2nd May 2007, 09:19

The leaky trunk seems to me that the seals have went bad and the A/C could be because the car might use up a lot of freon, but if you check the seals they might have little cracks in them letting water get in.

24th Jul 2007, 19:29

My 1998 Neon is leaking too, here's a good article to address the issue:


11th Aug 2007, 15:48

There is a recall for missing spot welds on the rear underside of the car. The missing spot welds are causing the water to leak into the trunk and the back seat floor.


Everyone with faulty head gaskets on this car needs to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. If they get enough complaints, they will investigate and force Chrysler to do a recall.

11th Aug 2007, 16:27

This is for everyone who has had to deal with the dreaded faulty head gasket problem on the 1998 Dodge Neon. Chrysler is aware of the problem and refuses to issue a recall. If you value your consumer rights, please file a complaint. They won't be able to ignore several thousand complaints for the same problem.


23rd Aug 2007, 23:47

I have had my Neon for almost 3 years; now it is a 2004 and I am starting to have problems with it...

The brakes have gone on my car twice. They squeal non stop; it is the most embarrassing thing. I just want to crouch down in my seat.

Which reminds me; my seat is falling apart (some how that can't be safe).

My car seems to always sounds like it's going to stall out, and if I try and press the gas too hard, it makes this ugly noise.

OH AND THEN TONIGHT my damn trunk would not close; the latch is apparently broken.

The stitching on my seats has come apart on seats that like no one ever sits on...

I have had to have at least 3 tune ups on my car... I thought you normally did tune ups on older cars...

I think the fan belt is going and I am pretty sure it is leaking gas, cause that's what I smell when I get close to my car or in it...

My car is under warranty, it only has 55k miles on it, and yet I have footed the bill for everything that has gone wrong... hmm what is a warranty good for then :S.

2nd Sep 2007, 21:45

I have a 98 dodge neon I had a leak in the trunk and backseat. I took it in several times for repair until one guy got sick of seeing me. He said he used a black water seal everywhere, some got on the rear light cover, I don't care. It seems to have worked... so far. Next, I have had the brakes done 4 times in the last year. The last time new pads and rotors. Stopping is not the problem. When the car warms up, usually about a mile from home, they stick together! If I put on new pads and rotors, what is left??? Now my son and I are stranded. Never, Ever will I even look at another Dodge... Good Luck to everyone with a problematic Neon.

24th Sep 2007, 01:43

I have a 1998 Neon since last summer. Trunk and back floor very wet after heavy rain. I stripped out the carpet to dry. Diagnosed problem as improperly fitted rear light gaskets. They'd shrunk, allowing water entry. I used black silicone to seal the light assembly during re-install. No problem since.

8th Oct 2007, 22:39

I have a 1998 Chrysler Neon and have had pretty much every problem discussed on this site at least once. The head gasket blew again (yes, for a second time) this past week. I have had the A/C fixed more times than I can remember. The trunk leaks, breaks have been replaced, sunroof does not work, leaking trunk etc., etc. Anyways, aside from all the frustration of these problems, does anybody know of an on-going class action suit for the faulty neon head gasket. I cannot afford a new car right now and I also cannot really afford to keep putting money into this deep hole.

15th Oct 2007, 16:08

I have a 1998 Dodge Neon with 115,000 miles. I purchased it new and have experienced problems as well. At about 60k miles I had an oil leak from the cyl. head gasket. After some on-line research I was able to get it fixed by Dodge for a $150 "deductible". I had to call and complain directly to Chrysler. The dealer claimed they didn't know it was such a common problem. I replaced motor mounts recently and am now experiencing electrical issues with the instrument cluster. Oh and my trunk leaks! Overall it has been a decent first car. I plan to drive til the wheels fall off.

20th Oct 2007, 10:05

Goodness! Is this what I have to look forward to? I have just purchased a 98 dodge neon as my first car and all ready after 2-3 weeks I've had more problems then anyone could ask for. My radiator has been replaced already. The spark plugs and heating coil replaced. The oil pump replaced do to a clog. It constantly stales, sounds like you're trying to pop popcorn when stopping. And after all these repairs the transmission is either leaking or completely shot or possibly its the head gasket or both. I am extremely dissatisfied with the quality of my neon. But I guess it could be worse my trunk could leak and my sunroof and windows could be shot. I will never ever buy another neon... matter of fact no dodge, no chrysler. I got robbed on this deal and I strongly suggest that anyone looking at a neon, unless your have the money and the time to fiddle with all these issues... run away and never ever look back.

25th Oct 2007, 12:51

Got a Neon Trunk Leak? This will most likely fix it.

I just fixed mine and wanted to help someone else out.

Sorry this is so long:

How I Fixed Mine. I am not saying that this will fix yours, but at least you will be able to tell where the leak is coming from.

Get a Pitcher of water. Open Trunk, with a flat head screwdriver remove the light assembly in the trunk. Remove the light bulb so battery does not wear down. Remove your spare tire.

Remove the plastic panel assembly that covers your trunk latch (easy to do, it is just held in place by metal snap brackets.

There are some plastic snap brackets that hold the carpet to the sheet metal of the trunk. Remove the one closest your driver side tail light. Remove just enough so you have access to the tail light assembly and so you can pull the carpet up around the spare tire wheel well. These can be removed with a pair of pliers, work the bracket back and forth gently (caution!!! These can break if you aren’t careful). Inspect for discoloration to the calk, foam sealer (whatever it is). This will give you some indication as to where your leak may be. That caulk seal may not be tight, just put a bead silicone over it, let it dry for 1 hour and then put another layer on. I did this, but my leak was actually coming from my driver side tail light assembly. Use a shop vac to clean up water in spare tire wheel well, carpet and anywhere else. Make sure trunk is dry.

Now, take your pitcher of water and pour some down your rear windshield close to the driver side watch for the water leak. (Most likely coming in from the tail light assembly).

Remove the three plastic 1.5 inch bolts on inside of assembly, loosen assembly, you should not have to remove any wiring. Look to see if there is a metal washer on the top bolt (There is your culprit. Weird how this top bolt is the only one with a washer, at least it was on my Neon. That washer is causing a gap between the foam seal and the sheet metal, water leaking right through.) Remove that washer, clean off any dirt/debris from tail light assembly and around the drain channel. Reassemble break light assembly.

Take pitcher of water and pour in same place as before, leak should be gone. Sit down have a beer; you may have saved yourself over $800.

God Bless,

Plug Ugly.

If water is leaking into the passenger floor boards. You are parking on an incline; water from the spare tire wheel well is running down to the floor boards.