produces a lot of clatter when the engine is cold, a sign of poor oil circulation/low pressure, probably due to clogged oil ports or a blown gasket.

The van shimmies at highway speeds. I have had the tires rebalanced and rotated, and I have installed new shocks/struts to no avail.

Both front speakers have quit working.

The rear windows rattle incessantly.

General Comments:

If had done research before searching for a vehicle I never would have purchased a Dodge Caravan.

I wouldn't recommend this vehicle to my enemies!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Should be a safe family vehicle

Faults:

We have had to replace the tensioner 2 times since we've owned it, and it was replaced once before we bought it.

The whole car lost power once when I was turning into a driveway. The dealership couldn't explain it.

Driver seat is wearing, bare spots.

Air Conditioning is poor.

Heating takes a long time to warm inside of car.

General Comments:

This vehicle is roomy for a family of 5.

It's good on gas mileage.

It handles well on the roads.

It's convenient with 2 sliding side doors.

It should have had a recalled issued on the tensioner...it's a recurring problem in several Dodge minivans in those model years.

I know other families who've owned one and were satisfied and others who were completely dissatisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

23rd Feb 2004, 22:41

I'm surprised at some of the problems that have been written about this vehicle, since I haven't had many problems at all. I bought my '98 Grand Caravan SE in 2000 with a little under 60K miles. It is now approaching 145K (my communte to work is 90 miles round trip, 10 trips a month), so I put lots of mileage on in a short time. I have not had problems with the serpentine belt, nor am I dissatisfied with with the heat or air conditioning. Here in Colorado it gets quite cold in the winter, and very hot in the summer. I find that I have to turn the heat down in all, but sub zero temps in the winter, and also have to turn the a/c down in all, but 3-digit temps in the summer.

However having said that, I am disappointed at the difficulty in changing the spark plugs (I like to do my own maintenance). It is virtually impossible for a "shade tree" mechanic to change the 3 rear plugs, since it requires a lift and a pretty flexible person. My shop charges a pretty penny for plug changes since they don't like doing it either. Oil changes are a breeze, and so far the vehicle runs like a champ, even with the mileage mine has. This could be due to most of it's mileage (since I've owned it, at least) being highway mileage. It easily cruises the interstate at or above the posted limit (75mph) with little problems. I'm looking to replace it within the next year, and am strongly considering another one.

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport 3.4 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

Very poorly made. Would not buy again

Faults:

The transmission has failed. It has been repaired, but I am still having problems with it.

I have also had to replace the head gaskets.

The electrical has gone out and been repaired.

General Comments:

It seems to be taking me to the repair shop more frequently now.

I would not buy another Dodge car, nor would I recommend this car to anyone.

Very poorly made and it will cost a lot in repairs!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

19th Feb 2004, 11:30

I agree. The electrical module just went out in my van and I'm going to have to buy a $350-400 dollar part to fix it. Its only 5 years old! I have had it in the shop quite regularly for this and that. Most recently, one of the blinkers shorted out and almost caught on fire.

4th Apr 2004, 09:22

I disagree whole heartedly. Our 1998 Grand Caravan has been a real workhorse. 100,000 miles now and only a couple of minor quips not worth mentioning.

All vehicles are not assembled with the same care. Were talking union labor here!

11th Nov 2004, 11:12

I agree also. I have a 98 Grand Caravan SE and my transmission blew. This was at about 77,000 miles. Thank God it was still under warranty. After that we had multiple cooling problems, the water pump failed along with the radiator fan relay control. Now I'm getting door ajar all the time so I'm guessing one of the switches is bad. The steering lock is out, it is possible to shift in and out of gear without pushing the brake in. Overall horrible design and obviously they did not take their time on the transmission.

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan ES from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Bad

Faults:

Within the four months of this vehicle the A/C stopped working due to a leak in the Evaporator.

Engine oil leak due to main gasket failure.

Too much gas consumption.

It appear that the car dealer (Arbor Dodge, Ann Arbor) is a cheat.

General Comments:

Never buy used Dodge Grand Caravan

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

7th Apr 2006, 20:56

I have had my 1998 Grand Caravan for almost 8 1/2 years and more than 189,000 miles and it has easily been the best & most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Only maintenance has been the routine things - shocks, struts, tires, a few other minor items.

Right now I'm getting 24-25 MPG doing mostly highway driving at about 60mph. Of course that drops with cold weather, city driving, a full load or a strong headwind.

I'm shopping for a 2006 Grand Caravan (or Chrysler T&C) to replace it, but am a bit reluctant to give it up.

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan 4W Drive 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 3.8L
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Leg room in front tight for a 6 footer, cargo space great. Rear seats easily removed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 1998

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 19 reviews