2009 Dodge Journey SXT from North America

Summary:

There are way better options out there

Faults:

2 major problems. The rocker arms basically fall apart every 50,000 K. They don't wear, they literally break, so obviously a faulty design. The first time it happened, I had everything replaced and upgraded and it cost a few grand. It has just happened again. I will have only what is absolutely necessary replaced and then I'm getting rid of this lemon.

The second problem was a doozy and happened as I was on a road trip. After a few thousand km, I noticed a gas leak (!) after leaving a gas station. I was in the middle of the mountains, the next closest garage was another 100 km. I brought it straight there. They weren't able to look at it for another 1.5 hours so I parked it in the lot. During that time, as I had walked away from the vehicle, it really started to spill and the fire dept was called. When the mechanic called me, he told me that the wrong exhaust had been put on the car and it had slowly been melting the gas tank. I felt lucky to be alive. I have not had any exhaust work done so this was done before I bought the car. I'm amazed (naive?) that the Dodge dealership didn't catch this. The mechanic had called Dodge and they said they had never heard of this happening. And the brakes do need to be done way too often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2020

16th Aug 2020, 02:35

What engine - 4 cylinder or 6 cylinder?

2017 Dodge Journey SXT 3.6L from North America

Summary:

Great SUV!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Smooth, powerful, comfortable and quiet, but thirsty! Uses a lot more gas than our old V6 Escape (slightly smaller, fewer HP). Got a great deal ($11k off list) and it's loaded.

Although most have the optional 3rd row seat, I'm glad ours doesn't. The third row is too cramped to be useful, and there is more room in the rear without it, including an underfloor storage compartment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2018

2017 Dodge Journey Crosstrack 3.6L V6 from North America

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Purchased the car based on price, options, size and dealer. We have had the car for close to four months without any problems. I really enjoy the seat comfort, and the luggage capacity; we have to carry a wheel chair wherever we go and still have room for passengers. I believe the car to be a very good purchase for our needs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2017

2015 Dodge Journey SE 2.4 from North America

Summary:

So far so good, really like all the features for a cheap vehicle!

Faults:

Nothing yet!! Only got it 3 1/2 weeks ago!

General Comments:

I know it's just new, but no issues yet. Just me getting used to the UConnect!!!

Others say how slow the 2.4 engine is. Seems fine to me.

Really like the door lock system. Just touch the outside handle and the door unlocks (that is if you have the FOB with you)! Same to unlock from the inside. Also a touch on the small button, and the front doors and all doors lock. A nice feature.

My wife really likes the dual zone air conditioning/heating system as she is always colder than me.

A lot of features for a cheap car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2015

11th Oct 2015, 03:00

I have to ask - what did you pay?

25th Oct 2015, 11:24

$21,000 Canadian (so about $16,000 in USD) + tax and lic.

3rd Feb 2016, 02:07

Original poster here - so far so good - over 10,000 Km (6,000 miles) one oil change and 2 minor recalls - a bolt to replace a clip and a dab of sealant on a ground! Just did a 2,300 Km trip to Florida from Ontario Canada - drove and rode well (three adults and packed to the roof).

19th Jun 2016, 18:49

Well 18,250 km (or about or approx. 11,350 miles) and first warranty work. Wheel sensor as the ABS, cruise and stability control all quit working. So still pleased!!

24th Dec 2017, 16:38

About 40,000 Km or approx 24,000 miles, still all fine. Only the one issue that I mentioned! Heading to Florida with it again this winter!!

25th Dec 2017, 22:00

A modern car had better be fine at only 24k traveled.