1999 Dodge Ram Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1999 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT 8.0 V-10 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 8.0 V-10 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

Can't out pull this thing!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is one cool truck. It can pull as much as a semi. It is great in the snow (4x4). I'm sure it can out pull any truck. It is rated to pull 13,500lbs, but I'm sure I've had it loaded to at least 14,500. Even the Chevy 3500 HD with the 8.1 big block V-8. I also like the way it rides. I would buy another one in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2002

1999 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 1500 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125 miles
Most recent distance28400 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

A piece of garbage, not worth the money

Faults:

Repaired the transmission twice.

Had the 4x4 transfer case repaired once.

Have had ongoing brake problems, still not fixed.

Anti-lock brakes have never worked.

Abnormal oil consumption.

Worn out driver's seat.

Worn out front cup holder.

No power or low performance.

Rear end has excessive rust all over it.

Leaked antifreeze from the thermostat.

Driver'ss quad door window did not stay open.

General Comments:

This truck is unreliable, and a piece of garbage. It has only been highway and city driven. It would never have stood up to any off road, farm use, taking any sort of a work load or long trips. I am too scared to try any of the above because it won't handle it.

I will NEVER have another Chrysler product. Chrysler seems to know that they have a huge problem with their trucks, but don't seem to care. I have been lucky with my brakes failing and not had an accident yet, but I had some real close calls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

10th Jun 2002, 07:43

6-10-2002.

I am on my second 99 ram quad cab with the 5.9l. Got the dealer to buy back the first one because of the spark knock. I took him on his word that they had fixed the problem on the newer ones. My bad. The 1999 I have now uses about four quarts of oil every 2000 miles and spark knocks so bad even with premimum that I cannot pull a trailer. I have owned numerous dodges in the 20 years, but this will be my last.

1999 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

JUNK.... will never buy another Dodge

Faults:

Put the truck in reverse and it KLUNKS loud. Had it in twice now and they have replaced 4 parts... still KLUNKS.

Front drivers door SAGS. Had that in the shop... I now have chips of paint on the upper door... and it still SAGS. Dealer refuses to fix chipped paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2000

1999 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT Laramie 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A sharp, gutless, poorly developed truck!!

Faults:

Lifter clatter constantly!!!

Shock supports loose on front twice!!

Dull knock in motor!!

Front end hard on tires!!!

Gutless!!

Transmission shifts irregular!!

Wind noise!!!

General Comments:

I bought the Dodge to try something new, and it was nearly two grand cheaper than the Ford. I have never been so disappointed with a vehicle in my life other than a one ton Chevy I had three years ago. This truck is very sharp but I have checked others and the quality of the build is no where near that of Ford's. The doors shut better on the Ford, the hood shuts better, the noise level in the Ford is better, power from Ford tech is much better.

No more Dodges for me!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2000

21st May 2001, 12:41

I've been researching full-size pickups for nearly three years now, as we've known that when our mortgage is paid off (next spring) we'll be buying one. I have scoured the internet, spoken with consumers, read Lemon Aid, Consumer Reports, etc., spoken with mechanics. My conclusion? There is no full-size truck equivalent to the Toyota Camry or Honda Accord. While it is possible to buy a truly excellent car, it is not possible to buy an excellent full-size truck. One has to settle for something in the "good-range." And if you're looking for something in the "good-range," I'd stay away from Fords. Maybe it's just a coincidence and/or just haven't been looking in the right places or talking to the right people, but I can honestly say that I have not spoken with ANYONE who has recommended buying a full-size Ford pickup. Some of the descriptors that come to mind include "horrendous," "pathetic," "useless," and "abysmal."

I should state up front that I am not a Ford, GM, or Dodge person. I honestly don't have any personal preferences at all. The sole purpose of my research has been to try to find out what is likely going to be the best truck for my family (based largely upon projected reliability, customer satisfaction, etc.). It just so happens that, based on what I've learned, it definitely won't be a Ford. Just thought I'd offer you some food for thought.

1999 Dodge Ram 2500 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

This is an awesome pickup for pulling

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a real truck. I pull a 10,000 lb camper with this baby. It will leave all other trucks in the dust when pulling something. Very powerful. Cheap on fuel costs. Very comfortable and enjoyable. The Cummins has a nice whistle sound to it that lets you know it is ready to work and means business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2000

23rd Jan 2002, 14:40

I agree, I got one with a V-10 and it's the only truck I've ever owned that does the down and dirty work I do with it.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews