1997 Dodge Pickup Reviews

1997 Dodge Pickup LX 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

I hate my 1996 Dodge, but love my 2006 Dodge

Faults:

The transmission has gone out three times. It is now just sitting. Not sure if I wanna fix it or not.

It was a terrible truck; I paid like 10000 dollars for it.

General Comments:

I have brought a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 since then. Have never had a problem. It had 17000 miles when I brought it. It now has 72000. It will tow anything. Great truck. It also has four doors.

I think the years from 1996 through 2000 have a lot of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2010

1997 Dodge Pickup SLT 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

I like my truck

Faults:

The transmission started slipping.

The paint on the roof is oxidizing.

General Comments:

I have been really lucky I guess, or take better care of my truck than most. The seats don't wear too bad if you don't drag across them and you actually step out of the vehicle.

I have performed routine maintenance on the truck and had no real problems until the transmission started slipping today at 167k miles.

Owning this truck has been a dream, especially compared to owning a Ford. I pushed that vehicle on a daily basis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

1997 Dodge Pickup 1500 SLT 5.9L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carDodge Pickup

Summary:

Great buy and great truck

Faults:

Not much. had to replace the brake rotors they were making noise when I bought it fine now. and a leak in rear brake line. fine now.

General Comments:

I love my Dodge. It is a great truck and have had no problems with it. a friend of mine has over 130,000 miles on his and has never had to change transmission. maybe these people who keep having problems are just making up stories about how well they maintain their trucks so they can have somebody else pay for broken transmissions & parts. (NOT SURE).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

28th Jun 2004, 12:45

I have a 1997 Dodge pick up SLT 1500. It had 78,000 miles on it. The only thing I had to replace was the passengers side rotor and caliper. The caliper froze and I waited to long to fix it.

1997 Dodge Pickup 1500 Sport 5.2 liter/ 318 cu.in. from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2 liter/ 318 cu.in. Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carDodge Pickup

Faults:

The truck wanders on the freeway badly.

Both front brake calipers completely covered with rust.

Left caliper froze up, destroying the rotor.

Rear factory painted bumper developed rust cancer under the paint. Note: The backside exposed surface has no rust.

One seat does not tilt forward.

Heat shield on exhaust came loose.

General Comments:

My previous truck was a 1984 Dodge Power Ram. I drove it for 19 years. It has 276'000 miles on it. The only engine work was removing and shot pinging the carbon choked intake manifold. It still runs and I still drive it. I don't think this 1997 Dodge will get half that mileage.

The steering is terrible. I replaced the steering shaft with a aftermarket H.D.one. That improved it greatly. It still wanders all over the road on freeways.

Although the body panels are rust free, there is a lot of rust on the under side components, drive train. and engine parts. My previously mentioned truck has no rust on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

19th May 2004, 16:37

I have a 99 Dodge 1500 that also wanders badly.

This is a result of a loose track bar which can be replaced, in Canada, for about $425 for parts only.

Other owners have said that they have fixed it themselves.

Very scary on the highway. We have come close to hitting other vehicles.

Sue.

7th Jul 2005, 09:58

I Have a 1997 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport with a 5.9 liter magnum and it has about 240,000 miles and it runs perfect. The paint chips pretty easily, but other than that it has been great. Tho it does wonder a little bit on the highway, it has been great.

1997 Dodge Pickup SLT 5.9 Magnum from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue Electra

Summary:

Love it!!!

Faults:

My steering column has been giving me trouble at 53000 miles.

Replaced, giving trouble again.

All vehicles have problems no matter the make.

If this is all I have to worry with I can handle that.

Other owners need to realize, this is not a race truck.

General Comments:

Over all I love the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews